1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

R600 will support quad-GPU CrossFire

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Feb 7, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    AMD (ATI) has been working on the quad-GPU problem ever since NVIDIA released their 7900GX2. AMD has officially solved it, with their wonder-GPU, the R600. The R600, with it's high clocks and GDDR4, will support quad-GPU CrossFire. Of course, the requirements for this will be substantial to say the least. Getting a motherboard with four PCI Express ports, and a power supply that will run four high-performance graphics cards like the R600, will cost a lot of money.

    Source: The Inquirer
     
  2. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    ya, :cry: i'll just get 1 of these...
     
  3. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    wowa just imagine the cost it wont be so pretty :\
     
  4. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    That'll be a heck alot of power and money, I think i'll just stick to 1
     
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,909 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,668
    hehe all ati chips support quad crossfire... its a driver thing .. and right now the quad driver sucks
     
  6. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    but, even if the driver goes gd (which will take a looong time), ppl ain't buyin 4 of these, atleast who are sane ;)
     
  7. C.Ash

    C.Ash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    204 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri
    Yes, of course. Every piece of hardware has the potential to support anything. The drivers are always the issue.
     
  8. Fleekar

    Fleekar

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    105 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Dayum Think of the Weight and Heat of those 4 monsters. Are they still marked for 12 inches long? :twitch:
     
  9. C.Ash

    C.Ash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    204 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri
    A few points:

    - You would need a motherboard with at least four PCIe x8 slots, wich dosent exsist.
    - You can just buy an Addon PSU wich costs 50$ and can run a single R600. The Main PSU only has to have around 24A to run the rest of the PC without the card(s).
    - The CPU is what is really the problem with this - hardware wise. Its not that there arent enough cores, but that while the R600 drivers will support Quad-Xfire for ALL games ( because they are specifically designed for every game), only one Core on the CPU will be used for gaming. Alan Wake May be an exception.
    - Drivers. Quad-SLi for nVidia performs worse than Standard SLi, wheras anyone who bought two 7950 GX2 and thought they would recieve a performance boost from Quad-SLi was dead wrong because nVidia never remmembered to create drivers to support Quad-SLi. Very eratating. I wonder why no class action law suits havent been filed against nVidia for this one..

    So, while it may be possible to link up four R600's in Quad-Xfire, it is likely the drivers will only be good enough for two. That means that there is not much reason to buy a Quad-PCIe x16 motherboard, unless u have faith that support for Quad GPU on 4 slots will be well supported some day.
     
  10. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    ATi has been doing this for ever in Flight Sims/ where crossfire comes from.

    I see this as more as a marketing thing AMD says "Look at me I have the highest 3dmark06 score"
     
  11. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    ATI is still ATI it is -NOT- "AMD Graphics" it is "ATI graphics" and will remain that way even though it is owned by AMD. It is the ATI r600 not the AMD r600. ATI is working on there graphics division and AMD works the CPUs. Someday there might be a joint effort in the development of something but please... Don't give AMD credit for anything from ATI... YET! :) I don't know why I'm just bothered by that. I guess AMD polluting the ATI name bothers me. lol :)
     
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    This is kind of cool. Looks like they are justifying the 2KW psus....man, I hate to have that electric bill. Honestly though, if I Could afford it, Id build one of these just to see.
     
  13. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,793 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    ME Too !!!! And I will even if I cant afford it:toast:
     
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    aye,buy 4 of them and in two months they release a better card:laugh:
     
  15. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,793 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    lol, same ole same ole
     
  16. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    i would rather have a full tower case with 4 of those 250w front bay psus, one per gpu
    that way if one psu blows, it only takes one component with it ;)
    lots of wires, but i bet they could be routed on the non space side of the case (generally the right side)
    lol, can you imagine having an outlet for your monitor, printer, main psu, psu1, psu2, psu3, psu4, speakers? that's eight, and i would really want separate circuits on the top and bottom plug so i could have one surge for just gpus, and aother surge for the usual

    safest option imo
     
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,965 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    This is insane and pointless. The benefits of having two graphics cards are still being debated, 4 is just ridiculous.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    Crossfire works great. Benifits? Hows 9500 (one card) to 17,200 (crossfire) in 3dmark05 ? :rockout: You WILL need an ubberfast qx6800 to benifit from "quadfire" (c)Lazzer408 :)
     
  19. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    No debate on two cards. Waste of money for 4 cards. SLI/Crossfire is the wave of the future for hi-def graphics and gaming.
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,965 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    Raising the score in a benchmark is one thing, actually seeing benefits in gameplay is another.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    :rolleyes: HL2 250fps increased to 400fps... FEAR 40fps increased to 69fps... Quake 3 (as a joke) went from 380fps to 729fps lol Dont dis the crossfire. :rockout:
     
  22. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    well dont look at it in respect to the r600 itself. it is talking about the r600 series. meaning we very well could see dual graphics cores per pcb and run crossfire between them. quad-crossfire as you mention it is physically impossible as there are only 7 expansion slots in the atx spec and 4 r600 gpus would require at least 8 slots for the cards and coolers. ati seems to be going towards parallel processing just as amd is with cpus. dont expect quad r600's. expect crossfire on dual gpu r610s and r630's
     
  23. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    My point was crossfire works quite well and hell... we can dream cant we? :) Multiple GPUs was what 3dfx had figured out with the original voodoo processor. You could literally add a second chip and get 100% improvement. Add 2 more and it doubles again. I wonder why Nvidia didn't work that into there GPUs since they aquired 3dfx. I bet 3dfx would be PWN these days. Some of there older stuff to this day can run Doom3. Anyways what was this thread about? Oh yeh the r600 supporting quad gpu crossfire. Does that mean 2 cards, sporting 2 GPUs each, can be connected in crossfire? Is that what "quad crossfire" is? -cool- :rockout:
     
  24. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    Probably for bragging rights....


    I'd rather have them make dual core GPU's (much like how both AMD and Intel are making their processors). It would save everyone a lot of money and a lot of space... if not, people will have to start making use of external cases like Asus's just for graphics cards and their PSU(s).
     
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I partially agree with the 60fps statement, but it all depends on the individual. Some people can see the difference up to 80fps, but they are a rare breed. I disagree with your statement about 24/25fps being enough, however. 24/25fps looks like garbage with pc games. The only reason it looks good with tv or movies is because they use motion blur effects to make it look much smoother than it really is. They essentially trick your brain into believing it's seeing a higher framerate.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page