1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

q9550 on 780i ftw, 4ghz?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by shevanel, Sep 14, 2009.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I've been told by someone here, I forget who.. but they said 4ghz on an evga 780i ftw is near impossible.

    I'm currently rock stable at 3.6 , prime can run all night while I'm at work, that was on air. Temps would get HIGH but it would never fault and stop.. even after 9 hours.

    Now I'm running it on water and so far SMALL FTTS for 2:45 mins and temps are 57c... this is at 450x8.5 for 3825mhz... 1.3 vcore.. drops to 1.28o when Im idling..

    Is the extra vcore boost to try and reach 4ghz even worth it? Should I just be happy with where it's at now or should I go for 4ghz?

    I hear 1.3v on 45nm isnt good for loads for longer periods of time.
     
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    [​IMG]

    my 9650 in my 750i FTW board
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
    shevanel says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    BTW, my 9650 has seen 4.2 gigs in my 750 ftw board
     
    shevanel says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    45nm is rated for up to 1.37
     
    shevanel and phanbuey say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. parelem

    parelem

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    228 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    i've taken my 9450 to 3.6 easily on my 780i ftw, you should be able to get to 4ghz without a problem, i'd go for it
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,033 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,097
    4GHz shouldn't be impossible on a 780i.

    The issue isn't really the final clock speed, but more the FSB speed. The 780i isn't great at higher FSB speeds, especially not on quads. They can start to struggle over 450FSB. You might make it up to the 470FSB that is required, but you are just as likely not to.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    it will be for that multi - the 7xx series struggles with anything above 1800FSB on a quad - a 9650 will clock up to around 4.0 - but unless you're REALLY lucky your chances of 4ghz on a 9550 are very low.

    9650 maybe - but few peeps have gotten a 9550 to 4.0 on an nvidia board.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  8. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I'm going to try though.
     
  9. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    I can get 4 on mine, but games run slower because the NB is on its brink... 3825 is where I am at right now, and everything is buttery smooth.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  10. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    3825 is where I'm at too.

    So you have a similar board/setup?
     
  11. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    I have a 750i with a q9650... very similar - the 780i is a little more robust. I say push it... but wouldn't sweat it if its unstable, the difference between 3.825 and 4.0 is negligible.
     
  12. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Well, maybe 3825 is a good place to be.. I mean damn.. afterall it is a 1000mhz Oc...

    But 3.6 is stable.. I'm not certain if 3825 is just yet.. gotta run small ftt's a little longer.. been about 3 hours now
     
  13. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    play some games too... i ran 24 hours prime stable, and then noticed weird slowdowns in fallout 3 - bumped the bus speed down a tad and they went away. Seems like the northbridge was stable but unhappy. THe 7xx series is the weirdest series to OC.

    btw with those temps on that chip you can easily use 1.37v, so I wouldn't worry bout it as much as the board - as long as the board can manage that chip can take whatever you throw at it. At least that is how my setup is...

    either way we are talking 175mhz when the chip is already doing ~4000... its practically a rounding error.
     
  14. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    pc locked up during the airplane cpu physx test warm up...

    Bumped the vcore up a notch
     
  15. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
  16. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    ty. about to do it now.
     
  17. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    BSOD crash dump in 8 seconds from start of that.

    Lets try again at 1.325
     
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    What are your NB volts at?

    LOL at the 8 seconds... i think someone on TPU here had a rig 18 hours prime stable, crashed within 5 minutes of Burn Test. Ive definitely been there.
     
  19. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
  20. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i think NB is 1.5 i think
     
  21. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    yeah... this IBT keeps crashing.. causing DWM to crash, explorer to crash and evga precision tool LOL..

    but it sure is fun :rockout:
     
  22. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    do you have the fan on the NB active?

    also what is the VTT (FSB term) setting?

    EDIT:

    Here were my settings for the 750i:

    vcore 1.38
    FSB term 1.3v
    NB voltage 1.52 (actively cooled)
    Dram 2.0v
    SB (default)
     
  23. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'll look threw my photo's tonight and see if I snapped some of the 4ghz with everest or hw monitor running... I don't have my notebook with me, since I'm on vacation... but I'll look threw the pictures to night to see about helping ya..
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  24. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i think cpu fsb is at 1.325

    Is there a software to see my voltages across the board, not just my cpu?
     
  25. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Everest, Hwmonitor... Best bet is Everest..
     
    shevanel says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page