1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Quadro NVS 140m___EXTREME Laptop OC

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by hoax32, Jul 30, 2012.

  1. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    <-----Specs on the side

    OK so I can't blieve my eyes!
    I bought this T61 for light gaming.
    You know - older games like CoD4 or Silent Hunter 4.
    Frames where great on both games but i wanted to enjoy more details so I OCed my
    "NVS 140M (A 128MB 8400M GT Equilevant GPU)" to following:

    CORE: 400MHz --> 500MHz
    MEM: 600MHz --> 750MHz
    SHADER: 800MHz ---> 1GHz

    Temps raised on average to my suprise only 2 degrees .
    So i decided to push it farther but before that i went ahead and ordered some AS5 and a T61p heatsink which is a little thicker than my T61 heatsink and made for the much faster Quadro 570.
    After 3 hours of testing and OCing I am now at a WHOPPING:

    CORE: 700MHz [ORIGINAL 400MHz]
    MEM: 1GHz [ORIGINAL 600MHz]
    SHADER: 1.4GHz!!! [ORIGINAL 800MHz]

    And to keep everything stable the Voltage from 1.15 to 1.2

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    I cannot believe my eyes!!!!
    This is sweet!
    WEI Aero score raised from 4.1 to 5.1 and Gaming from 5.4 to 5.8
    Everything runs stable (1 hours Furmark)
    Temps Max at 80 degrees C after 1 hours of Furmark and idle at 56.
    If the the GPU is under little LOAD, it under clocks back to factory default.
    Resident Evil 5 Frame Rate is now beyond the 70s on medium. :nutkick:

    Now some additional questions:
    Can I go higher?

    Can I runs these games on low?
    -GTA IV
    -BF3
    -Skyrim

    BTW Ma DDR2 is running in Dual Channel.
    Had to search for 3 hours till i foun the same 2GB module.
    Hope 4GB DC RAM helps with the additional Shared memory.


    TY TPU!:toast:
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012
    Jizzler says thanks.
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    CPUID valid and GPUZ valid or it didn't happen
     
  3. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    ^ what?
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    He is asking for screen shots...
     
    hoax32 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    ADDED
    dk why screenshots are needed :wtf:
    does nobody trust each other theese days?
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Run on 3dmark06 about two or three times
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    done
    no crashes or artifacts
    temp max 78 degrees C
    ohh and this laptop came with a 65W Power Adapter - i upgraded to a OEM 90W before overclocking
     
  8. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,215 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    first of all, sweet job man.

    Second - post some benchies of 3dm11 and 3dm vantage if it is not a dx11 chip.

    Also, definitely go higher, you have a ton of room. Go until it crashes then back off. I think an hour of furmark is exessive - i would do no more than 10 mins and then play games to test stability.


    Furmark can burn stuff out, and you don't want that
     
    hoax32 says thanks.
  9. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Thaanks man! :toast:
    Installed skyrim!
    Runs great on low 1024x768~ +60FPS
    So does Battlefield 3 on lowest +60FPS average. :roll:
    Bench scores come soon!
     
  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    1024x768 o_O what is this 1999 ?
     
  11. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    its 21th century - 2012 to be exact.
    And believe it or not, there are some people who can live with only 1 setting below native resolution on a 14".
     
  12. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    after some excessive cooling improvments and playing around with power settings, vRAM runs at 1.1GHz now!!!
    Thats is almost double the original speed!
    And it helps alot since its only a 64bit pipeline and 128MB GDDR3.
    Playing world of tanks at almost max.
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Sounds like the exact same thing that happens with the desktop models. Shitty GPU's tend to overclock rather well.
     
  14. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    wow a 45% OC and it can barely run world of tanks ......... @ sub 720p res
    rofl :wtf: :banghead:
    inb4melting it

    the vram is gonna say FKu and self destruct voltage and temps are not relevant at those speeds its gonna fry
    and no you won't be playing gta:iv or skyrim on that its way to old not to mention you will be lucky to see 10fps
    /reality check
     
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    What? There is not a single true statement in this.
     
  16. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX

    already playing both! :D
    ohh and its above 720p ;D
    1280x800

    and world of tanks does not run BARELY!!!
    +30FPS @ 1280x800, 4xAA and all other settings MAX
    RE5 on max resolution DX10 mid settings @30+ FPS
    GTA4 low - 1024x768 +30FPS
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  17. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    k when it frys in ~6months I don't wanna hear it
    I know the limitations of those chips its gonna fry
    lmao 30fps at 1024x768 you are not special lol
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    You apparently do not know the limitations of those chips. So quite honestly GTFO with your stupidity and negativity.
     
    Chevalr1c and hoax32 say thanks.
  19. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Wow. Here I thought the users of TPU liked to overclock anything, including toasters. Looks like we've got a princess in here :laugh: everyone post some 2011 card OCs before she throws a fit.
     
    hoax32 says thanks.
  20. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    You seem to be quite a negative influence around here as of late this is not the first time you have been making others annoyed with your unproductive comments.

    The OP was posting an amazing overclock on a much older GPU than most "gaming laptops" these days would use and he is getting fairly surprising percentages with his overclocking. He also specifies the GPU he is using in the thread title. If you are not genuinely interested in contributing to someone's thread why visit it in the first place? Seems to me like you enjoy trolling members who are posting their thoughts and accomplishments. Also you might want to look at changing that signature of yours as it seems you are being anything but helpful.

    As for the OP your OC on that chip makes me wonder just what my old laptop with a 512mb 9800M GS could achieve if overclocking it is even possible on my G50. Perhaps once I find a game I can't manage with my G75 and 660M I will push an overclock on this bad boy and see what it does.

    Great job with the OC'ing and the details listed regarding performance improvements :rockout:


    crossfire 6950's at 940/1400 :rockout:
     
    hoax32, Binge and repman244 say thanks.
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]

    :p
     
    hoax32 says thanks.
  22. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    this is a late production G84/G86 based chip.
    the early models had cheap bumping material and Ocing would just be suicide.
    having a late production chip with improved bumping material, a next level heatsink (more copper and 1.5mm thicker) and some good old AS5 make me feel safe enough to OC and especially when temps barely reach high 70's.
    also upgrading from my merom (65nm) to a penryl (45nm) helped with temps because the heatsink is shared.
    OCing ALWAYS has it's risks.....but hey - it wouldn't be fun without any even though it can piss people off sometimes! (including me :p)
     
    krissebesta says thanks.
  23. krissebesta New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How did you replace the GPU?

    Hi there! I have the same laptop, ThinkPad T61 with the Quadro 140M. How did you replace it with a Quadro 570M? Is the GPU the socketed type? Any advice or tips on how you did this would be greatly appreciated. Where did you buy the Quadro 570M from? How much did it cost? How did you determine the GPU was a later build?

    Great tinkering by the way! I bought mine to play games on, as well, during my long train rides each day. This laptop is great for almost anything on GOG.com but it would be great to be able to play Skyrim on it like you have been able to!

    Cheers! - Kris
     
  24. newlife

    newlife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  25. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    hi there!
    i did not replace the nvs140m with a 570m. (i dont even think thats possible)
    i simply overclocked it with the "Nvidia system tool".
    but dont overclock until you know the exact manufacturing date of your laptop!
    Check under the laptop and look for a sticker which has the model number on it.
    there will also be 4 numbers in following format XX/XX
    post the 4 numbers here
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page