1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

quadro and photoshop

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by ferysery, Oct 14, 2013.

  1. ferysery New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi
    I know quadro do amazing things in CAD alike softwares.
    but is it good and do anything extra in photoshop ?
    are there any reason to justify buying an expensive quadro card for photoshopping?
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I believe in Creative Suite 6 (CS6), Adobe introduced the Mercury Engine which included acceleration for Quadro card. This included performance enhancements in Photoshop.
  3. Jobine

    Jobine

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    15 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Charlottetown
    I would still prioritize a wide-gamut monitor (or two), stylus, good CPU (quad) and a nice amount of RAM (6GB+) over a workstation-class GPU for photoshop.
  4. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Only if you use a 10-bit display, but other than that I would say no.
  5. ferysery New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    whats the exact technical relation between 10-bit display and a quadro card which can not be done with a normal GTX card.
    and i must mention here a phrase by nvidia company;
    "The Mercury graphic Engine brings performance gains to all the GPUs supported today in Adobe Creative Suite® 6 software. Photoshop CS5 automatically detects NVIDIA® GeForce® or NVIDIA® Quadro® GPUs to enable accelerated features."
    so it seems the features are also avaiable in GTX and other modern cards also.
    what you think?
  6. CADplace

    CADplace New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    With each release, there has been improved support.

    You definitely want to check the level of support and the supported GPUs in your release.

    with CS6 there was support for Quadro. In PPro you could edit the supported GPU file to add a board. Other CS6 programs did not have an external file to add a GPU.

    In CS6 only NVIDIA boards were supported. From memory, only Quadro.

    With CC the support has grown a lot as Open CL is supported and therefore a host of AMD GPUs as well. I run a 2011 macbook and my AMD Radeon GPU got support in CC.

    All that said, I use PPro all the time and appreciate the enhanced perf in CC but I spend just a moderate amount of time in PS and have not seen where the GPU acceleration helps.
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,513 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,879
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I literally just had a conversation with my boss about this, and Photoshop CS5 (and IIRC CS6) ONLY had cuda acceleration support, which is one of the reasons our PC's are running NVidia quadros for Photo editing. Later versions of photoshop have OpenGL acceleration, making AMD gpus viable for photoshop gpu acceleration. Prior to CS5, I dont believe there was any GPU acceleration from cuda or OpenGL.
  8. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    852 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    OpenCL or OpenGL? I think you mean OpenCL.
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    OpenGL acceleration has been offered in Photoshop since CS4. However it is only used for scaling images real-time and SOME filters. Cuda only applies to Adobe Premiere and After Effects. It does nothing for Photoshop and is useless. You can get by with most IGP's.

    Here is a list of what OpenGL does.
    http://forums.adobe.com/thread/979969

    So unless you are doing any video editing or 3D animation a Quadro or FirePro card is USELESS for Adobe Photoshop.

    ALSO ATI support for OpenGL is hit or miss. Stay with NVIDIA for now.

    No he means OpenGL for Photoshop.
  10. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,513 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,879
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Really? I was told cuda cores can be used for acceleration in photoshop, for scaling and filters (albeit slightly pointless, because if you're using lots of filters you're doing it wrong). Maybe my boss just doesnt know what he's talking about.
  11. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    852 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    According to the Adobe website, there is OpenCL support in CS6 as well.


    Use OpenCL

    Uses the GPU to accelerate the new blur filters (Field Blur, Iris Blur, and Tilt-Shift). OpenCL is only available on newer GPUs that support OpenCL v1.1 or later.


    Whether this works or not or is better than OpenGL, or if both OpenGL and OpenCL support are present, I'm not sure. Adobe is really to blame for all the confusion here.
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    No that's OpenGL. Cuda is for Video compression and such. Cuda MIGHT be used for some of the 3D plug-ins for Photoshop. That I'm not sure but the base application doesn't use it at all AFAIK. Crazyeyes might be able to tell ya.
    RCoon says thanks.
  13. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,513 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,879
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Fair enough, I'm the media and photoshop guy at work so I get the nice fancy quadro. We were discussing what GPU to get for photography PC's used for students as we'll be getting a few dozen 1440p monitors, so regardless we needed a dual dvi capable gpu that might actually assist in Photoshop and Vegas Platinum 12.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page