1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question for NH-D14 users

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by BarbaricSoul, Dec 2, 2013.

  1. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,248 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,873 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,503
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I've got one of those coolers and I had to do one of two things:

    1 get RAM with fins and raise one of the fans to accommodate the modules. Works ok, but looks crap. This is what I did initially, not realizing the problem until...

    2 get low profile RAM. Problem sorted.

    Also, it looks like it may snag on the little heatsinks on the mobo. You need to find out their height, as this could be a show stopper.
     
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  3. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    According to this, the cooler is compatible with your board but, according to this, if the RAM modules are higher then 44mm, they won't fit.
     
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  4. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    504 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Or consider buying the NOCTURA NH-C14 which is horizontal and don't use a fan underneath. Just use one on the top. You could do as I did, buy the ram you want and trim off the fins of the RAM that interfere with the cooler. This is such an easy fix and works.
    They are such awesome coolers you probably wont see much temp difference, if any.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2013
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  5. TeamChinaHero

    TeamChinaHero

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I use it~it's good air cooler
     
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  6. TeamChinaHero

    TeamChinaHero

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  7. TissueBox

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    80 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    The NH-D14 will not fit with that memory; I had to replace my Corsair Vengeance kit with low profile ones in order to fit it with a Maximus IV Extreme and the NH-D14.
     
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  8. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,992 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,963
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,676 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,185
    I had to take a Dremmel to mine. Took a fair bit from the bottom three fins, to be honest, I never saw any performance hit from it.

    As for it clearing, I was using Ripjaws then, and they had shorter spreaders than the Vengeance!
     
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  10. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    504 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    I have pictures if you want to see the trimmed ram in my system. So easy to do.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2013
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  11. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,248 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Would the RAM fit if I shifted them to the 2nd and 4th slots?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Probably not.

    In their compatibility page, they even mention corsair memory (near the top of the page):

     
  13. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,468 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    494
    i have had 4 units of RAM, all same specs but 2 with high profile fins clicked into the outside ram slots, and 2 standard (not "low profile" as some say) into the slots closest to the cooler.
    alternative is to mount cooler and up the fan 1 cm, not much, and only aesthetic problem.
    now I have 2 high profilers again but installed in the outer slots, the ripjaws x, these you can remove the fins if needed!

    BTW, heat is a non RAM issue unless you overclock them (quite useless imho). all these fins are more for the looks of the higher end ram. many brands have same spec memory with or without fins, so just buy standard models.... and never look back at galactic spaceship looking ram modules.
     
  14. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,382 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    616
    Location:
    GMT +2
    it will.
    [​IMG]
    at your mb fins will cover almost fully first slot but 2nd should be clear. though you will need fan setup different from pictured
     
  15. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,248 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Ok, that's twice someone has mentioned moving a fan on the heatsink a little. Something I don't understand though, my RAM slots are opposite my CPU socket from the direction I would want to have the fans turned. I mean, I'd want to fans turned to the back of the case near the IO panel so that they pull cool air coming into the case from the back 120mm intake fan. How is moving a fan on the heatsink going to help, when the fan is on the opposite side of the heatsink from my RAM slots.

    That's what I'm talking about ne6togadno, if I bought the heatsink, when I installed it, it would be spun 180' so the fans are on the other side of the heatsink


    I would really prefer not to have to replace my RAM. I've had zero issues with it so far, and I've already spent about $900 on my computer in the past 2 weeks between buying a SSD from Xazax and a new GTX 780ti. But I do need a new heatsink that can handle my OC'ed CPU's heat 24/7 full load crunching. I would also be open to other suggestions for a replacement heatsink.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,382 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    616
    Location:
    GMT +2
    uhm
    that is what i have meaning by different fan setup. and i dont think you will need to rotate heatsink it self. fan brackets come separated from sink and you attach em to the side you like so fans rotated at 180deg from photo isnt problem
     
  17. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,248 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Ok, well I'm going to order a heatsink today when I get home from work, approximately 8-9 hours from the time of this posting. Unless someone can suggest a heatsink with near NH-D14 performance levels and is either less expensive or it's installation is easier, I'll be ordering the NH-D14.

    One last question, someone suggest a good set of fans to replace those butt-ugly tan Noctua fans (why Noctua uses those colors is beyond me)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,468 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    494
    back intake fan? of course that is possible, but just not usual.
    in the scenario that you have an case rear intake fan, plus the CPU fans blowing in the same direction (towards front of case). Where does all the hot air go to? Holes in case top?

    But every case is a whole world of its own : )

    Edit: why not try Noctua C-14, I prefer it.
    Noctua fans are ugly but very good and silent.
    Ah, and one good silent fan may be enough for you, depending of level of overclocking. I am using since a year one fan on the noctua C-14. (1 noctua 15cm fan...)
     
  19. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,248 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    see the top right fan, I'll have that set as an exhaust fan, pulling air out of the upper half of the case, where the hot air rises to.

    [​IMG]

    I'll look at the C-14, thx
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,248 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Looked at the C-14, it's almost $50 more expensive then the D-14.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    That's very odd: it's 2.1€ more over here.

    I'm actually surprised @ the size of the difference in the price: it's more expensive over there then here and it's usually the other way around. Have you tried looking @ other e-stores?

    I'm using the C-12 myself but i have an APU system ...
     
  22. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,468 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    494
    Here in Spain it is 68 € (D14) and 70 € (C14).
    The D14 is a little older.
     
  23. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,382 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    616
    Location:
    GMT +2
  24. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,992 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,963
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,248 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page