1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question About First Build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by BriBen, Jan 13, 2014.

1. BriBen New Member

Thanks Received:
    This is going to be my first build. I need some clarification about installing the GPU. I just read that I need to update the BIOS before installing the GPU. Do I have to do this on a new build?

I was planning on installing all the hardware and then installing Win. 7 without being connected to the internet. Once I had Win.7 installed and before any updates, I was going to create a system recovery disk. Then, I was planning on connecting to the internet and checking for a BIOS update (flashing the BIOS if needed), checking my drives and then moving foward with Win.7 updates and any updated drivers for the GPU.

Again, this is my first build so I'm not quiet sure the progress. Any help would be great. Thanks.

i5-4570
    GA-H87M-D3H Desktop Motherboard
    CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
    Corsair 350D Micro ATX Case
    Samsung 840 EVO 500 GB SSD
    Western (Blue) 1TB Internal Hard Drive
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 770 2GB
    SeaSonic 650w (SSR-650RM) Win.7 Home (64bit)
    Asus VS239H-P 23" Monitor
    (old Dell 2407 and HP 2311x - which I will be changing out later)
    Intel Core i5-4570 3.2GHz Quad-Core
    $194.99
    MotherboardGigabyte GA-Z87MX-D3H Micro ATX LGA1150
    $122.98
    MemoryCorsair Vengeance Pro 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600
    $76.99
    StorageSamsung 840 EVO 500GB 2.5" SSD
    $309.00
    Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM
    $59.98
    Video CardGigabyte GeForce GTX 770 2GB
    $329.99
    CaseCorsair 350D MicroATX Mid Tower
    $69.99
    Power SupplySeaSonic 650W ATX12V / EPS12V
    $100.98
    Optical DriveAsus BW-14D1XT Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer
    $104.98
    Operating SystemMicrosoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit)
    $82.99