1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Quick Upgrade Question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Zaspera, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    I'm currently using:
    AMD 1090t @ 3.8GHz
    8GB 1600MHz DDR3 RAM
    Corsair HX750
    ATI 6970
    ASUS M4A89TD
    WD 1TB Black
    HAF X

    I'm wondering if I should hop on the SSD bandwagon (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820249010) or if I should Crossfire another 6970. What would benefit gaming more (mostly World of Warcraft)? Thanks. <3
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    On your current power supply, you may have issues with a 2nd 6970. The SSD will only help if paging from the hard drive for local files. I say neither would give a boost for WoW, ALTHOUGH the SSD would help all-around with launching apps and anything that pages the hard drive more.
  3. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    Well my current card is a 6950 flashed to a 6970, but my 2nd card will just be a 6950 (money issues). I have about $300 to spend and am just wondering how/where I will see the biggest performance gain.

    edit: based on http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1575219 my PSU is plenty
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2011
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,725 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,850
    Location:
    Oregon
    Crossfire 6970 for WOW ? one 6870 would do just fine on max settings. I don't think you would even notice a difference. Go SSD just to shorten boot times
  5. SkullFox New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    73 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Mozambique
    yeah got for the SSD...
    It won't help a lot in WoW (and another graphics won't help either), but, it will help in all other games/apps.
  6. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    SSDs can help loading times and against lag in crowded cities in WOW...and they make your rig more responsive in literally everything (if you install it as a boot drive)
    i would opt for that too;)
  7. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    SSD by a mile. You don't need a 6970 for WoW in the first place, and SSD's aid in loading loads of small files quickly, which does help in crowded cities etc. Plus, it enhances your overall PC experience.
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I know one certain person in particular that was having issues on an HX850 with 2 6970's. May have been due to dirty power though. Yet again, I still say go with the SSD.
  9. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    SSD it is then. I play with settings on ultra/high all the time, but there is one fight (Ragnaros) where I have to put my settings on super super low and still get quite a bit of FPS jitter. Another 6950/6970 wouldn't fix that?
  10. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    While what he said regarding what it will help with is wrong.. SSD is still the best overall PC upgrade in your case. This is coming from someone who wont normally stear anyone to an SSD, but your build is solid everywhere else so unless you wanted to upgrade your sound system or get a nicer monitor then an SSD is the way to go.
  11. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    SSD for sure! i dont see benefit of xfire for wow with your card
  12. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    My monitor is a decent 24". I could get a 2nd monitor, but it would never get used really. As to the sound system, I'm not really a big sound person. I find my G930 headset to deliver all the sound I need at a good quality. Thanks for the help.
  13. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Your CPU is what makes WoW slow down to a crawl at times. I would recommend upgrading to a 3 screen eyefinity setup, but I would definitely go Intel for WoW. I can't play the game unless it's eyefinity now. I only PvP, but still - 5760x1080 is a game changer.

    I run WoW on my triple 24" setup powered by two 6970's and an i7 970. It used to run almost just as well on my i7 950 and one 6970 (unlocked 6950) with same monitor setup. You would see a benefit with an extra 6970 now, but only at certain times when your CPU isn't pegged at 100%. I occasionally see a dip where I go from 120FPS down to 40FPS, like when I fly into a city (org for instance) during a popular time of day. It levels out to 60+ quickly due to the ssd raid, but the CPU occasionally just can't take it.

    SSD raid helps a lot, but the CPU will always be a limiting factor. AMD CPU's and WoW don't mix :( Hopefully BD will change that...
  14. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    My CPU has never been anywhere near 100%. Actually, it has once when I was running Prime95. I don't think it has even passed 40% load other than that. I understand WoW is a CPU game. I don't see how or why, but I understand it. How does a 1090t @ 4GHz (just raised it to 4) let me run WoW on ultra during 25mans but anything above Fair settings for Ragnaros and I get some FPS jitter here and there (mainly during seed phase)? How would an Intel CPU stop that?
  15. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Ah well, actual CPU load may vary, but it doesn't mean the CPU isn't maxed as far as the game is concerned. WoW is not optimized for current gen AMD CPU's. It won't utilize the cpu 100% because it doesn't know how.

    As far as that particular fight it's hard to say, but I'm guessing when you up the settings it is spawning a lot of added particle effects and things that are spawning server side. That would spike CPU usage for sure. You might want to look up some amd multicore cpu tweaks. They could help a bit.
  16. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
  17. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY

    beh buh bleh wtf

    Did you just seriously jump into a 3 screen eyefinity setup for a guy asking a simple upgrade question, then brag about your 970 and uber wow gaming machine? seriously..
    ERazer says thanks.
  18. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    :(

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page