1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q9450 your thoughts?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Fitseries3, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im thinking about getting a q9450 chip when they come out. for those of you who dont know about it yet...

    core 2 quad q9450 2.66ghz 1333QDR 333FSB 8x multi C0 stepping $330-$350

    basically the q9450 is 2 e8200 core on one waferboard. that means it PROBABLY wont do 4.3-4.5ghz like the e8400 does. 4.0-4.2 on a good board is probably max for the q9450. the good part is, the 45nm cores perform about 20-30% better at the same clocks as their 65nm cousins.

    what are your thoughts? should i get one or not?
     
  2. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I was thinking of getting one. My issue is the 8x multi. For most people that means about 4.0ghz if you're lucky. I'm at 3.8ghz on my x3220, and I'm not sure it's worth the upgrade right now, not at a $330-$360 price tag. Now, if it was in the same price range as the Q6600 or x3220, then I would strongly consider it.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    the only advantage i see is the 20-30% increase in performance. my q6600 is getting 3.8ghz stable and my board can go a lot further. im thinking the q9450 would be able to do 4ghz on my board and i should see 22k in 3dmark06.
     
  4. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,569 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    Im totally getting one. Just need to sell my A64 rig. Anyone interested? :laugh:
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  5. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    but the question is...when is it coming out?
     
  6. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,569 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    Two weeks from tomorrow. (Saturday)
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,892 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,295
    Apparently, there is some sort of unstableness with 45nm quads used with certain hardware that Intel is trying to fix. This goes for the already released QX9650 too.
     
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    next week or the week after.

    i benched a qx9650 at the settings that the q9450 would run and found that it benches about 1200pts higher than a q6600 at the exact same settings.

    q6600 @ 3.8ghz with 2 8800gt's get's 176XX

    qx9650(running 8x mult with 470FSB, like the q9450 would) 3.8ghz with 2 8800gt's gets 197XX
     
    CrAsHnBuRnXp says thanks.
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ask yourself this. Are you willing to pay $350 for a marginal increace in your max stable overclock and a slightly higer 3DMARK number? I highly doubt you will notice any performance gains with the Q9450. HIGHLY DOUBT. You may see a higher 3DMARK number but that's about it.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,569 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    That was the reason they delayed it. That was about two months ago.
     
  11. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,569 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    I personally am getting it just so I can sell my Q6600. Dont get me wrong its a great chip, but its hard to keep cool. (B3)
     
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Why get a Quad? Unless you're running Crysis, Photoshop and F@H at the same time you didn't even need the B3 Q6600. If I were you I would pick up an E8400 and go for a stable 4GHz overclock 24/7. 444x9 1:1 FSB:DRAM ratio. Get the CPU stable, tweak RAM timings a bit. Later play around with PCI-E frequencies I guess.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,569 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    Future proof. More and more games will support the 4 cores. After I get the 9450, I dont plan on upgrading for a while.

    Not only that, it would make my $300 mobo purchase a waste since my EVGA 680i board was perfectly capable of running Wolfdale. :p
     
  14. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    They said future proof a year ago and look now. Things are hardly being optomized for dual core, and things that take advantage of quad core usually use around 80% of core 0 and 11% of all the other cores. You are better off with a fast dual for now.

    With how much we TPUers upgrade future proof is kind of discarded anyway.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,569 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    I dont upgrade that often. And when I do, its usually little things.

    Ive disabled two cores of my quad for the hell of it once and I noticed a BIG difference in speed/responsiveness. Even with a RAID-0 array.

    I dont know when my next complete system revamp is going to take place. Might as well get the quad. My mind is already made up on the matter. If I wanted the dual core, I would have bought it by now.

    The last two things I upgraded where my motherboard and video card. Everything else is the same since August 07. Video card was a must because my dad needed one for his new system so I gave him my G80 8800GTS 640MB. I got an 8800GT for Christmas. Got my mobo with b-day money. :D If I can sell my A64 rig, I will get my 9450 then attempt to sell my B3 Q6600.
     
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im just the kind of guy that needs to have the latest and greatest. i just dont like to spend alot on over priced things like the qx9650.
     
  18. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    If you get one and try it and its a flop that would really help the rest of us:D
    all I know is the q6400 was 8x and it would not hit 3.0 for nothing so its a heck of a risk
     
  19. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,569 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    I hear you on that one and agree 100%.

    The ONLY reason I got a Q6600 was because it was under $300. Why get a high end dual core for the same price as a Q6600 with 4 cores?
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I'm not too sure about the 8x multi on the 9450. I'm just breaking down and going top end for once in my life. Never been there before, and I'd like to try it. Ordering a QX9650 in the coming weeks.
     
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i have money.... but im not gonna bow down and let Intel put the big corporate D*** in my a$$.

    that's some serious price gouging on the qx chips man.
     
  22. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    should be some great deals on used q6600 soon :)
     
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    like mine! $190 shipped
     
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, but they do usually have more headroom. I'm looking for some LN2 pots, and a QX is really your only option for runs that serious. I know they're gouging, but the hell with it, you only live once I figure.

    PS: If you happen across some good deals on LN2 pots, lmk. lol
     
  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im gonna make a few. only for 775 though.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page