1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question For Powerline Users

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by xaira, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,675 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,834
    Location:
    Oregon
    Here's my Wifi. Its a 450 mbps router Netgear WNDR4300 and a Linksys USB AE2500 adapter

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2013
  2. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,613 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    541
    How far are you from your router?
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,916 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,904
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The adapter is probably 40-50 feet away from the AP (in a straight line) however the signal is traveling through the floor. I also has an AE2500 but I'm using a Linksys E4200 as the wifi AP. The other end is samba share on my gateway server.

    I've had to crack the case off my AE2500 to keep it cool. Before it would regularly become unstable. Damn thing gets too hot.
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2013
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,675 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,834
    Location:
    Oregon
    Mine is 15 ft threw one wall
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,439 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    Powerline is pretty useful i have to say. I ordered AV200 nano's but i may end up just keeping them.
  6. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,613 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    541
    If you got em allready... Hows your throughput with file transfers? Also please provide some details on your electrical as well if you can.
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,439 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    yeah it arrived this morning but local post didnt deliver due to the box not being able to fit through the letter box (and they wonder why they are losing money and business) so I had to run out and pick it up.

    Errrr as far as electricals goes im not entirely too sure, but we had the entire house rewired a few years ago so the cables should be virtually new.

    gonna get some file transfer tests done and see how it is
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,439 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    [​IMG]

    This is what i got...

    test was run using both my PC & laptop with SSDs installed for that tasty bandwidth. laptop was down stairs in the living room while my PC sits in my room
    remixedcat says thanks.
  9. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,613 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    541
    That's about how my PLA2 did. Around 9.5MBytes/sec.

    Both PCs I did the test on did have SSDs as well
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,439 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    well, Having had trouble with TP-Link products in the past, I hope this one doesnt give me any trouble,
  11. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,613 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    541
    Also do some tests with other stuff plugged in and also plug it into a power strip and let us know if it works.. my Amped PLA2 worked thru a surge strip.
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,439 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    well Ive ran it on a surge protector with other stuff plugged in. I dont think there was much noticeable different but I will give the transfer tests a run later.
  13. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,613 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    541
    Ok..
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,973 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    try extension leads. doooo iiiit.
  15. xaira

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    208 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    you guys are getting some good speeds, the highest i get is 5.0 MB/s but the wiring in my house is ancient, average is 2.5 - 3.5 MB/s

    i got the tp-link av500 nano
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2013
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,696 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,858
    When I tested mine on surge protectors I had varying results. On the cheap surge protector I got from Wal-Mart, one of these POSes, it worked fine with no performance degradation. But then again that makes sense, considering when you open one of those up you'll see that calling them surge protectors is laughable since they are really just a power splitter with a fuse. The only protection they have is hoping the fuse pops when there is a surge...

    However, when I plugged it into my $100 rack-mount surge protector designed to protect server, something with a little more than just a fuse for protection, the speed dropped dramatically.
    remixedcat says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,613 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    541
    My review is up for the Amped PLA2. Needed some more testing on the pair...

    Still doing really good and still recommended.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page