1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question about overclocking core on Radeon 9600

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Rishi Ruler, Feb 8, 2005.

  1. Rishi Ruler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suriname(South-America)
    I used Ati tool before I had the silencer to find max core. Ati tool told me that max core was 405 MHZ
    After I installed the cooler Ati Tool told me the same thing, but if I put the core on 415 MHZ ati tool will show no artifacts, but the pc will lock up after 10 minutes gaming.
    Can anyone help me solving this problem?
  2. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Well its obviously OC'd too far.
  3. gerrynicol New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    758 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland, Falkirk
    Yup sounds like a heating issue, use ATI tool to check temps, you can dump the output to a log file. It does sound like you need to lower your clock speeds, also are you using any ramsinks?.

    Gerry.
  4. Rishi Ruler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suriname(South-America)
    Yes, the silencer has built-in ram sinks
  5. gerrynicol New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    758 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland, Falkirk
    what kind of case cooling do you have?, If you are not getting enough air pushed over the sinks eventually they will heat up too much.

    Gerry.
  6. Rishi Ruler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suriname(South-America)
    I have 3 case fans which blow cool air inside( 2 blow almost directly to the fan of the silencer) the case and 1 fan that sucks air out of the case.
    My case temperature is max 35 degrees celsius.
  7. gerrynicol New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    758 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland, Falkirk
    Can't really see a problem there then, you may need to lower the timings until the artifacts go away.

    By the way did you put new thermal compound on the GPU when you changed the cooler?.
  8. Rishi Ruler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suriname(South-America)
    Yes I put thermal paste on it.
    I will try lowering the memory timings as soon as the Ati tool is released in which you can save the memory timings.
  9. Rishi Ruler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suriname(South-America)
    Update:
    I cleaned the case, there was a lot of dirt inside and now I'm able to push the core to 410 Mhz :)
  10. dodol New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i'm a newbie, can anybody tell me? how the max vpu clock and memmory clock radeon 9600 pro can be overclocked.
    is that safe to overclock the vga cards?
    is that any body experience about vga damage caused by overclock?
    thx
  11. warlock110 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    39 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the max is probably around 450 to 475 seeing that it's using the 350 core, the 360 will do better but it only appear on the XT version. I don't think you can mess up a card by Ocing because you're not pumping in any extra votage, as long as you have good cooling you can OC and if it can't take it, then it'll crash and that it. how did you think the manufacture determine whether the card is good for 9600, or 9600 pro, they do it just like you do, they test it and see if it can't take the higher speed, if it crash @ 500mhz, then it's put down to regular 9600 :)
  12. C&C Freak 2K New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    205 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Applegate, CA
    The RV350 runs stock at 400MHz on the 9600 Pro, it can run up anywhere from 460-500MHz. A broad window yes, but I've only ever gotten mine to 460 w/out artifacts.

    Also, you'll notice it artifacting a LOT before heat damage even starts to set in. VPUs also have more heat tolerance than CPUs.
  13. dodol New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry

    Sorry,
    my vga card wasnt 9600 pro but 9600 non pro sapphire after i check it. it has RV350 chip and 325 vpu core and 400 mem core , samsung i don't know the mem timing. Is it possible to flash my vga to 9600 pro or XT? cause my vga didn't come with fan and only heatsink.
    and what's bios i have to used?
    please answer it? :)
  14. alex16 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    im sorry to ask this over here but im i saying something wrong on my thread on the main page for no one to hellp me. these few threads was post a few mins ago and yall jumped on them. im i doing something wrong if so let me know please.

    thanks
  15. chrispycrunch New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have the sapphire 9600p 128mb -
    My max core is 426.6/297.
    My max memory is 402/353.13 <--best performance increase

    Tests run successfully with 3dMark01 (no crash). I can also play doom3. It is sweet, and the game is smoother.

    Is the artifact scan in ati tool the best way to check for stability? I run the scan with the 402/353 setting and get artifacts after about 20 or 30 seconds.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page