1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Quad SLI-e motherboard Question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Bow, Oct 26, 2008.

  1. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,555 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,261
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    One of the guys on the TPU Folding Team is getting a Quad SLI-e motherboard for folding http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130136R. I am not Folding with both of my cards because I like to run them in SLI for gaming and you can't fold in SLI.

    My question is can I get a quad SLI-e board run 2 cards in SLI for gaming and run 2 cards unlinked for folding at the same time?
    If yes what kind of PSU would I need? and could I get one with all the cables I would need.
    would it work with my Q6600?
    What about the Drivers? I think that would be the biggest part of the whole thing.
    I would just pick up 2 more 8800gt's.

    Well what do you think? can it be done and not cost a fortune?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I am not sure if your asking in general but none of your questions apply to that board you linked specifically:

    1. It's a crossfire board and there is no such thing as Quad SLI (EXCEPTION 2 9800GX2's).
    2. It's AM2+, so no it would not work with your Intel quad.

    But, I beleive I misread your questions. As far as I am aware only 9 series cards support Tri-SLI, and your board you currently have supports only Dual GPU SLI.
     
    Bow says thanks.
  3. blobster21

    blobster21

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    420 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    Vandoeuvre - France
    Bow says thanks.
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  5. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,555 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,261
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    I am just asking in general, Maybe I am not asking the right question in the right way:)

    can you run 2 cards sli connected and 2 cards unlinked for folding,run 4 cards performing 2 different actions at the same time 2 cards connected and 2 unlinked using a quad pci-e board?

    Hope that helps:D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Only in theory you could.

    Pickup an SLI board, setup your SLI Graphics. Mod a couple of your PCIe 1x slots to put the other cards in place.

    I don't think how practical that would be though.
     
    Bow says thanks.
  7. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,555 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,261
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Thats true, with how fast technology is changing in a couple months everyone could have them:roll:

    Thanks everyone :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page