1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question regarding work units

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by stinger608, Jul 10, 2013.

  1. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,241 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,683
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Okay, before the GPU work units where in existence I was running 8 work units at a time with the 3770K chip. Now since the GPU work has stopped I am only getting 7 work units running at a time. Now I would of course figure it was a setting missed or something of the sorts, however I recently got an i3 2100 up and running and it is only doing 3 work units at a time even though the chip has 4 threads.

    Is it the BOINC manager? I always used the WCG manager before doing the GPU units.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,909 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,388
    No, I have 7.0.64 on my main rig and I'm getting 12 WU's (one per thread). Did you have some kind of config file that left a core for GPU WU's or something?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,805 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    i think that last thread was used with gpu work.

    Try getting new jobs from the server.
     
  4. yotano211

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    105 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    It should be 1 WU per thread on a intel cpu.
     
  5. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,241 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,683
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I originally did have a config file but after the GPU work units were done I deleted that file. I i3 2100 system I never messed with any config files.

    Not sure what is going on. :confused:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,909 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,388
    disconnect and reconnect from project?
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,241 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,683
    Location:
    Wyoming
    forgot to mention that I have tried that.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,791 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,081
    Set "computing preferences" in your BOINC Manager to 100% of the processors and 100% on CPU time (i.e. 100% on both setting). If the first setting is below 100% it will not use all of the threads ;)

    What version of the BOINC Manager are you using?
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,241 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,683
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :toast: Thanks bro!

    I think I am using 7.0.46 or something like that. It is the newest one I think.

    EDIT: That did it!!!!!!! Thanks brother Bill! :respect::respect::respect:
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2013
    Norton and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page