1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q6600, wheres my heatsink?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Irish_PXzyan, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I think the freezer7 pro is good enuff,and it will fit in your case.

    can you post the full number off your chip-ie-->LXXXXXXX SLXXXX
  2. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,413 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Where is the number Trigger69????? on the actual chip itself?????

    My case is the Xion2 with the green lights :p
    So can I fit the 15cm coolers?????
  3. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    just look for this: "SLACR" in the numbers on the chip, if you see the SLACR its a GO cpu and a better overclocker but to be honest the difference if its not a GO is overstated and unless your pushing to the max overclock you wont notice any difference.


    my chip reads:

    INTEL '05 Q6600
    INTEL CORE 2 QUAD
    SLACR MALA
    2.40GHZ/8M/1066/05A
  4. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    As i advised him in his thread to build his rig.:p

    Last edited: Jan 7, 2008
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    like this-

    [​IMG]

    the pic is a b3 i believe,but you can see the number we want.
  6. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I cant believe he went for that other board after telling him multiple times to go for the MSI P35 Neo2-FR (iP35 - S775).:confused:
  7. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,413 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Technicks: I could'nt afford it :p

    My CPU CHIP says: SLACR MALAY.

    Does that mean iam all good?
  8. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,413 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Guys...Out of these pastes...what would you pick???

    AKASA Thermal Compound 3.5g With spreader card.

    Antec Silver Thermal Compound

    OCZ Freeze Extreme Thermal Compound, 3 gram

    These are the only ones available on komplett so dont advice something like the artic 5 or something :p Which of those 3 will do the job that little bit better?
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    The Antec Silver is meh, so-so. I used some on my northbridge and it did help push my clocks a little higher (50Mhz) but I didn't change out the heatsink and temps are MUCH MUCH better (5C drop). I really can't comment on the other 2 though.
  10. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,413 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    ive now been advised to get the Scythe Mine Rev. B CPU Cooler, 100mm Fan from Technicks. It sounds very impressive! I do like it and its easy on my bank account :p Its 15cm long tho....So iam scared if I buy it...and it wont fit :(
    What do you guys think of this model??
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    The chip is fine.it is a G0 stepping so thats all good.

    Measure the width of your case,if its more than the cooler,it should fit,if its less it wont.
  12. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,413 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    CASE: 20.5 cm x 50 cm x 44.5 cm
    FAN: 10.9 cm x 10.5 cm x 15 cm

    Sounds like it should fit?

    Thankfully it is GO :D
  13. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,755 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    US
    That cooler might be to much for his Mobo as people are saying it can break the mobo due heavy it is.. You best reading the reviews on newegg about it too. I love it it works flawlessly on my system.

    Here's a pic of it how my system used to be. Rear fan is installed out the outside of the case now. Case is red and HDD's have been moved since..
    http://home.comcast.net/~asrock/inside.JPG
  15. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,413 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Darknova: thought I said only 3 to choose from :p I would choose the Arctic one but it aint there and I dont think it will be for some time :p

    AsRock: That looks funky!

    hmm..since there really is no 1 big answer...ive no choice but to choose what I think is good enough!
    However..since the mobo more than likely will prevent me from overclocking much..It might be pointless to go out and get a big cooler....but if this mobo does not do the job..I will save up and get an expensive mobo next time round :p

    Hmm...in that case..maybe I should get a great cooler...at least in the future when I get a new mobo..I will have a great cooler to go with it :D

    hmmmmmm....I also wish to buy an easy to install cooler..ive never done this..and I dont wish to build a cooler..I want one that is ready made...take it out of the packaging and just put it into place :D

    I think the Akasa AK-925 REVO Thermodynamic is ready made. Read a review about it and it appears to be really impressive :D Would you guys be happy enough with that cooler???
  16. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
  17. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,413 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Man if you read my other posts you would know I only buy from komplett :D

    That cooler is not there :( if it was I would more than likely pick it up...but it aint :(
  18. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I have one like i said. You can buy it from me for cheap.
    It's lapped and not used for more then 2 weeks.
    Shipping won't take long with such a small box.
  19. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    I picked up some Antec, dropped idle temps from 39c->34c. Ambient around 26c-28c.

    Stuff works.
  20. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,413 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Ah yes...technicks...what cooler is it that you have???? what does lapped mean????

    I wish I could get the arctic one :( to bad eh!
  21. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I have the Arctic;)

    Lapped means polished and flattened.
  22. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,413 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    How much do you want for it?? perhaps we could come up with some sort of deal :p to bad you dont have 2 of them :p my bro wants 1 too lol!

    The cooler is in perfect condition yea???
  23. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    If you want i can get you two new ones and ship them to you.
    They are €20 each so that would be under €50 to ship them to you.;)
    If i would sell mine i would take €15 for it.
    So you are better of buying a new one.
  24. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    I'm dialup.only 3 hours per day.If not bill will land on moon after rocketed:roll:
    The 360 view features some views and dimensions.So you can have an estimte for ur self.Just like I did for Striker extreme and Nirvana NV 120.I finally found out it wil not fit in with heat pipes with the given dimensions.Think of the shape ,fan,fin shape and mobo compatibility.You can guess for your self.It just needs common sense.(No offence OK)
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,532 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,929
    I be havin' yer heatsink!!!
    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page