1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Quake Wars Only Requires Radeon 9700 to Play

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Sep 7, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    I have good news for the crowd of people who can't realistically afford to play Crysis for the next year. We finally have the hardware requirements for Quake Wars, one of the most anticipated shooters of the year (next to BioShock, Unreal Tournament 3, and Crysis). Despite Quake Wars being done off a heavily modified and upgraded Doom 3 engine, which includes John Carmack's famed megatexturing algorithms, all you need to play is a GeForce FX 5700, or an ATI Radeon 9700. As far as CPU and RAM requirements go, those required to play Quake Wars are almost predictable. For XP, you need a 2.8GHz Pentium 4 or AMD equivalent, and 512MB of RAM. If you are running Vista, you need a 3GHz Pentium 4 or AMD equivalent, and 768MB of RAM.

    Source: The Inquirer
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2007
  2. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    it isnt surprising especially when you consider a a games console spec will not changes for the entire cycle of the product yet they manage to enhance sequel after sequel or new game after new game yet still improve on speed and visual glory. The PC games industry is guilty of forcing component upgrades when enhanced R&D to fully utilise components could prolong hardware for many more years that currently afforded.
     
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    ala Colin Mcrae DiRT ... worst waste of textures ever ...
     
  4. Glump Bliermp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm really into Battlefield 2142. I was so excited when hearing about this game because of how buggy BF2142 is. The Beta is a HUGE disappointment. The physics and character animations are aweful. The graphics are worse than BF2142. If you have an old crappy computer and don't own BF2142 then you might like this game.
     
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    wow, I like these light requirements.
     
  6. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    The fact that it runs on slow machines doesnt mean it will run at High or Ultra graphics settings and especially that game should be run at Max.
     
  7. jydie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    209 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I do like the fact that some PC software developers still scale their games down enough that you do not need an expensive video card. It makes a lot of sense to take a little time to do that because they will sell more copies that way. I do like my games to look great and run at a decent frame rate, but there are have been a few games that I had to upgrade my video card before I could truly enjoy them.
     
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Quake wars looks rather nice, I'm sure with some tweaking in a few files things could look pretty awesome, even more so when AA and AF are in play.
     
  9. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    It's beta, don't try to compare a finished game to beta...
     
  10. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Whats so "horrible" about this?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    russianboy and error_f0rce say thanks.
  11. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I've yet to see an id game that looks "horrible" for any time period.
     
  12. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Second Life.

    Well, I guess I should thank you for telling us you were biased right at the beginning, so that we wouldn't have to worry about your opinions. So, thanks, I guess?
     
  13. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Nice for the lesser guys still running around. This game kicks utter ass BTW, I played it at quakecon and I was MOST impressed.
     
  14. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
  15. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    WTF, eh? I apologize. I read your comment half a dozen times at first, and every single time I did I saw "I've yet to see an 3d game"... :p

    ...but Second Life still looks like crap.
     
  16. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ummm....I could name countless 3d games that look like crap, but not from id.
     
  17. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    I'm curious if this is GHz for C2D/64x2 cpus, or for single core, or what.... Not everyone has a 3GHz C2D, I'd be supprised if that's what this is meaning. Perhaps 3GHz P4 or PD? :confused:

    EDIT: beautiful screenshots btw, can't wait to try it.
     
  18. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I'm almost certain it's for single cores.
     
    error_f0rce says thanks.
  19. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Yeah, it's for old Pentiums, I'll clarify that.
     
    error_f0rce says thanks.
  20. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    I know, I know -- I thought you were making a lighthearted comment about how 3d games usually look okay for the time period in which they're released, but who cares! I'm just amazed that a card like mine would even be recommended by Id.
     
  21. bassmasta Guest

    >.> after the gameplay in the demo, i'm not buying it untill they fix the weapons so that strogg sniper isn't so easy to kill with
     
  22. Glump Bliermp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yea, but I do like the fact that some PC devs scale their games UP for HIGH-END machines like Epic and Crytek. Quake Wars has lame max graphics. No thanks.
     
  23. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,378 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    i try the beta and didnt like so im waiting for the demo to give it another go.
     
  24. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    740 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Sounds pretty sweet although I am not really suprised tbh. Doom 3 ran ok on the 9700 series so it seems logical that another game based on the same engine should also run reasonably well (just not at maximum details etc).

    Also just to add I was very suprised when I found that BF2142 ran fine at medium detail settings on my old laptop which was running a 64mb 9700 pro mobility which is the mobile equivilant of the 9600pro/xt. I thought it would be a slide show but actually it was smooth and I Could play on the 64 player map (of the demo) without any hitches.
     
  25. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,901 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    Right we trust those specs when there printed on the box too huh. Becouse it runs on a old card don't mean in anyway how good.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page