1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Questions about E7200 and nvidia 780i mobo

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by maxo, Sep 4, 2008.

  1. maxo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys i have the E7200 CPu with the EVGA nforce 780i SLI

    Here are my specs
    1000 watt galaxy DX X power supply
    E7200 CPU
    780i mobo
    4gigs 667 5300 Crucial ram
    BFG GTX 260 video card

    Right now i have my system overclocked to 3.2GHZ from 2.53GHZ with stock cooling, do any of you know what that max safe voltage for the E7200 CPU is? because i would like to overclock higher if possible. Right now my cpu core voltage is at 1.39375.

    any usfull Overclocking tips would be appreciated
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,096 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,996
    it's my understanding that you don't want more than 1.4 volts going through the wolfdales for extended periods of time. If you want to try to get alittle more out of your system, I believe that 5300 ram is holding you back. Get a set of ddr2 1066 ram, that should allow you to push your CPU alittle farther. From my experience, 3.8 is the sweet spot performance wise with the wolfdales(3.8 is where my bench scores stop yeilding major increases with OC'ing farther. Going from stock 3 gig to 3.8, my score increases from 15k to well over 18k,over a 3000 point increase, but OC'ing from 3.8 to 4.25 I only go from 18k to just under 20k, alittle over a 1000 point increase.)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. maxo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so BarbaricSoul do you think the setup i have now would be safe? CPU at 1.39v. At idle Real Temp reads 43 degrees Celsius. So far everthing seems stable , i benchmarked, 3dmark06 gave me a score of 14342.
  4. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    dude i wudnt use that voltage for 24/7

    http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLAVN
    VID Voltage Range: 0.85V – 1.3625V


    IMO, you shudnt be at that voltage for 2 reasons:

    1. its outside of the rating intel gives it, i personally use that as the upper limit.
    2. even to get the cpu to 3.2ghz you dont need 1.39v .. thats ridiculous!! check out the e7200 overclocking thread for comparisons ... even myself, ive OC'd to 3.6gig and i only needed 1.2v ,
  5. maxo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    but in my system i get the blue screen of death if i dont set my voltage high enough , as of right now at 3.4GHZ i need to set my voltage at 1.456 volts to get stablity, if i dont she crashes on me , i dont know what other settings to compisate for the high voltage.
  6. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    try increasing the voltage to your northbridge by 0.1 or 0.2v, i benched at 4.2ghz this morning at 1.475v ... so either your chip is really poor at oc'ing and needs alot of power (unlikely with an e7200) or it looks like something aint right with ur bios settings. im not sure what u get in your bios but my settings are:

    pcie: 100mhz
    multiplier: 9.5
    fsb: 445
    memory : 5.6 @ 534mhz, 5-5-5-15

    fsb voltage: +0.2
    northbridge voltage: +0.2
    cpu voltage: 1.475v


    perhaps you should start again with your oc'ing, first thing to do is switch off energy saving features such as EIST and C1E in bios. first we run 1.1 with your ram (cos ur ram letting you down, you need ddr2-800) so change your settings to

    pcie: 100mhz
    multiplier: 9.5
    fsb: 333
    memory : 1.1 @ 333mhz, 5-5-5-15

    fsb voltage: +0.1
    northbridge voltage: +0.1
    cpu voltage: 1.2v


    that gives u 3.16ghz , you should defintely be able to boot up with 1.2vcore..let us know what happens
  7. maxo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    not much change i did up the voltage on the SPP and some other voltages but i still need 1.48750v for a stable OC at 3.4GHZ anything under that voltage i get instabilities, i disables all power saving features

    settings are :

    9.5x
    fsb at 1523
    900mhz RAM
    CPU core 1.48750v
    SPP 1.3v
    MCP 1.9

    not sure what else i can do to lower that voltage

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page