1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Quick question... does Win 8.1 give the same activation grace period as 7?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Sasqui, Jul 18, 2014.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Question is in the title. Win 7 doesn't require activation for 30 days (I think that's what it is). So you can install, test and not use a key.

    Does 8.1 do the same?
     
  2. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,058 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    Mexico
    no, you cannot install without a key (the Omit button isn't present)

    You can use KMS keys to install but your copy won't be activated. It still maintains most of its fucntionality though. You can change the key once you get a new one.

    KMS keys from Technet: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj612867.aspx
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Those bitches. What does KMS stand for? I just want to test a system for stability, so perhaps I'll just use Win 7.

    Edit never mind... Key management System for enterprise deployments. I don't feel like screwing with that.
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,881 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,832
    You don't have to mess with anything, just use one of the keys given to you on that page to install Windows 8.1. It will let you install it and test it, but won't activate. When you go to activate it will give you the option to put in a proper key.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Well that's the answer I wanted to hear. I have an install of Win 8.1 Pro x64 on DVD (and an ISO). Will the KMS keys work for that, or do I need the Enterprise install?
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,881 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,832
    The Pro key on the page should work with that.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, I'm slightly retarded... I see it now.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page