1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Questions about overclocking an HD3870.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Blazer1, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. Blazer1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have been fighting a problem with a newly installed Sapphire HD3870. I can not get it stable! I have been overclocking with ATI CCC 8.12, should I try Riva Tuner? Would that make any difference in how stabile the overclock was? The card goes into VPU recovery for no reason, even while on the internet. I have tried reinstalling drivers, running Drive Sweeper, cleaning my registry with CCleaner, nothing has worked.

    I set the gpu at 860 (default 776) and the memory at 1151 (default 1126) and ran 3DMark06 for a score of 11477, my best yet. At the end of running the benchmark my gpu temp was 51c. If I try to game at this setting it goes into recovery mode but the temps are less than 50c., why is it not stabile???

    My system;
    E6400@2.6GHz
    2GB G-Skill 800MHz ram
    HD 3870
     
  2. Maelstrom

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    534 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    VA/PA
    Yeah I would try riva tuner, I haven't had much luck overclocking using CCC. You could also try lowering clocks a bit and see if they work
     
  3. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    What;s your memory timings? is it 4-4-4-12 or 5-5-5-15?
     
  4. Maelstrom

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    534 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    VA/PA
    whats that have to do with overclocking gfx card??
     
  5. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    I’ve seen some people loosened there timings and able to get there gpu oc’s stable. Kinda weird but worth a shot.
     
  6. Blazer1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have no idea on my memory timing, the Bios is locked and no utilities will report it.

    Even if I lower my clocks to default it is not stable. I just decided if I am going to have to live with a unstable graphics card I will overclock it.

    For a little more of the story, I have a locked bios so I have to use Clockgen to overclock my cpu. I raised my fsb from 266 to 324 to take my E6400 from 2.13GHz to 2.60GHz. I can go as high as 2.85GHz by raising only my fsb but my computer really does not like it, I get the BSOD when the cpu is stressed. Could I be effecting my graphics card by raising my fsb?
     
  7. Maelstrom

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    534 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    VA/PA
    Ah interesting, never knew :)
     
    spearman914 says thanks.
  8. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Might as well try a bios flash, if doesn’t work this narrows down to one choice, RMA.
     
  9. Hitman

    Hitman

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Hello
    I have the ATI 3870
    And at first it would not overclock at all using any app it was locked up tite as they say.
    But there is a thred here that will help you on how to flash and volt mod this card.
    It helped me, I did not do the volt mod as I am not comfortable with that but I did do a bios flash to unlock it and that worked great.
    But it won't go above 840 core 1165 memory as anything above that it becomes unstable and I get the recovery thing but at the above OC it works great.
    My bench marks are about the same as yours
    Here is the link to the thread above
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=48544
    Random is a cool dude he helped me.

    Hitman
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page