1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question I have been wanting to know all my life

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by drade, Mar 6, 2006.

  1. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,652 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    How do I hook up my surround sound system to my pc? I can pack 800 watts, but instead i got head phones and i wanna rip on sound cause i listen to music on this all the time, but how do I?
     
  2. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    it might sound silly this but u run some plugs and wires from the sound outputs on the back of your PC.. and plug em into the back of your surround system amp..

    three cables come out of the back of my sound card and run to my 5 in 1 amp then plug into the amp.. not all amps have the input sockets..

    trog
     
  3. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,652 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Yea it doesnt have the little poppuing out circles it onbaord 5.1 so I ahve no clue how to do it.
     
  4. G.T

    G.T New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    573 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    The other side of Hell
    [​IMG]
     
  5. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
  6. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    By a 5.1 surround system from someone like Creative and follow the instructions that come with it.
     
  7. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    LMFAO!
     
  8. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    ok you have to have a optical out on ur mobo or sound card. thats the most frequently used meathod to connect to a reviever
     
  9. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Music isn't recorded in surround. I'd use stereo for music.
     
  10. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    That's true, but with my audigy I can easily set 6-speaker stereo + other effects... means I get sound from all directions so surround with music is still cool.
     
  11. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Actually, I think surround messes up the stereo effect. If you listen to decent music that is well mixed you would enjoy it more in stereo.

    For games that support surround or movies surround is better of course.
     
  12. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,652 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    hmm

    I have a tv tuner, it has all those 3 yellow red white thingys comin out (female), couldnt i plug my stuff in there and listen to music of there?
     
  13. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Probably not - those are either inputs or outputs most likely for the TV card itself not the rest of the PC's sound. You could give it a go.
     
  14. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    those red-white-yellow plugs? it'll work, but the quality is lower then with a direct feed coming out of the video card. You also won't get surround sound...look for an optical connector from your PC, it might require a sound card upgrade. But if you're talking about ordinary PC surround, and not HTPC surround...get a sound card that supports 5.1 or better, buy a surround system FOR PC, plug it in, and go.
     
  15. Gorre

    Gorre New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    103 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cinnamon - edible orgasms
    I use Coaxial out from my onboard sound.
    Working on getting an XFi atm though.
     
  16. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Those things are f**king expensive compared to other sound cards. Too expensive for what you're getting in my eyes. Let me know if you think it sounds good when you get it - it better! ;)
     
  17. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    "Working on getting an XFi atm though."

    total overkill.. if all u want is good quality 5 in 1 sounds.. the bottom of the line (cheap) creative card will give u that..

    trog

    ps.. but if having the "best" rocks yer boat go for it.. he he he
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page