1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

R700 to Come in 2048MB Flavour?

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 6, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,694 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Although unreliable sources have been pointing out to the possibility that The Radeon HD 4870 X2 (R700) could come in a 2GB variant for a while now, we now get reports from even the Taiwanese industry observer, DigiTimes that the R700 in fact could come in a 2048 MB GDDR5 flavour. Similar reports have also been sourced from the likes of HKEPC and ChipHell. Current products such as the Radeon HD 4870 come equipped with "IDGV51-05A1F1C-40X" 512 Mbit GDDR5 chips made by Qimonda, the cards feature 8 such chips. It's already known that the R700 comes with a total of 16 memory chips, 8 on each side of the PCB, Qimonda readies its 1 Gbit memory chips slated for a July, 2008 release, Hyundai/Hynix already have their parts in the making.

    Expect this product to launch by late August.

    With inputs from DigiTimes
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2008
    Kei says thanks.
  2. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    GDDR5 = 2GB
    GDDR3 = 1GB.

    Thats what I've heard.
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,694 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The other way round looks more realistic to me. We do have 1 Gbit GDDR3 chips, although DT says GDDR5 2 GB.
     
  4. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    2gig GDDR5 would cost alot.

    - Christine
     
  5. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    and more power + more heat
     
  6. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,258 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    It will cost a fortune, because it will me the FireGL version!
     
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Omg the fireGL version of the R700 will cost two arms and legs.

    Does the card really need 2gb?
     
  8. alwayssts

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    371 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Yes, there is gigabit GDDR5. It is made by Hynix and is rated at 5gbps, the same as the the 512mb version from Qimonda. Hynix made the announcement back in November of last year, around the same time that the other companies made their 512mb anouncements (with rated speeds up to 6gbps as opposed to the 1gb 5gbps). Since Qimonda now has their chips available, it's not a stretch Hynix does/will as well.

    edit: Qimonda has 1gb versions available as well, in both 4gbps and 5gbps. Qimonda has a shipping date of July 2008 on their site....Coincidence? I think not. :p

    http://www.qimonda.com/graphics-ram/gddr5/index.html

    look at the bottom of the page.


    I don't think it's a stretch that AMD will use the 512mb and 1gb 5gbps on their 4890 models (rumored to be clocked in the 800+ core region), should they decide to release them. The only thing holding them up would be the 512mb 5gbps parts that have a availability date of Q308, which could mean now and that could mean next month or the month after. Don't be surprised if that does come to pass though.

    Wouldn't it be interesting if they had a line-up like this? :

    4850 - 625/1000-1200
    4870 - 750/1800 (4gbps GDDR5)
    4890 - 875/2400 (5gbps GDDR5)

    Of course, with each part having their own respective X2 parts of the 1 and 2GB variety. The possibility is there, and the core and memory have been shown to both be capable.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2008
    WarEagleAU and btarunr say thanks.
  9. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Of course it does, how else will we get acceptable frame rates on medium settings in Crysis?
     
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Yes,but crysis is one game,and its getting tired now.I suppose the rich have to have something to spend their money on :p
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,659
    well i'm not really surprised. 2GB was bound to happen very soon with the way video cards are progressing, and a dual GPU card makes sense.
     
  12. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    1024MB is more then enough for at least another year.
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,659
    yeah... except that ram isnt shared in crossfire or SLI, so this is more or less a dual GPU 1GB card.
     
  14. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,033 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    815
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    2gb might be needed because monitors are getting higher resolution and programs are getting more intensive. The Fire GL cards are for workstations and servers, you can use them in doing CAD and design.

    2gb one for each gpu.

    still the heat will be a lot but plenty faster tho i guess.
     
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,694 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India

    Thanks for the information.
     
  16. jyoung75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I really hope this is 2GB of SHARED memory rather than 1GB per card. According to the latest buzz on ray tracing with Radeon cards, it's memory intensive http://www.tgdaily.com/content/view/38145/135/. I want my next card to be a ray tracing monster, since that's where the industry is headed. I hope the 4870x2 is that monster :rockout:
     
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,694 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  18. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    btra ur on top of ur game
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,931 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,620
    we honestly dont know if it will head that way, but hope for the best and prepare for the worst, meaning cards that support both incase of a sudden dropoff of one technology over the other, but with games being created in raster/vector, ray tracing technique- cards will need to support both because im unsure ray tracing can emulate raster/vector efficient enough.
     
  20. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    The way this thing is lining up, I may only have to buy one of them & just CF it with the 4870. However, the thought of having 4 gb of video memory across 4 GPUs is just sick.
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,659
    except that like i said before, the ram isnt addivite. you'd only have 1GB of ram usable for the most part, as it duplicates the data across the video cards. (although they have gotten AA and AF to use the ram on the other cards to some extent, it seems)
     
  22. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    I did say across 4 GPUs, meaning 1 gb per GPU. I do know how the 3870x2 works & it appears that they're using the same arch with the PLX chip. I can just hope this PLX allows for more bandwidth than the prior version.
     
  23. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    They could turn tale and make it additive. That would be something. Of course, their is a slight premium on the chips (kind of hard to see with a kick ass card at 299 tops, 309 on the egg) but the heat and power are reduced on GDDR5 compared to 3/4 flavors.
     
  24. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    I wonder, though, even with each GPU having it's own 1GB of mem, and even at the bandwidth involved - just how long would it take to load everything up? I mean, comparatively, that was the biggest issue with the 3870x2 versus crossfired 3870s . . .

    but, also, if each GPU has 1GB, how often would the card have to swap out files while in game? WOuld both GPUs have to have the same files loaded up?

    But - if each GPU could access all DRAM modules, that would severelly reduce the need to swap out textures and other files as often
     
  25. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Shared memory is practically impossible in any sense that would effectively increase the total amount usable for both GPUs. Just forget it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page