1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Quad 7990's Game Rig

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by OneHotOutSpokenBitch, Feb 25, 2012.

  1. OneHotOutSpokenBitch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pensacola,Florida
    First, thanks for responding. Second, the p4 I mentioned was the 1st computer I ever built. The pentium 4 was the first processor made by intel that had the hyper technology. That was years ago. I mean like "dinosaur" years ago, lol .
    It was no where near a super game rig or anything. Same hardware from day I built that machine is still in it except I added a water cooler to the maturing processor and added a 9500gt video card.

    The machine is still working beautifully, but can't really play todays games. After all, it only has 4 gigs memory, has the D915GAG Intel board and runs XP home edition. It's a decent machine for streaming movies on and checking mail. My game rig I built that I use currently has 2 5970's in it that's on Intel's DX58SO extreme series board. I have 12 gigs memory installed, 1000 watt corsair psu, all fans are fluid bearing.It illuminates blue .

    Everything is water cooled. The case that houses my hardware is Antec's twelve hundred v3 .I really love this case. I have 2 SSD's, and 1 2 terabyte drive for storage. Then I have NZXT's fan and temp. monitor. I'm not happy with the monitor because of to many issues, but nzxt won't rma it out.But over all it's a sweet machine, but time for a complete major upgrade now :) Once I have my new one built, I will upload pictures and perhaps short video of my new rig thats in process of being built :)


    Anne


     
  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    you cant use 2 3960x cpus in a dual cpu board. it wont boot. you have to use xeons which arent even released yet.
     
  3. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    So if you want to boot up your windows super lightning fast. I suggest raiding 20 ssds. Sadly, I can't find that video on youtube. It was ridiculously fast how it transferred a 2 or 4 gb movie in a second.
     
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    4 ssds is plenty fast though. anything over 1gb/s is faster than you can tell with your eye.
     
  5. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    OHHH:p:p. I really want to see this build and really want to see the sick benchmarks. Now try playing GTA IV at SUPERSUPERULTRA settings with everything on!!!!:D:D
     
  6. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Yea, but come on. Money isn't a problem, and why not have more storage at super fast access speeds.
     
  7. OneHotOutSpokenBitch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pensacola,Florida
    No worries, I'm not holding back. I'm wanting to build the fastest machine possible known to man, and hopefully be the first female to have it . :) I've wanted to do this for a long time, and now finally going to . Friends think I'm crazy, but they don't game or love technology as I do.So makes a difference. :)


     
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    this isnt about bashing the OP and telling them they are crazy. tell em what would be somewhat resonable. but you cant... you guys would rather be jerks than helpful in any way. keep your comments to yourself if you cant help someone.

    yeah this person has an over the top idea but so did i. and i showed you that its possible no matter what. i took alot of you guys being dicks to me for a long time, whether it be jelousy or whatever you want to call it, its not called for. i didnt have the money... i worked my ass off to get things by bartering, reviewing products and trading items to get what i wanted. this person has the money but dont you wish you had the money to get whatever you wanted?

    perhaps thats why you say you'd get 20ssds... thats your want. but its not needed and neither is your sarcastic remarks.

    try to be more helpful and a little less rude.
     
  9. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I wasn't trying to be sarcastic. But then again, the OP said money is not a problem. So I really don't see why raiding ok well 20 might be excessive, but I took that out of example from the video clip. The reason why I say raid so many (maybe 10 ssds) is so that the OP won't have to buy HDDs. I am not being a jerk at all. I am just throwing out ideas, so that the OP can take into consideration. She also said she wanted a "dreamer's game rig". And that is my dream for building my rig.
     
  10. OneHotOutSpokenBitch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pensacola,Florida
    Thanks for saying something on my behalf. People want to be rude and make jokes for whatever reason, I say let them. It will not bother me. Like I stated, once I have my new rig built, I will post pictures and video, and that's when I will have my "laugh" . :)


     
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Pics or your not hot rofl
     
  12. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,722 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    What exactly is your issue with nVIDIA? Most agree that ATi/AMD have driver problems and nVIDIA GPUs are normally more powerful, just sometimes they are faster or slower than the equivalent Radeon depending on the game.

    While I appreciate your desire to have the fastest machine possible, no game or consumer program will see any kind of benefit from dual CPUs. The sad truth is that it most cases, they don't even fully utilise quad cores let alone hex or octa.

    But then again, if I was building this PC, I wouldn't listen to reason and just buy everything I could get my hands on. xD I wish you luck.
     
  13. OneHotOutSpokenBitch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pensacola,Florida
    First off, if you are referring to me, (How small is your dick") , I'd like to know that since I'm FEMALE , I don't have a dick. Second, The machine I am building, is one I put quite a bit of thought into making , and decided to get feedback to help conclude on some things about my upcoming build. I really do appreciate all the positive and negative feedback.


    Thanks again everyone,

    Anne


     
    MT Alex and kingkongtol say thanks.
  14. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I like your choices so far although with the 6 monitors, maybe reduce them to 3? Unless you've had a crazy multi-monitor setup before that you got comfortable with I just can't recommend anyone to go for more than 3 monitors as it will be no where near practical and will most likely be only a nuisance for gaming. I am sure there are alot of options for big screens out there although the likeliness of the user running into issues with reading what's on the desktop etc. would be pretty high. I'd also recommend watercooling system, get a techxpert to help you build and test the loop etc.

    Also no offence but I wouldn't be surprised if this thread turned out to be a big fish hook attached to a rod that a troll is using.
     
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    ??
     
  16. OneHotOutSpokenBitch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pensacola,Florida
    I only prefer ATI because I like the CCC. It's easier to set settings.Where as Nvidia I never really was able to get settings manipulated quite like I wanted them without one setting coming "undone" while fixing another. I've only liked Nvidia for watching movies on. I have a rig with a GTX 480 in it, and the picture quality is awsome. ATI isn't .

     
  17. OneHotOutSpokenBitch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pensacola,Florida
    This is a forum for pc reated questions not giving out pics of myself for others to "perv" on. However, I post the pics/video of my new rig, I'll include myself just for you Dom :) .


     
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    nvidia is actually better. use evga precision or msi afterburner. super easy. CCC is crap really. even ati staff knows it.
     
  19. OneHotOutSpokenBitch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pensacola,Florida
    I'll give it a try .


     
  20. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    370 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    I'd love to take a drive over to pcola (from mobile) when your rig is finished just so I can drool over your build.

    I can only imagine the monitor display you must be planning.

    I read a review once (maybe at Tom's?) that although performance doesn't scale as well with more GPUs, but you do get less microstutter with more GPUs, which makes it worthwhile.
     
  21. OneHotOutSpokenBitch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pensacola,Florida
    Everything will be water cooled just as the rigs I currently have are.I wouldn't have it any other way. As for monitors, I currently have 4 hooked to my game rig. They have been handy :)
    Also, as I stated couple times already, once rig is built, I'll post pics, video, and benchmarks. Then that should show I'm not just a "troll" :)



     
  22. OneHotOutSpokenBitch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pensacola,Florida
    I'd be willing to let you see my build once it's completed.

     
    damric says thanks.
  23. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    370 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Ok I'll try not to drool too much :D











    Yeah, you hear that guys? I'm in like Flynn! :toast:
     
  24. OneHotOutSpokenBitch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pensacola,Florida
    Lol, you do that .:)

     
  25. OneHotOutSpokenBitch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pensacola,Florida
    Honestly, I was thinking 2560x1600 . But that could change .






     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page