1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question on my PSU and Pci- 6+2 pin connector

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by GraveFiller, Jul 11, 2014.

  1. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    Have a question on supplying my r9 280x Black edition video card and the power it needs.

    Have SeaSonic M12 SS-700W psu.

    Can i connect the 6+2 pin connector end to psu instead of connecting to the video card?
    All connectors i try to find that are 6pin (to psu) and 6+2 pin to graphics card i simply can't find.
    All i find are 8 pin with a 6+2 pin connector. I

    Would appreciate any help.


    Attatched image is what i would ideally like to get/find. Got image from google images, when i visited page, was only informational, couldn't buy it.
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 11, 2014
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,579
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Just use the 6+2 pin. I don't quite understand what your problem is, unless I am horribly misunderstanding what problem you are trying to explain.
     
  3. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,117 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Oregon
    6pin (to psu) and 6+2 pin to graphics card is fine.

    Your post is confusing. Read the instructions or call SeaSonic


    The SeaSonic M12 SS-700W psu comes with 4 X 6 pin PCI-E with one that is 6+2

    The card requires 1 x 6 pin and 1 x 8 pin (6+2)
     
    Law-II and RCoon say thanks.
  4. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    The problem is I need to find a 6 pin & 6+2 pin connector. I don't have it.
    All i can find online is the 8 pin & 6+2 pin connector.
    Would it be ok to plug the 6+2 pin part to power supply.?
    My psu pcie connection is 6 pin...not 8.

    thanks for your post
     
  5. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    Yes, i lost that cable, and i can't find the 6 pin & 8 pin combo......their all 8pin & 6+2
    Would it be ok to plug the 6+2 pin part to psu? I always see that part connecting to vid card.
     
  6. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,579
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Dude I still have no idea what you are talking about. First off, what power inputs does your VGA require? Second, what PCIE power cables does your PSU have for GPU's? The ones you have available to you.
     
  7. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,361 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    601
    Location:
    GMT +2
    no it isnt ok
    if you have lost your cable ask seasonic for replacement or where to buy replacement from. never connect to your psu cables that are not supplied from your psu manufacturer.
    my psu have 8 & 6+2 vga cards but on 8 pin side only 7 pins are used (in one of the pins are crimped 2 cables). on 6+2 side (the one that is plugged to vga card) every pin has own cable. do you think this cable will work with your psu.
    psu cables are standard only at the side where they are connected to pc components but not on the side that is connected to psu. for example cable from my cm psu cant be connected to my corsair psu.
     
    manofthem says thanks.
  8. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    My psu has the 6 pin pci-e connections.
    My video card needs 8 pin & 6 pin.
    Right now i only have 2 6 pin connectors going to old 8800 gtx video card.
    So i want to know if i can use 8 pin 6+2 pin, but instead of 6+2 going to video card like i see every site i go, can i connect that end to PSU.
    I only ask this, because i can't seem to find the correct 6 pin + 6+2 pin connector. ( uploaded pic of what i need, i just can't seem to find it).
    I do appreciate the help, sorry about it seeming confusing.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  9. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    Ahh, thanks for straightening that out for me.
    I did contact seasonic, and i got emailed this reply:

    There are a few solutions, you can purchase an adapter that goes from the HDD 4Pin and covert to PCIe.

    Or if you can provide your original purchase invoice and full mailing address, I will ask our service center if they have any PCie cables for you.

    I am not sure if we have any 8Pin PCIe for your PSU as this unit has been phased out long time ago.

    Hence my dillema.
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  10. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,361 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    601
    Location:
    GMT +2
    look for invoice and if you find ask em for replacement. this is best solution.
    if you cant find it get molex (4pin HDD) to pcie. this isnt best solution but it is legit enough
    3rd option is to look in e-bay for someone selling cables or dead psu with cables. a bit risky but still an option
    just dont use cable that is not designed for your psu
     
  11. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    Thanks for quick reply again rip war.
    will see if seasonic has that cable.
    If it's going to be a problem, may have to sell it for 200.00...never did anything but look at card.
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  12. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,361 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    601
    Location:
    GMT +2
    well i have 7970 paired with athlon 2 240 and it do it quite well in games where cpu load isnt big.
    it is a good card and it can be good start for more up to date pc then check up the Rig.
     
  13. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,117 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Oregon
    Just call SeaSonic they will send you a cable. Probably for free
     
  14. GraveFiller

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    hollywood, fla.
    Thank you...they sent me link for the cable....only $5 bucks!
    almost as good as free.

    I asked him if my 700w psu would be enough, he suggested 750W.
    Guess i'll take my chances. Only thing is that video card i have XFX black edition is a bit oc'd, so i may be pushing it.
     
  15. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,361 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    601
    Location:
    GMT +2
    for 280x even oc-ed 550W is enough.
    dont waste your money just get the cable.
     
  16. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Your videocard should already included the 8 pin pci-e power adapter so you can make two 6-pin pci-e power cable into one 8-pin pci-e power cable which you need for connecting the R9 280x. If such adapter is included, then use it. You can save up that 5 bucks for something else.

    Look for the 8-pin power adapter as shown in the picture:

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page