1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by u2konline, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I was having a discussion over at OC, about a 250 Watts PSU running a 9800gt , and 4670.
    I want to buy these 2 cards for this system very soon:

    BFG 9800GT / Note it does not need a power connector
    http://www.bfgtech.com/bfgr981024gtge.aspx

    The PSU requirement says 350, but i am guessing because it does not require a connector, it may only draw 40-50.

    And i plan to buy this:

    4670
    http://graphics.visiontek.com/video/4000/4670.html
    400 Watt or greater power supply, but from what it says over at gpureview it says 59w.

    All i have in my rig is well soon a sound card for the PCI slot, and i only have on Internal HD
    and i have a 500GB external hook up to the back of my tower.

    Also keep in mind: When i was using my Pentium III, everyone said the 8400GS or 2400HD won't work because 90watts can't handle it, but both cards ran just fine in it. I also used a 8500GT in that pentium III i had and it work just fine with 90watts. The 2400HD requires 270, but only draws 25w, while the 8400gs requires 300-350 and only draws around 40.
    So if a 90watts PSU can handle those cards, why can't a 250 watts work with the 4670 or a 9800GT low power card?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    If the PSU has quality componentry inside and can handle the amperage I think it will work fine.
     
  3. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Spend that money on a Corsair 400W. Save the remainder.
     
  4. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Generally when companies are making suggested power estimates, they're assuming you have a high end system which uses a fair bit of power. That leaves plenty of headroom for those with an average or low power system, meaning you can probably safely run a higher power graphics card with a less powerful PSU.
    But don't go skimping on the PSU either, because OEM PSUs are almost always crap. The PSU I'm currently using is from an OEM case, and its crap; I could probably replace it with a 350 watt high quality PSU and it would work better!

    So yes, the graphics cards will run fine with less than recommended power supplies, but you want to make sure the PSU is good quality and wont die on you, otherwise you'll be buying another computer. Since you have a prebuilt, I'm certain that the PSU in it would not be powerful enough. Buy a quality 300 watt or higher, and your rig will be fine.

    Also, PSUs have a certain power usage band where they operate most efficiantly; at around 40-60% load, a PSU runs at its most efficient (IIRC). Running a PSU near full load is bad for it, makes it less efficient. So if your comp comes near to drawing full power from your PSU (which you can check with a wall socket wattage meter thingo) then you should definately consider getting a new one.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2009
  5. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    576 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Problem is....this most likely isnt a quality PSU since its only rated for 250watts and is made for emachines :(

    To OP: Even if it works, seriously consider replacing that PSU.
     
  6. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    ??????????????

    Well if i do buy those cards, i am really considering changing my PSU, but i will have to take it to best buy and ask them to put one in, because:

    Picture of the PSU/my rig here:

    Looks really impossible to remove. I open up my tower and i don't see where i can remove it haha. Also these are my choices for a new PSU:

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage...#0##1c~~ncabcat0507009##0##a&pagetype=listing

    Thanks for the information. :) Also, if a video cards stays cool all the time, is that a good sign that its working well in a computer with a certain amount of PSU power?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. roque66

    roque66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    normally they put lower specifications to lower computer owners buy....advertising....then the people buy and the computer just make caboom.... :D
     
  8. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,992
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I would never, ever try to run a decent card with a shitty low wattage OEM PSU. You take significant risks doing this, that are not limited to the card itself.
     
  9. roque66

    roque66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i had with this computer one psu xilence 500w....after i put the second hd3850 1 year ago, i said to the shop guy that probably will not be enough...he said that's ok...500w are fine for that...just playing grid max settings and the psu just burned....take it back in warrantee and give me another equal...i repeated what i said before...installed, played grid again and 10 minutes of playing caboom with light and everything :D....
    now , very happy with my corsair..... buyed online.... in other shop....they give me a detonator (halfmman 500W) and i put in sempron... :D
     
  10. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    You should be able to remove the screws around the back, and then slide it out; there may be some clips you have to depress or unclip as well, but tbh it shouldn't be too hard.

    That has nothing to do with it. Heat output has to do with the amount of power the card converts to heat, which is related to clock speeds and volts; theoretically, it would be cooler if there wasn't enough power! (Doubt that actually happens though).

    Underpowered components don't usually die instantly, they degrade over time, same as overvolted components (overclocked CPUs for example). So a comp may seem stable at first, but if its running near the power supply's limits then it will become unstable and eventually fail.

    Buy a new PSU from Corsair or Antec (or any other suggested brand), you'll be saving yourself a lot of trouble.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page