1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

question about 'max resolution' spec

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Easy Rhino, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,453 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,262
    If a VGA says it can do a max res of 2560x1600 does that mean that it maxes out PER PORT? for instance, if a VGA has two dvi ports will the card do 2560x1600 per port?
     
  2. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,813 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,949
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I should certainly think so. The GPU on the video card should be able to drive two ports at max spec.
     
    Easy Rhino says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,200
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Nope. Not "Per Port". Depends on the the connector type. Some brands explicitly state which port is capable of which rsolution, but not all do. Also, refresh-rate possible at each res may vary.

    2560x1600 is the perfect example, since it requires Dual-Link DVI. Many cards can only do this on a single port only, while others are single-link.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  4. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,022 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,218
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I thought the memory needed for a frame buffer should be X resolution times Y resolution times color depth (24, typically). 2560x1600x24 comes out to ~12 MB though, so I think I'm forgetting something somewhere.

    It's probably per port. The clock required for anything higher might invoke corruption.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,453 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,262
  6. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,022 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,218
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,453 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,262
    it needs to power 2x 1920x1080 displays using DVI.

    mainly for sys admin stuff and programming. no gaming.
     
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,813 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,949
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Easy--I can't think of any modern card that won't do 2x1080p :)
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,200
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Even over VGA. 1080p/1200p is about the limit for VGA plugs (2048x..uh..1536 ??? max)
     
  10. [XC] Oj101

    [XC] Oj101

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    South Africa
    I've done 2580x2048 on an old CRT monitor over VGA, it's not a problem :)
     
  11. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    928 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    It is per port. A card that support dual-screen will support max resolution, but it depends of ports. Some ports will do a max resolution while another will support higher.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,022 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,218
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    I think it is per port. Actually, I'm sure it is per port.

    Used to have this SAPPHIRE 100283FLEX Radeon HD 5770 FleX 1GB 128-b...
    eyefinity card. I was running 3 screens. 2 1080p and 1 1200p with no problems.

    I used hdmi and dvi->vga conversion connector.
     
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    That must have looked amazing. :cool: I'd love to see it for myself.
     
  15. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    I'd love to see it too. That monitor must weigh 50+ lbs

    I remember my old 36" tube TV was like 150 lbs.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page