1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Questions about H60 installation!!!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by manofthem, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Reset the WB and put another fan on the rad that should help .
  2. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,667 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,523
    CPU fan is connected to the rad fan, per Corsair instructions. The pump is connected to the slot by the RAM; Corsair says Any 3 pin fan header on motherboard.

    Yeah my setup works pretty well so far, nice temps. Freebie needs to turn his fan around looks like
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I do not recall asking for that but thanks it sure does work great ! My temps do not go above 60c ! That is with my room at 80+ F !
  4. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,667 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,523
    Dang, 80F in your room? I'm in FL and I keep my AC low because I can't stand the heat. But that's impressive with your system.
    Edit, realize you're in New Mexico. Never been there, but I hear it's warm ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Very warm today 88f in my room now . Just put the front AC unit on .
  6. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Kind of embarrassed to show my face after what I have found out this evening...

    So I followed all advice I was given and have now reseated my cooler and turned the fan around.

    First the good news... My temperatures now look like this

    [​IMG]

    Thats after 30 mins with prime 95.

    Ridiculous improvement.

    ___

    So here's the embarrassing parts...

    Removed the cooler completely, first time i've done this since installing it (have loosened and re tightened couple of times before) and found this...


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    So good news, my processor can run passively cool, without a heatsink at 50c lol not great to find out.

    The reason why I had to contact...

    The one side of the heatsink sitting on edge of these.

    [​IMG]

    Which i'm sure isn't great for them but good news is everything still works.

    To get it to actually fit ended up swivelling it around so instead of it being fitted the way the instructions say its now fitted like this, so that its got a slight gap before the components pictured above.


    [​IMG]


    So now stable and cool.

    _______

    Just wanna say a big thanks to you all for your advice, you've probably saved me from frying my processor.

    Was a little embarrassed to post outcome after my stupid mistake, but wanted to share story.
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  7. Akumos

    Akumos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Birmingham, England...
    You'll never forget it though! Nice to hear a good outcome!
    freebie says thanks.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    Keep your eye on those capacitors now. Looks like you damaged them and they can go POP!
    freebie says thanks.
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Agreed, the right one in the picture looks to be the worst. I'd check them once every week or so to make sure none of them are bulging. Glad to hear you got it all sorted out!
    freebie says thanks.
  10. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    happy you fixed one problem, not so happy you may have created another :eek:

    glad you found the issue though, a lesson for everyone, thats why you come here :D
    freebie says thanks.
  11. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    OH man I hope them Cap's don't go POP ! But glad to hear you have it all fixed .
    Last edited: May 5, 2011
    freebie says thanks.
  12. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    I hoping my caps don't go pop too, think i'd cry after all the stress lol
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    The cap on the right is the one you're going to want to watch. It looks pretty bad.
    freebie says thanks.
  14. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,497 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    930
    Would covering the top of the cap in a tough epoxy help? This isn't the first time I've seen cap clearance issues with the H60. That plus the inconsistent screw size is pretty disappointing. They have some issues they need to sort out with coolit.
  15. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I am not sure I would do that . What I would do is contact Corsair and tell them that I followed the instructions and this is what happened ! I would be putting them one the spot for this . maybe they can get a new MB for you . If this has been happening a lot then I see this as a corsair fitting the way it is meant to issue .
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    CoolIt doesn't make these, Asetek does. CoolIt and Aestek are no longer partners from what I know.
  17. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    I've emailed corsair to see what they say, i'm not expecting anything though really, be nice outcome if they offered me a board. Although took me ages to find a socket 775 ddr2 with raid mobo.
  18. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I wish you all the luck . I hope they will get you a new MB :toast: .
    Last edited: May 8, 2011
  19. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rochester area
    ouch you muderifed them caps
    lucky there not to terrible to replace if they do blow
    solid caps can take a lot of physical abuse compared to electrolytic caps
    keep a eye out for leakage if it starts leaking replace it
    replacing a cap is not as hard as it sounds if you have a good iron a can find a suteable replacement cap
    ALWAYS use same voltage with the same or HIGHER farad rating
    tbh this is not really crosshairs problem its the fault of bad board layout and user error(always check for clearance before torquing things down
    cheers
  20. plugmein New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Might as well go in and try to consolidated the loose ends so you don't have to keep checking back wouldn't you say? If you are like me and running a very sensitive email marketing campaign you would probably want to know your system is safe and secure at all times no? I would love to hear any feedback, but I feel pretty strongly about this.
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  21. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Huh? Consolidate the loose ends? You can't fix a busted cap without replacing it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page