1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q9550

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by _jM, Mar 11, 2009.

  1. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    OK guys im soo excited, the wife let me get a new CPU today for my birthday (this Sunday) so i ordered a Q9550, WD 160GB HDD SATA II (OS/game drive) and some AS5! Im sooo freakin excited... i feel like a kid again! Im gonna use my E5200 for my father-inlaw's new build that Im gonna start this weekend.

    So i was wondering if any of you here could tell me the Overclocking potential of the Q9550. This will be my first QuadCore so im prolly gonna need some help! Here's my new specs>>

    CPU: Intel Q9550:rockout:
    Mobo: XFX 780i :rockout:
    RAM: 2gb of G.Skill DDR2 1066
    VGA: BFG Tech GTX 260:rockout:
    PSU: CORSAIR HX620
    HDD's: WD 160gb for OS and games and a WD 250gb for storage
    Sound: SB Audigy 2
    DVD : Lite-On 22x DVD burner w/lightcrap SATA

    Thanks Guys!
     
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    hope you mobo can get a nice oc with it GL :toast:
     
    _jM says thanks.
  3. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    Well Im just happy that im finally getting a higher end cpu and the fact that its a quad. I'll prolly go ahead and clock the sucker up to 3.5ghz and be happy with that. If I go further.. then thats good too!
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Do me a favor J; Keep your ram 1:1 when 450fsb+. Congrats on the new chip! :rockout:
     
    _jM says thanks.
  5. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    Yea man.. you know me.. I'll prolly be using you for alot of help when the sucker gets here.:D

    thanks brother.. this pc of mine will be finished.. dude im soo happy right now!:D:D:D:D:D:D:rockout:
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yeah, I'm here just ask. Also, take my previous post as warning. As I am unsure if your board would fall under the "data corruption" issue.

    http://forum.xcpus.com/rumor-mill/12406-790i-780i-may-cause-hd-corruption-failure.html

    That was as of this past June. Another reason why I myself had went a 750i cause was unsure. Just soemthing for you to read up on.
     
  7. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    -AnandTech

    Thanks for the heads up bro:toast:
     
  8. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    I would expect 3.5-4.2Ghz out of that chip.

    That motherboard on the other hand.... might give you hickups over 450FSB....

    Now you need to take 2 weeks off work to OC that sucker ;) as a comparison my Q9450 will do 3.8Ghz all day @ 475FSB and basicalyl stock voltages ;)

    Read the other Q9550 thread i posted a giant mini howto OC quads in there, i would read that and start there and see what yours will do on that motherboad.
     
  9. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    5 GHz :toast:
     
  10. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Maybe under LN2 on a modded P45.
     
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    im hoping to get close on phase :p but dont think the X8 well let me :(

    but im sure the E8500 well :D
     
  12. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    ok got another 4gb of ram on the way along with a copy of Vista Home Premium SP1 64bit :D

    Now i can play Crysis in DX10.. yay!

    Oh and Just for a heads up.. If I end up not likeing this Q9550.. i will be looking to trade it for someone's 8600 :D
     
  13. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    congrats on new chip altough i would rather go for a q9400 as is cheaper and it overclocks good, but the q9550 is a freakin chip :)
     
    _jM says thanks.
  14. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    Yea.. I was looking at the 9400 but I figured that if I was going to spend that kinda money anyways.. then I might as well get the better version.. I really wished the 9650 was still on sale, newegg had it for the same price I paid for the 9550 like a week ago. Now it's back to $300+ so I stuck with this bad boy.
     
  15. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    Location:
    Kansas
    If you're willing to look at an e8500, drop me a line:D:rockout:
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,630 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,771
    I recently built a similar setup - I managed to get my Q9550 up to 3.8Ghz but I cant go any higher due to a strange FSB wall on my mobo.

    Just make sure the CPU is an 'S-Spec' theres more chance of it hitting 4Ghz mark if it is. the Q9550 is an amazing chip
     
  17. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    What motherbaord is that on? AS there are ways around FSB holes/walls :)
     
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,630 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,771
    Biostar Tpower I45 - Its rated up to 600FSB LOL or thats what the hundreds of reviews say anyway. Ive just been unlucky. I may just replace it with another mobo later anyway if i really feel the need to hit 4ghz but that would mean spending another £100 which I dont really have right now as im saving up for some new toys for my guitar.
     
  19. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    You will NEVER reach 600FSB on a quad, it will do 600FSB on a dual though.

    Quads hit 440-480 in most cases. If you are going hard, with chilled water or something and a couple weeks worth of tweeking you could probobly get 500FSB stable on a quad. but for the most part 450/460 seems to be the average for quads on the P45 (better chipset for clocking quads)
     
  20. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P got my Q 500fsb stable and highest was 550fsb so far and 525X8 3dmark stable would run it daily but dont like the v-core
     
  21. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    What kind of voltages? and suicides dont mean squat IMO also what kind of cooling?
     
  22. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well 4GHz 1.44v water

    4.2GHz 1.55 i think

    and 550 was just for max oc

    but i still need to work on the other volt settings to get it higher

    already got my E8500 up to 8X600 and not with alot of volts to the NB
     
  23. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Sounds about right, IMO crank the vFSB on that board and your quad will fly... if you have gotten that far already try 1.6 vFSB for a suicide shot, should get you past 550... and if you knwo the e8xxx will clock up there you know it ownt be a memory hole is it wont boot :D
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,630 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,771
    Im not saying im trying to hit 600fsb on my Q9550.

    the motherboard = is supposedly supposed to be able to hit 600FSB

    Q9550 - I would have expected to hit at least 471FSB for 4Ghz not 448 or 449 for that matter which aint even stable!

    get my point?? my Q9550 is an S-spec (sorry to keep repeating myself) which is theoretically expected to overclock higher then the other 'standard' Q9550's since it has a lower TDP. I cant even post @ 450FSB AT ALL. it just freezes until the bios recovery thing kicks in & defaults my settings to 'last best used' settings so i can boot up.

    Ive tried increasing voltage to almost everything. no change. I cant do a f**king thing. but i tried my best. & the end result is 3.81Ghz stable which is still a fairly decent overclock even if its possibly on par with the 'standard' Q9550's

    Im some what dissapointed. as i was really looking forward of hitting 4Ghz, but on the other hand I now have an even more powerful pc to tear stuff to shreds as I was so disheartend about my Q9550 overclocking ventures that i was going to leave it completely at stock.

    with the exception of Crysis - I dont think any game within the next year or 2 will be an issue for me. & there are always new graphic cards to give me what my 4870's* in crossfire cant to bridge whatever gap that me & my bitch may come across.....

    *I say "4870's" because I will be going crossfire when prices drop a little more.
     
  25. Carrion New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oakham, United Kingdom
    4GHz on water, 3.6GHz on air :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page