1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q9450 and Vcore

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by AlienIsGOD, Mar 9, 2009.

  1. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Hey guys... I ve got my q9450 @ 3.0ghz but have not changed the vcore. Cpu-z shows it at 1.216. Is that too low, should i raise it a bit and if so to how much? Thnx
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Run OCCT on your processor to see if it's stable. If not, then bump up the voltage and try again. :)
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  3. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    473 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    I'm currently running 3.2GHz at 1.304v fella, on stock it should handle 3.2GHz without the uppage of vcore, I've got my voltages on auto management for now though and I'll be going for a 4GHz overclock (if not more) with the Q9450 I have :)

    I'm running on an XFX 790i Ultra board though so it may/may not vary from yours :)

    --Lee
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  4. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    The lower voltage your cpu boots at is a good thing. I can run 3.2Ghz on stock voltages. I run 3.6 at 1.4V and 3.8@1.45VCore. Just remember that more Voltage+Higher Clocks= Much Higher Temps.
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  5. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    at a guess i'd say yours should do 3-3.2ghz on stock voltage, i for get what the program to see what the VID of the CPU is, the VID is the Voltage ID, which is basically the stock voltage for the chip, it actually changes chip to chip and can have a large bearing on overclocking.

    for example the VID on my Q6600 is 1.2875v, which is pretty good, i know a lot of people with Q6600's that have VID's over 1.3v and not many below.
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  6. Mr.Immaculate New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    If it's stable, leave it at stock voltage. You don't need to crank the voltage unless it isn't stable.

    I've also grown a little wary of OCCT. I've seen it cause errors on the 45nm quads. It's hard to test for stability if your testing software isn't stable.
  7. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Kool thnx for the advice guys. ERocker how long do u suggest i run OCCt for? 6 hours, 8? What about Prime95?
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2009
  8. pajama

    pajama New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I just got my Q9450 running at 3.3 GHz at 1.248 on CPU-Z. Prime 95 stable
    AlienIsGOD and wolf say thanks.
  9. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    nice. :toast:
    pajama says thanks.
  10. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    Most Quads run up to 3.6 pretty easy. You'll need to up the VCore to hit higher FSB's.

    Enjoy the overclock I see a noticeable difference between stock and 3.2! :toast:
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  11. pajama

    pajama New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Thanks mlee49.

    This is my first oc so I am taking things one step at a time. I will wait until the weekend to try an go further.:D
  12. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    473 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Good luck with the OC matey, hopefully we can both hit a nice high stable OC =)

    --Lee
  13. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    473 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    I did 8hours prime95 test for mine fella :)

    I'd definitely recommend at least 6minimum to be fair, but I tend to stick around 8hours or higher! :)

    Good luck for pushing for some high OC's mate!

    --Lee
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  14. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    So this is more like a leave overnight type thing i take it. mlee49 your very right the jump is pretty noticeable even for me at 3ghz. Thnx Israar i will go for 8 hours then.
    Israar says thanks.
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    I consider 1 hour of OCCT stable. That's just my opinion and I'm sure I'm in the minority.:)
    Israar says thanks.
  16. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    473 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    You're welcome mate and definitely an overnight thing :)

    I've never used OCCT like erocker mentions, although I've heard that it's pretty intensive, I'd use it but never tried looking albeit I've thought about giving it a go, it's just I'm used to using Prime95 and if I'm right it's been around a lot longer than OCCT? Correct me if I'm wrong though :)

    --Lee
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    I'm quite sure that Prime95 has been around longer than OCCT, and I also have used Prime95 for a while. I somewhat just started using OCCT and it's truly a great program. It displays temps, speeds, stuff like that. I've also had unstable OC's fail in OCCT after about 15 minutes that would take Prime95 around three hours to fail. It's really nice if you're an impatient overclocker like me.:toast:
    Israar says thanks.
  18. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    473 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Cheers dude, any chance I could snag you for a link for a 64bit Vista installation of OCCT? I'm considering giving this a whirl, no harm in having both Prime95 and OCCT is there? The additional features just mean I can open less programs, albeit not that extensive but still, worth a shot :)

    That's some difference too, 15mins failure in OCCT compared to Prime95 3hours :wtf: lol

    --Lee
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Israar says thanks.
  20. Israar

    Israar

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    473 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Thanks mate, saved my time and it's also up for the OP if he wishes to give it a try and anyone else who views this thread :)

    :toast: for TPU, the best community on the net, in my humble opinion! :rockout:

    --Lee
    erocker says thanks.
  21. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    i will try OCCT i have heard alot of good things about it on this forum and others.:toast: for all the help and advice guyz.
  22. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    I dident have to change the vcore on mine untill i passed 3.2Ghz and my stock VID is 1.2125 - i set it to 1.2 in bios and it rean up to 3.2Ghz fine.
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  23. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    my X3350 aka Q9450 runs 3.6GHz at 1.3v :D
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  24. pajama

    pajama New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Very nice, I hope to be able to hit that and still be Prime 95 stable. What does you temp look like during stressing?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page