1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

R7 260 Crashing after installing

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by blackbird3071, Aug 20, 2014.

  1. blackbird3071 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Recently purchased a new graphics card. After installing it, everything worked for a while, until I got a "no signal". I rebooted, as soon as I logged in, same thing.

    I did a system restore, running normal. Moments later the same thing happened. I did another system restore and tried to install latest drivers, it 'no signaled' during setup almost immediately halfway through. I tried uninstalling old drivers via programs and features, and then installing new ones, same result. Weird thing is, it only happens when im in windows.

    I am using windows 8, and I used to have a radeon 6670.

    I have 4gb ddr 1600, and a 4ghz amd fm2 processor

    Could someone help me?

    thanks
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,702 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    741
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Welcome to TPU

    For the best advice from the TPU community go here fill in full system specs include hardware brand names; models [Select: "Show System Specs:" YES]

    Questions
    what version of AMD Catalyst Driver was installed ?
    running windows 8 is it 64bit or 32bit ?

    Note: this will help other members of the TPU community to assist

    atb

    Law-II
     
    XSI says thanks.
  3. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,848 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Apparently defective graphic card. As soon as it starts doing 3D it dies. The reason why this is happening is that Windows 8 is installing drivers by itself if there are none present. After Win8 install it works in 2D mode. Then it installs drivers and dies.

    Test it in some other system, if problem repeats, it's the card for sure.
     
  4. blackbird3071 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Interesting, how do you know it's not just an older driver related issue conflicting with an older version? Because when I used programs and features and used catalyst uninstaller, i was under the impression that it was just removing software.

    So from what I understand, it operates fine using 2D clock settings, but as soon as it goes into 3D the clock speed increases to something the card should be able to operate, but actually can't because defective. Since the computer is installing drivers, it briefly goes into 3d clock speed and hence crashes.
    Is it normal or common for the R260 to have this defect?

    I have an ASUS R7 260 Direct CU II, and it appears im not the only one having this problem. From what I am reading, there is no adaptive power management long with a wider range of issues.

    I will test in another computer after work.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2014
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,848 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Because i had similar issue with GPU in a laptop. It worked fine in BIOS and safe mode, but as soon as it tried to load 3D accelerated GUI, whole screen went either blank or was full of artifacts.

    It was a bugged GeForce 8400M GS which i then baked in an oven and it's working fine again. Meaning it was indeed a broken GPU. I bet you have the same thing. Either way, it's not normal.
     
  6. blackbird3071 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was reading about it, apparently alot of people are having issues with my particular card, some of these issues can be fixed with a bios flash. But won't a bios flash pretty much screw up my chances of getting a return?
     
  7. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,548 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    Have you retested your system with your old 6670? If the card works fine, you rule our os and driver as well as narrow down the issue to being with your card. Would be grand if you could test the 260 in another pc to see if issues persist.

    Where did you purchase? If locally, merely go return the card for different model card, since you say that card is know for issues.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page