1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

R9 270 + 4250 integrated not working ...

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by djwestly, Jul 7, 2014.

  1. djwestly New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I had an HIS 6770 working with my motherbord 4250 integrated graphics under windows xp (primarily used to drive 3 monitors with SoftTH for gaming).
    I upgraded the 6770 to a Gigabyte R9 270 but can't get it to work with the IGP.
    They both show up under device manager but only one of them shows a driver working.
    (This is with a clean OS re-install).
    Order of install: XP SP3, MB drivers (includes IGP), Gigabyte drivers.
    After installing the Gigabyte drivers, the IGP stops working. If I then re-install the IGP drivers, the R9 stops working. If I then re-install the R9 drivers, the IGP stops working again.
    I've tried the latest 4250 and R9 270 drivers from the AMD website.
    My MB only has 1 GPU slot (otherwise I'd try using the 6770 + R9).
    Anyone have any ideas (or experience with these cards)?

    Thanks,
    Dave
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Welcome to TPU

    For best advice from the TPU community fill in full system specs here include: brand names, models

    atb

    Law-II
     
  3. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,891 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Singapore
    The 270 should be able to drive 3 monitors on its own if you have the proper cables to hook it up. Maybe somebody could give you some guidance on that.
     
    djwestly says thanks.
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Can't run legacy DX10 AMD GPUs and R series GPUs together, only up to the HD 7000 series using Catalyst 12.3 drivers unless you run modded ones like these: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=372799

    I use the above set on my Toshiba A665D-S6091 notebook running Windows 8.1 Pro on the HD 4250 + HD 5650. Any Windows Updates for the HD 5650 brick the laptop and it has to system restore itself. Likely AMD didn't create any means to run old and new drivers at the same time when they forked the current DX11 generation driver and the legacy DX10 driver, so they overwrite each other. Again, it is possible to run an HD 4000 and early HD 7000 cards on unmodified AMD drivers from 12.1-12.4 or something, don't think you can trick the old drivers to run an R9 270 as an HD 7850 unless the VBIOSes have few differences.

    EDIT: Don't think the drivers I linked support beyond HD 6000, likely made for laptops like my last one.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2014
    Frick says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. djwestly New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the thorough reply.

    I know I can drive three monitors with the R9 alone, but I was hoping I could just swap out my 6770 for the R9, continue using SoftTH for gaming, and not have to do anything else (other than install new drivers).

    I thought something like the overwriting might have been happening. So by upgrading to the R9, I've eliminated using either the 4250 IGP OR my 6770 as a second gpu?
    If I'd bought an nvidia card, do you think I still could have used the 4250 with it (less chance of nvidia drivers overwriting the 4250 drivers)?

    Thanks again,
    Dave
     
  6. djwestly New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah I realize I could use the R9 alone, but I already had SoftTH+4250 IGP+6770 working. I was hoping I could just swap out the 6770 for the R9 (minimal effort and no new cables). And I don't know how gaming performance of R9+3 monitors compares to SoftTH+4250+6770+3 monitors. Guess I'll have to find out now.
     
  7. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    You can use both the R-series and the HD 6670 if you have two PCIe slots,, any AMD card supporting DX11 (HD 5000+) is supported by AMD currently on the newest drivers.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,767 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,305
    Question is.....

    Would this even work on Windows XP SP3?
     
  9. djwestly New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm not looking for directx 10/11 support in XP SP3, just 9.
    When I want 10/11, I'll boot into windows 7 (though I haven't set this up yet).
     
  10. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    It's not a question of DirectX support, rather AMD forks the drivers for each DirectX generation as far as their hardware is concerned. The first legacy drivers were for DirectX9 Radeons, the current legacy drivers are for DirectX10 Radeons, and the current mainline drivers are for DirectX11 Radeons. DirectX9 Radeons are the upper Radeon 9000 through X1000 series, DirectX10 Radeons are the Radeon HD 2000-HD4000 series, DirectX11 Radeons are Radeon HD 5000-"R 200" cards.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. djwestly New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So to sum up, I can't use my new R9 with my integrated 4250 OR 6770 card.
    If I want to use three screens, they all need to be hooked up the the R9 (or I can just go back to the 4250 + 6770).
    Thanks for your input Jstn7477.
     
  12. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yes, your only choices are:
    HD 4250 + HD 6670 with old unified drivers e.g. Catalyst 12.3
    R9 270 by itself
    R9 270 + HD 6670 if you have two PCI Express x16 form factor slots (most AMD 880G boards likely only have just one)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page