1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

question about temperature

Discussion in 'ATITool' started by Fredou, Apr 11, 2006.

  1. Fredou New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi!

    (0.25 b14)

    i just bought a sapphire x1600 pro agp
    I didn't overclock it

    when i do a search for artifact the GPU temperature reach 110c after 10 minutes and the temperature of temps. chip is at 63c

    hrmm which one should i trust?

    110c is... too much no?
     
  2. POGE

    POGE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    In banjo's Goats.
    I dont really understand what temps are what in your post, but 110C is way to much, if the card's heatsink is almost unbearable to touch, its probably right though. Just take your finger and hold it on it for a while. If it burns, that means you have a problem. If it doesnt, it may be 63C. Where are you getting the different temp readings?
     
  3. Fredou New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    screenshot

    [​IMG]
     
  4. POGE

    POGE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    In banjo's Goats.
    Your core is burning up dude! The core is at 106C. :( Could burn out...
     
  5. Fredou New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i'm going to let it run all night... and see what will happen

    damn it's a new video card with no mod/overclock or anything else
     
  6. POGE

    POGE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    In banjo's Goats.
    If you let it run all night it may die. Be prepared to RMA it.
     
  7. Fredou New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I got my ati 9500 pro in case anything happen
     
  8. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    test it with your hand to see if it really is that hot or if the gpu's thermometer is screwy, if you find yourself recoiling because its too hot to touch, i say RMA. if it doesnt seem very hot, try another program to see. it is a possibility ati tool is misreading the temps. especially since it says the environment is only 60c.
     
  9. Fredou New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    after some hours (with case open)

    [​IMG]
     
  10. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    if you're not getting any artifacts, and if your hot-to-the-touch test doesnt hurt, then the ATITool sensor is messed up.
     
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,674 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,506
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Just make sure you go back inside the case to get the tip of your finger back as it will have probably melted and be slidin down card towards Northbridge chip lol
     
  12. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Why doesn't the line show on the radar thing?
     
  13. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    because the "radar" doesnt scale with temperature so when temp goes above 90c it goes above the "radar"
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page