1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Questions regarding my new future system

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Ozpa, Apr 7, 2009.

  1. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Hi guys, glad to join these forums.

    So I'm going to build a better system for myself and I need some advice and ideas from you gurus. Here's my current system (I only mention the components I will be buying/upgrading):

    AMD X2 5600+
    ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe
    2x2GB Kingston HyperX DDR2-800
    ASUS EAH4850 (bought that a week ago as my Radeon X1950 XT was overheating BADLY)
    Gigabyte 180 case ( http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Gigabyte/Triton_180 )


    I'm thinking of getting the following:
    AMD Phenom II X3 720
    Motherboard - no idea, see questions
    2x2GB RAM - got questions too
    Corsair TX 650W
    Case - ?


    I'm aiming for a mid-range value gaming PC with a little bit of overlocking. Ok here are my questions:
    1) What RAM should I get? Is there any difference between DDR2 1066 and DDR3 1066? How about DDR3 1066 and DDR3 1333(is the difference worth the $)? (please take that CPU into account)
    2) What motherboard should I get? (I don't need any fancy features, just stability and low price)
    3) I'm currenly using that Gigabyte Triton 180 case and it has 2 12cm fans (rear and front) which is decent airflow I guess. In practice, how much lower would the CPU/GPU temps be in an average quality case with 3-4 fans? I'm not sure if I want a louder case or higher CPU/GPU temps.

    Thanks in advance guys.
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    hi and welcome to tpu. for motherboard if u want to keep ur system for a while go ddr3 but if u want to upgrade in short time go ddr2 and then got a new mobo. for the ram go with gskill pi's or corsair. ocz would work very good as well.

    for a good mobo, checki this or this if u got money to spare. in case u go with ddr2, get the asus 790gx.
  3. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Well I'm thinking about upgrading again in about 1,5-2 years (so my old system is still worth selling lol). I'm thinking about going DDR2-1066 or DDR3-1375, but the latter is 30% more expensive. I guess my motherboard selection depends on whether the DDR3-1375 RAM are worth spending extra on.
    Oh and as for RAM brand I will be going with Kingston HyperX for the third system - cheap, low latancy kits, stable so far for me.
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2009
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    You wont be able to go with DDR3 with that 720BE. Just as a heads up ... :)

    So a nice 790GX (I like the DFI M2RS). As far as RAM goes, Gskill PI Black.
  5. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Why not?
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    It has a DDR2 memory controller. In basics its not AM3 ready.

    EDIT:

    Yah know what. I stand corrected. I just quickly glanced at the PR # of the cpu not realizing 710's and 720's are in fact AM3 ready.

    Sorry for misleading you ...
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2009
  7. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Actualy the 720BE is in fact DDR3 and AM3.

    [​IMG]
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  8. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Hehe I rushed to google "720 DDR3" ;)

    Is there a certain speed of DDR3 RAM that "works" with 720 most optimal? Or the higher you buy the faster it is?
  9. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Most boards right now will let you do 1333/1600 natively. You can get 2x2gig DDR3 1600 kits rather cheaply on Newegg.
    Ozpa says thanks.
  10. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Ok I feel like a spammer now. I did some googling and found out that DDR3 RAM must be 1333Mhz and above to actually compete with low latency DDR2-1066 RAM.

    So I'll be getting a 2x2GB DDR2-1066Mhz RAM kit and a DDR2 motherboard. This will do me solid for a year or two until DDR3 will actually make sense.


    Update
    After some digging, I picked out GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P.
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2009
  11. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Ok cool, I've assembled my new PC, working cool and fast ^^

    AMD Phenom2 X3 720 (+stock cooler)
    GA-MA790X-UD4
    Corsair Dominator (2x2GB) DDR2-1066 5-5-5-15
    Corsair HX 520W
    Antec Twelve Hundred
    Asus 4870 DK 512MB

    It's not top components since I wanted good performance/price ratio, but I put in a good PSU/case since these will serve me forever. I'm running all the 6 case fans on lowest RPMs and my CPU doesn't go above 40c(~80% load) and GPU not over 52c. I'm loving it.

    I'll post some photos of my system and how I managed the cables inside and stuff whenever I get the camera.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page