1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

quick hardmod question

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by caleb, Jun 11, 2005.

  1. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,546 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Can i somehow mod my original bios to enable the 8 pipes on 9800se ?
    I have just done the hardmod and with other bioses i get some bugz.
    Didnt have any trouble with softmod.
    Will changing device ID solve it ?
     
  2. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    maby if u take one of the bioses that u are trying to mod to and lower the clocks it might help?
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2005
  3. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    You can't mod the origional bios to unlock the pipes, but you can flash a new one. If the softmod worked fine, then the card is 8-pipe flashworthy. Just make sure the bios you use matches the memory type (hynix or samsung) and the GPU type (R350,R360).
    Please read the flash FAQ's before proceeding.
     
  4. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,546 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    owkey ive done the flash and it seems to be working.
    Some stuff i noticed after the flash :
    The OC of GPU dropped by ~40mhz i get artefacts sooner then before on softmod+oc.
    The mem OC is better by around 25-30Mhz then it was on softmod+oc.

    The graphic bugz i had with modded drivers are now gone.
    I mentioned them in some other post (cossacks2, Menofvalor, bf2 demo)
    I had those chessboards on stuff dunno why. After unsoftmodding and installing the normal cats it went back to normal.
    The Hard mod solved that problem i use standard cats and there are no visible bugz.

    I have a PowerColor 9800se with samsung 3.3 mems.
    Standard clocks are 380 and 300.
    I used the PowerColor 9800PRO with 2.8ns mem bios.
    Before i did that i used that Rabit or w/e its called to compare the timings.
    I flashed the card and started RvS to check it out and i saw artefacts i say WTF its fucked. Then i changed the timings / memory settings in the PRO bios to the ones i had in my backup/original card bios that gave messed up screen in windows so i didnt even try the games. That was the moment i noticed i got ati tray tools running that OCs automaticly when i go to RvS so i gave the PRO/not modded bios another shot and with lower clocks it worked flawlessly ufff.

    My OC on softmod | original SE bios 3.3: ~450Mhz on Core and ~330Mhz on mems
    My OC on Hardmod| PC 9800PRO bios 2.8ns ~398Mhz on Core and ~360Mhz on mems

    That would prove the theory that BIOS has an effect on the cards oc.
    Even tho the mem settings in each bios files are pretty much the same when u look them up in Rabit.
     
  5. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    ^are u shure that the soft mod worked? cause if it wasnt it would explain the oc dif see cards with less pipes oc more and cards with more pipes oc less
     
  6. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,546 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    yeah man i got this 9800se for like 7 months now.
    I play a LOT of Raven Shield.
    Ive tested the card in 3dmarks after the mod when i 1st got it and im sure it works flawlessly.
    I had a sapphire before that had a little bit of dots in shadows in RvS but this Powercolor works really god on the mod.
     
  7. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    so u noticed a substancial dif in score betwene the card at stock and the card with the sowtware mod?
     
  8. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,546 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    sure :)
     
  9. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    ok:) no more questions :)
     
  10. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,546 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    2640 seems good for those specs ? (look signature)
    I guess ill give this card a break on those clocks.
    Shame i dont have any money for more mems and X800 but it works ok in BF2 :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page