1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q6600, wheres my heatsink?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Irish_PXzyan, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Hey guys.
    Last week I was here and got alot of advice on what to buy.
    I bought the Q6600 from ebay. NOW..they should a BOX with everything inside it......but I just got it today from the post.
    It was in a little tiny black box...they never sent me the actual Q6600 box....all that was init is the actual CPU...WTF am I ment to do with that??? WIthout a heatsink I cant even fucking use this god damn Q6600....This prick just ripped me off....Today is my Birthday and this is what I get???? laughable.

    Ok guys....I have a question now. If I were to buy a cooler...will I need the original Q6600 heatsink in order to make the cooler work???
    ive no idea how this works....If I bought....say...some zalman CPU cooler....is that all I need???

    Thanks.
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That's a stinker. Odds are though, you would be replacing the stock cooler with aftermarket anyways.

    PS: You don't need the stock cooler if you buy aftermarket. ;)

    EDIT:

    Now you will probably need help choosing a cooler. That's where everybody else comes in to the thread helpfully. A Gemini II is pretty nice if you have the case space.
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    No. You don't need the original heatsink to get it to work.

    And that's an OEM he's sent you. Basically all you get is a little black box with no warranty etc.
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,271 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,187
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, the OEM versions are from a bulk package. If you want the fan and heatsink, you have to get the RETAIL box. Some would argue that a retail chip is better than OEM, but that's another topic. The retail usually comes with 3-yr warrantee while OEM is one. All you need to do is get a compatible HS/Fan.
  5. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Yes Darknova spot on :(

    Ok guys...time to advice me here! Check out my CASE in my specs...can you please choose a cooler that will overclock my Q6600 very very well????

    I buy my stuff on komplett..and Will buy the best cooler there is if I need to. Money is NO option here.

    Here is a direct link to the site and the coolers. If you cannot access it...than perhaps you know of coolers that will do the job. Thanks guys.

    https://komplett.ie/k/kl.aspx?mfr=&bn=10547&sortBy=p&minprice=&maxPrice=
  6. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Check the auction. Make sure it specifically states that it comes with the cooler/box. If it says it comes with the cooler, then you can dispute the auction. I do agree with Jr, you will want a aftermarket cooler anyways.
  7. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    If you want THE best, you would go for the 'Thermalright 120 Ultra eXtreme', but, I doubt it will fit in your case................so, grab yourself an 'Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro'. Its a very good cooler (it keeps my Q6600 stable and cool @ 3.4GHz) and the price is very nice also :rockout:

    EDIT: I dont think Komplett has them in stock :( The Thermaltake 'Orb' range is meant to be pretty good also ;) (and they are low profile aswell)
  8. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Hmmm interesting.

    I will show you 3 coolers what I think will be good :p Please let me know if it would actualy fit and if it is good or bad?

    https://komplett.ie/k/ki.aspx?sku=334138
    Cooler Master Eclipse CPU-Cooler, Socket 775/754/939/940/AM2/F

    https://komplett.ie/k/ki.aspx?sku=341813
    Akasa AK-925 REVO Thermodynamic CPU Cooler 775/939/AM2, SilentFlux
    That cooler is the most expensive on komplett! 67 Euro.

    https://komplett.ie/k/ki.aspx?sku=332708
    cythe Andy Samurai Master CPU Cooler, 120mm Fan,Socket 478/775/754/939/940/AM2

    So....any of them good enough to reach....maybe 3.6Ghz?
  9. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    the 3rd one is the best (IMHO) as Ive heard good things about the Scythe range, but 3.6GHz is being a bit optimistic m8. If you want 3.6GHz+, you really need a new case and the Thermalright 120 Ultra eXtreme. But you also need to know if your motherboard will allow installation of said cooler (as Ive just found out, mine doesnt :( )

    PS: I think your going for looks, not performance atm m8 lol

    PPS: did you make sure youve got the G0 Q6600?

    PPPS (lol): what mobo are you running all this on?
  10. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
  11. TUngsten

    TUngsten New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I just bought a Scythe Andy as well, should be here tomorrow!

    It gets great results in all the reviews I've found, pretty cheap, not too tall (like the Thermalright Ultra 120 or the Tuniq Tower) and reliable. Can't go wrong with the Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro either.

    So - don't run the q6600 at all until you have a heatsink on it...in case that wasn't obvious.
  12. RaZzZz

    RaZzZz

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    That third one is FAR too big for you brother! no chance in hell that would fit.. tho the second one would just about fit :)

    well ehhh would this mean its the GO q6600... CORE STEPPING: G0 ???
  13. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England

    Yes ;)
  14. RaZzZz

    RaZzZz

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    thats a relief! extra OC so :)
  15. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Ok then.

    So...will the Scythe Andy Samurai Master Heatsink do the job?? and is not to big?? and will fit into my case??????

    Should I go for this?
  16. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    The mobo will be:

    https://komplett.ie/k/ki.aspx?sku=335498
    MSI P35 NEO-F, P35, Socket-775, DDR2, 1333FSB, ATX, GbLAN, PCI-Ex16

    Iam sure thats good enough?

    Would the Akasa AK-925 REVO Thermodynamic fit into my case?????
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2008
  17. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  18. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    out of stock and it looks to big :p 15cms long...I dont think my case is wide enough for it :p
  19. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    checkout www.frostytech.com .They have some comparisons(HUGE) of dB level and cooling level and some rankings.IMHO TRUE,ZEROtherm Nirvana 120,Zalman CNPS 9700LED stay top of the pack now.
  20. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    if they have them (and you havent ordered yet) get the neo2 instead, on the uk komplett its only a few quid more, and is more aimed at overclocking (its a platinum basically, same voltage circuitry, bios etc)

    edit: and the revo's been getting some pretty poor reviews, i'd avoid it
  21. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    this one is very nice and should fit most cases but many of the best coolers will come close the the sides of case so they will all look big but still fit unless you have a very narrow case.

    Scythe Ninja PLUS CPU Cooler, 120mm Fan, Socket 478/775/754/939/940/AM2
    https://komplett.ie/k/ki.aspx?sku=320978
  22. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    man ive bought the mobo days ago :p No time for changing!

    zCexVe: I have checked the site :p iam just lost if it will fit into my case...All I want is for someone to say that this cooler is great and will fit into your case. CAN anyone point out 1 that they know will fit into my case?????
    TECHIES???? where are you!!!
  23. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    keakar: That CPU is 15cms :( I think thats just to big for my case.
  24. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    i just looked at your case on komplett (its the xion one with green lights right?), i really dont think you will have any trouble fitting any of the scythe's
    the scythe mine rev.b is at a good price, tatty_one has one and found it to perform better than the mugen, and the andy is a very good cooler too
  25. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    well they arent as good at cooling as the larger sized models but most of the coolers out there come in a jr. version using 92mm fans so look for those.

    the noctua 09 version is what im using in the P4 Prescott (very hot running cpu) computer i have now and its about the same size as the arctic cooler 7 which i just bought to use in my new Q6600 build, the arctic cooler 7 is highly praised as a great cooler for the Q6600 and will fit any case so if your concerned about space then i suggest you get the arctic cooler 7 or the noctua 09, either one will definately fit any application.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page