1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question about power supplies

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by theseeg, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,056 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    you don't need any where near that much wattage for an I7-3820/single7970 set up. I good 650 watt PSU would be more than enough. Look in the 750-850 range if you think you'll go crossfireX in the future(read my system specs and see what I've got running).
    xenocide and theseeg say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah thats what I thought... My thought process was go big or go home lol

    Now if I want to crossfire in the future and I have 8x4gb DDR3 1600

    Do you still think 750-850?
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,056 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    32gb of RAM :wtf: Why so much if I may ask.


    I don't think that much RAM will have a major affect on the amount of power your system will use. But if it makes you feel any better, look around 850-900 watts then.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks, I think I will look at 850-900 PSUs

    I still want to stick with ANTEC, are they a should producer of PSUs or would you suggest another manufacturer?

    Also how many PCI and SATA connecters would you suggest to have?

    P.S. Sorry for the questions im a newb when it comes to building computers. Trying to learn the ropes
  6. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,056 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I dont mean to sound ignorant but what is the purpose of having 4 12volt rails instead of 1?
  8. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,056 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    I'm not exactly sure why some PSU have 4 rails. What I do know though is that with a single 12volt rail, it's easier to balance out you power usage as all power connections are connected to the same rail, meaning all connections have the full amperage/wattage the PSU has to offer available. But when using a four 12volt rail PSU, you need to make sure you have the right connectors connected to the right parts to evenly distribute the power usage among the four rails as not to over load a rail.

    Atleast, that's how I understood it when it was explained to me many years ago.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So if i am understanding this right each rail is like a single line of power and the more you have in parallel you need to make sure u pull the same amps from each one?
  10. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,056 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    something like that, but it's more like making sure you don't pull too much from a single rail. The loads don't have to be the same, just don't over-load one.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    hmmm so with all I am doing single rail is the way to go? But those only come with like 4 pci connectors, is that alright?
  12. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,551 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    920
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    The question is that of components, though that explanation may be confusing.

    A single 12 volt rail, providing 300 watts of power (just an example), requires high current components. These high current components require either high end parts, or more substantial components. In either case, the parts are more expensive.

    In contrast, 4 75 watt rails have the same net power available. The components require significantly less substantial parts, and thus are cheaper to purchase. As manufacturing requires minimizing costs, the lower end products use the 4 rail system.

    As you're getting a substantial PSU, the single rail is what you're likely to see. It's a good thing, believe it or not.
    theseeg says thanks.
  13. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Oh wow ha who would of guess less is best... So ill look for a 850-900 single rail psu.

    Any suggestions lilhasselhoffer?
  14. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,056 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    That's all you need to crossfire 7970 cards
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Word, thanks
  16. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,056 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I found this CORSAIR that looks pretty good

    ha forget this post I didnt realize it was 750W i am looking for a little higher
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2012
  18. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,056 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    the seasonic I suggested is less expensive, 100 more watts, and is actually a better PSU(seasonic makes corsair power supplies)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    How about that seasonic compared to this CORSAIR
  20. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,056 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    drop that seasonic. Newegg has it listed wrong. I looked it up on seasonic's website and it has two 12volt rails. I'd definently take that 910 watt PC Power and Cooling for $150 over the 850 watt Corsair for $175. I have an approximatly 5 year old(not exactly sure of it's age as I bought it used 3 years ago) PC Power and Cooling Turbo Cool 860 that is still running strong.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  22. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,551 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    920
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341044

    A little on the expensive side, but you've got:
    80+ Gold certification
    Fully modular design
    Active PFC
    140 mm fan


    For a much smaller price, but only 100 watts less: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817171053&nm_mc=EMC-IGNEFL060712A&cm_mmc=EMC-IGNEFL060712A-_-EMC-060712-Index-_-PowerSupplies-_-17171053-L012A ( with promo code even less, though it ends 6/13/12).

    - Less wattage
    - Lower peak efficiency (~5% to 7%)
    - Not modular
    + Way lower price



    You'll have to decide what you want, but newegg looks like slim pickings right now. I managed to snag a 1050 watt Thermaltake PSU for $185 a little over three weeks ago...
    theseeg says thanks.
  23. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Wow those OCZ PSUs are sick, I think you have changed my mind to OCZ PSU
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I don't know how OCZ's quality has changed but they have been know to be hit or miss and when they go it could take the rest of your PC with it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. theseeg

    theseeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    What is the difference between 80+ bronze,silver, and gold?

    What does the 80+ mean?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page