1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question about settings in BIOS Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4 BIOS F6

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by marcosamerio, Jun 24, 2012.

  1. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi all, finally i´m trying to configure the bios on my motherboard, but i have a few questions

    about a settings:

    1) i have this cpu intel 2500, no K version @ 3.33, i see an option called Multi step load line

    line, i research in google thiss and i found multiple opinion but i can understand what choose,

    this option in my motherboard have ten levels, this is where i go ¿wich level i should choose

    or i should leave disabled if i no oc the cpu?

    2) i fix a vcore to my cpu to 1.060 and enable all this settings

    C1E, C3\C6, CPU thermal monitor, CPU eist, BI-directional, but when go to windows desktop

    only drop the multiplier to x15 and not the vcore, ¿this happend because i fix the vcore?,

    and the other option i see is a DVID (i cant remember this is the exact name), my question

    is ¿can i fix a vcore to full load and another to idlle?

    3) this option i leave at deafult:

    PWN frequency AUTO, CPU over current AUTO, Internal CPU PLL DISABLED

    ¿change something or leave it like this?

    I hope can help me and sorry for my bad english

    Bye all M@rcos
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2012
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    1) leave the LLC alone if not overclocking and the CPU is stable
    2) If you leave to voltage for the CPU on auto, C-states and EIST need to be on auto or emabled.
    2b) the Dynamic Vcore is a fine tuning way to change Vcore, neither needs to be on anything other than auto.
    3) also no need to mess with this.

    If you are not overclocking the CPU, really all you need to worry about is the memory timings, divider, and maybe the VTT, but even there I doubt anything other than auto settings are needed.
     
  3. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi sneekypeet, first of all, thanks for reply me

    1) About my first question, i was searching in google and i found interesting tests that

    comment leaving enable LLC or in my case lvl 5 can help to avoid vcore spike and help

    to use less vcore that i need, but always doing OC the articles i read i dont now is is safe to use if i

    dont do OC.

    2) all this features C1E, C3\C6, CPU thermal monitor, CPU eist, BI-directional i have enabled,

    but i see if i fix a vcore like i did the dvid automatically turn off or disable, so i check

    and see to lower the vcore on iddle i must set the vcore to normal and change de dvid

    to a desired value.

    3) i dont touch this setting

    One question ¿what is VTT?, and about the memories i have this one:

    http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=355

    and i configure like g.skill says, i post it:

    CAS 9, TRCD 9, TRP 9, TRAS 27, TRC 36, TRDD 5, TWTR 6, TWR 12, TWTP 24, TWL 8,
    TRFC 130, TRTP 6, TFAW 50, CMD 2, IO latency 1, Round trip latency 37


    Bye and thanks again for reply me
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    LLC is to correct the Vdroop (loss of voltage) between what you set in bios and what actually shows in CPU-z when the proc is loaded. At stock levels, if its running, really its fine and no need to change it.

    to address #2, I would go into bios, reset optimized defaults on the right side, reset, back to bios to set the memory back up, then reset and boot to windows. Also windows power management can affect the voltage and multiplier of the processor if setting the defaults doesn't do the trick.

    If the ram is working don't mess with the VTT, the auto setting should adjust accordingly to your needs.
     
  5. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks again

    Bye
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page