1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question on surround sound

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by satindemon4u, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    871 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Ok, i figured this is the best place to post this since everyone on this forum is nice, polite, and very wise. This question has to do with a Television, not a computer. ;)

    My parents bought a 5.1 surround sound speaker system and they hooked it up and it includes a DVD player so they are easily able to watch movies with 5.1. However, when watching TV it dosnt work. As of right now there is no cord connecting the receiver and the 5.1 audio box. So, my question i suppose is what cables are needed to connect these two? The audio box does NOT have coaxial. However does have HDMI amongst a few others.

    I know this isn't PC related but this forum site beats the hell out of Yahoo Answers. ha! Thanks guys!
     
  2. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    I shall answer this in a nice, polite and very wise matter.

    First, how is everything hooked up to each other? Am I right in guessing theres a TV, a receiver a DVD player in this system?

    If so, the optimum would be to hook the DVD player to the receiver. But: The speakers would have to be hooked to the receiver, then.

    Now, if you have a DVD player like I had once, there are coax. inputs on the back. Those red and white connectors. You can then connect the TV via those inputs to the DVD player.

    However you'd have to change the mode on the DVD player every time, and its not guaranteed everything works as it should. It didn't in my case but I had a cheap worthless DVD player.

    But yeah the best solution would be to hook everything to the receiver, provided you have one and its a 5.1 receiver.
     
  3. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Need moar info.

    The receiver should be your 5.1 audio box; unless something has gone terribly wrong, like the DVD player is doubling as a receiver.:twitch:

    Any chance you can give us model numbers or pics of the equipment's naughty bits [ports]?

    Perhaps receiver is not what you mean?

    I'm singlehandedly bringing the level of professionalism down a notch on TPU. :D
     
  4. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,277 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm guessing that it's a home theater in a box solution? Can you tell us the model of it?

    If it's an HTIB then chances are very likely that it doesn't have any external inputs on it simply because companies don't like to do it (why though I'll never know).

    Edit: yes what SF said about a picture especially of the ports would be awesome
     
  5. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    913 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    nebraska
    You should be a able to run an rca or other audio out ftom the tv to the receiver. I assume its the tv audio your worried about, not the dvd player.

    So..Cable in to TV---> audio out from tv to receiver----> receiver runs speakers..
     
  6. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    871 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63

    Ok so here is how it is right now.

    There is the TV. There is the Charter Cable box that is hooked into the tv, obviously. Then there is the sound system which has a BUILT IN DVD player with it. The surround system is in someway right now is not hooked into the TV at all. That explains why we can watch DVD's and the speakers will work, and why we cannot watch tv.

    So i know why it wont work, which is because there is no cord connecting the sound system to the tv or if needed, the Charter Cable box. So the question is, what cords do i need, and do i plug them from the sound system into the TV, or into the Charter Cable box?

    Hope that clarifies. :/

    Thanks again guys.
     
  7. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Hi.

    Please elaborate on "others" :)
    Or just tell us what model/make it is.
    Also, tell us what soft of TV is there.

    Depending on what inputs the box has, there may be couple of solutions.

    Typically, you'd get audio from TV via coax (RCA) or SCART and connect it to coax/SCART on the audio box.
    Depending on your TV type, you may have digital audio output available (optical/coax).

    If you audio box contains a A/V multiplexer, you'd (typically) then connect your Charter Cable box to the audio/multiplexer box instead of TV.

    Cheers,
     
  8. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,576 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    TV must have audio OUT or Euroconnecter OUT converter, or the receiver must have a Audio OUT and lead the sound to your 5.1 system... Nothing mysterious if you consider that

    In two words: connect from "sources" to "speakers" over "5.1. amplifier/decoder/DVD player"
     
  9. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    871 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    The TV is a 47 inch lg 1080p full HD LG. (47lc7df)

    The sound system is a Network Blue Ray Disk Home Theater System (LHB335)
     
  10. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Pics (or it didn't happen) of the tube:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Pics of the NBRDHTS (Network Blue Ray Disk Home Theater System) :D :D
    [​IMG]

    My assessment:
    Use the RCA (composite) white/red audio outputs on the TV, or use the optical audio output on the TV, and connect it to the NBRDHTS :D :D.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2011
  11. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
  12. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    871 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    To you both, i give my thanks. Thanks a ton for everything guys.
     
  13. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    913 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    nebraska
    Thats what i said! Just wit out dem purty picters!! lmao
     
  14. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    871 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Alright my step mother would like to know whether she can simply use an hdmi cord? Since both the player(sound system) and the tv have an hdmi port?
     
  15. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    quick answer.. NO the TV does not have an HDMI out.
     
  16. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,277 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    More technical answer which is just fun to know is that the TV would have to have an hdmi v1.4 output which supports ARC (Audio return channel) and the receiver would have to likewise have an ARC input HDMI port.

    Yay for fun info! :)
     
  17. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    871 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Thanks guys. Will let her know that. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page