1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Quick format or normal format?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by technicks, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Hi there.

    I'm going to format and install fresh Windows. What is the best way to format btw.
    I have done it many times always quick format. But i want to know what is better.

    Thanks
  2. peach1971

    peach1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Germany
    Normal format additionally scans for bad sectors.

    I run Active@KillDisk before formatting my own C: partition.
    But that´s just a personal habit. :)
  3. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    There is a slight risk of having problems with a quick format, so I personally prefer to do a normal format. That way it ensures I don't have disk-related problems on a fresh install.
  4. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,340 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    278
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    A full format does three things:
    Erases all data
    Sets up a system for recording what is stored where on the disk
    Checks the disk for physical errors.

    A quick format skips the check for errors, so it is a much faster process.
    You can quick format a disk only if it was already formatted.
    When you suspect there may be a problem with a disk, you will have to do a full format to find out.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I always Quick format first. But, if I have a new drive, a drive formatted in something other than NTFS or FAT32, or otherwise encounter a problem with quick format, I do the normal format.
  6. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I will try a normal format this time. Thanks.:toast:
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,788 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,490
    on modern drives there is no point in running regular format for initial installation

    ide hdds automatically detect bad sectors and relocate the sectors to a spare sectors area
  8. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    That saves me a lot of time. Thanks W1zzard. :toast:
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    i always quick format,you know how long it takes to normal format a 250gb drive? lol
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I have a 500GB drive in my iMac, to format 250GB for boot camp and Windows took around 45min. I tried quick format first, but it didn't work. So, yes, I feel your pain. lol
  11. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,628 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    Actually: A quick format only gets rid of the allocation table, so the data is still on the drive, but not accessible any longer. So windows thinks the drive is empty and fills the allocation table with new data pointing to new sectors with new data. Thus overwriting the old sectors.

    cheers
    DS
  12. TLH

    TLH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Full format only does that aswell afaik plus the checks discussed earlier,the checks being what takes the long time to complete.The only way to totally get rid of the info is to zero it.
  13. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    The only way to get rid of data is to burn it, then smash it up as much as you can (even then some of it could probably still be recovered with enough effort). But in this case there isn't sensitive data, so if W1zz says bad sectors aren't a problem a quick format should be sufficient. :D
  14. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,628 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    *ehehe* *phew* so I was not completely off with my statement LOL wasn't completely sure bout that...

    cheers
    DS
  15. TLH

    TLH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Darik's Boot'n'Nuke has a high level sweep (takes ages mind) that is secure enough to stop even the CIA recovering the data.

    Smashing it up seems rather terminal if you want to use it again.That wasn't my point though.All I was trying to say was full format isn't any better than quick,it just has a few checks thrown in.
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Read my above post. Normal format apparently has it's uses. Quick format just would not work at all when I used Boot Camp to install Windows on my iMac. Normal format fixed it, haven't tried quick format since the install however. I'll try it again when I decide to redo the windows install. My best guess is that it has something to do with going from the HFS+ file system to NTFS.
  17. TLH

    TLH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Now that you're in NTFS you'll probably find a quick format will work fine,I could be wrong though.
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That's at least what I'm hoping for. I'm probably gonna have to reinstall it already(I've only had it for a week). I built a custom version of XP using nLite, with a ton of stuff removed. Unfortunately, I seemed to have removed a service necessary for streaming content to my 360. lol. Oh well, back to the drawing board I guess. lol
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    if you hae the disk that came with you HDD it has the quick format stuff on it and like darksaber said it only rewrites thee allocation table which doesnt erase your data so its not very secure but take 10sec vs 1hr

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page