1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question bout ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Delta6326, May 22, 2008.

  1. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    ok im geting a ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard and was wandering if mushkin 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 Model #: 996603 will work? with it and
    for my vidieo card can i use a non 2.0 PCI Express x16 even thow the MB is 2x PCI Express 2.0 x16 becuase im trying to decide if i should get

    1x MSI RX3870-T2D512E OC Radeon HD 3870 512MB 256-bit GDDR4 PCI Express 2.0 x16
    at www. newegg. com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127315
    or
    1x HIS Hightech H385QX512NP Radeon HD 3850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
    at www. newegg .com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161215
    or
    2x MSI RX2600XT Diamond Plus Radeon HD 2600XT 512MB 128-bit GDDR4 PCI Express x16
    will be geting the none open box
    at www. newegg .com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127303R
    or
    1x ZOTAC ZT-88TES3P-FCP GeForce 8800 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
    at www. newegg .com/product/product.aspx?item=N82E16814500006
    thank you for your help :)
     
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Yes a non PCI-E 2.0 card will work in a 2.0 slot, the technology is backwards compatible, I would think the Mushkin ram would work, if you are wondering about the ram due to listed supported memory modules from the ASUS site, from my experience, modules that are not listed work just fine, those are just tested setups by the motherboard makers.
     
    Delta6326 says thanks.
  3. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    ok cool thanks do you know what vidioe card i should get?
     
  4. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I would say get either the HD 3870 or 8800 GTS as they are the top cards in your list, I have one of those MSI 2600XT cards and if you want I can post screenies later of how it compares to my HD 3870 in benchmarks.
     
  5. Duxx Guest

    8800 GT or the 3870, the 8800gt is better performance but at a little higher price. Basically depends on how much money u want to spend.
     
  6. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    dark2099
    I would say get either the HD 3870 or 8800 GTS as they are the top cards in your list, I have one of those MSI 2600XT cards and if you want I can post screenies later of how it compares to my HD 3870 in benchmarks.



    ok sure that sounds good if you can
     
  7. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    ya im trying to stay under the $170 - $180 range
     
  8. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    o ya and does anyone know what the voltage is for the ram in the ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard?
     
  9. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Here is a screenshot of my 3DMark06 run with my 3870. The card is not overclocked the CPU is. Gonna swap out the cards and will post the new score in a bit.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    ok cool thanks
     
  11. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Here is the run with the 2600XT, as you can see it is alot worse. This is due to the architecture of the core being 65nm vs. 55nm as well as the technology used by it.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    o ok thanks
     
  13. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Definitely go for the 3870 or the 8800GT.
     
  14. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
  15. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    It is listed as supported on the ASUS site, although the BIOS might require an update before you can use it, depends on which BIOS it comes with.
     
  16. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    o ok and i may flash bios to the rampage
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,974 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    I would recommend getting 2 x 2gb sticks of ram over 4 x 1gb.
     
  18. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    why 4 x1 spreads everything out so less strean on ram
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,974 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    It stresses out the NB alot more. I'm currently running 4 x 1gig sticks and it's ridiculous. I'm actually buying 2 x 2 gb sticks to replace them right now.:)
     
  20. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    well i have to go to the races so bye for now
     
  21. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    If u r getting the maximus, then your best choice for a gpu is the HD3870 as it will give you the option of running crossfire, or crossfire quad with 2xHD3870x2, with an nvidia card u will only have a single card setup as intel chipsets dont support sli.
    good luck...
     
  22. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,255 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,804
    Location:
    US
    I have these with 0 issue's ( G.Skill )
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231145

    Mine run 1066 CLK5 or 800 CLK4 and that with them paired with 2GB of Axeram. With the latest BIOS for that mobo det ram issue's have gone.

    If your going ATI check the Sapphire as they will normally give you a life time warranty.

    You could wait about 2 months for the new 48xx range to come out too.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page