1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

R9 280 vs GTX 760

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by mroofie, Jul 17, 2014.

  1. mroofie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    170 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Hi :) got a few questions

    since these gpus are very close in performance I need to know a few things :)

    1.The R9 280 has 3GB vram does amd cards use vram efficiently like NVidia gpus ?

    2. Memory Clock 5000 vs 6000 how much of a difference is it ?

    3. The R9 280 it was released this year does it have all the latest tech in terms of gcn support :)

    and finally after all this which should I choose the R9 280 or GTX 760 ? :)

    The gtx 760 is 40$ cheaper but only has 2 GB vram :(
     
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Have you looked at any reviews that show performance between the cards? That should make it pretty easy on what to get.

    The R9 280 is rebadged HD7950. The R9 280x is a rebadge/rebranded 7970.

    Get the 280. Its faster then the 760 by about 10fps in nearly all titles.

    If you overclock the 280, you can take it into 280x territory.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2014
    Sasqui says thanks.
  3. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,153 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    425
    Location:
    Texas
    Agreed, the R9 280 is an HD 7950 and is faster than the mentioned GTX 760.

    I would get the 280 if I was you.
     
  4. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I agree with comments so far, but just to cause a little trouble :), on a 19 inch LCD the OP is not going to really need a 3GB card so if money is real tight then get the 760, if it's not then of course go for the 280, you will also cover any option to upgrade display in the future.
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA

    Hell id upgrade the monitor before GPU after now realizing he is running a 19".

    Though he can still get the 280 now, and then upgrade monitors a bit later and be chillin.
     
  6. mroofie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    170 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    okay so R9 280 it is :p
     
  7. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,153 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    425
    Location:
    Texas
    Which site are you looking on (or where are you looking) and where are you located? Because when I look (I generally default to newegg.com) the 280 is cheaper than a GTX 760. Might wanna shop around if that is the case because you can probably get a better deal.
     
  8. mroofie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    170 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    msi version of the gtx 760 :p its cheaper than the msi version of the R9 280 :p
    But im probably going to get the msi 760 4GB :D since its only 20$ more than the msi R9 280 :D
     
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    No point. 4GB version doesnt yield any performance increase over the 2GB version. Get the 280. It'll be faster overall.
     
    Vario says thanks.
  10. mroofie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    170 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    the 280 is identical if its not a amd title and that card was oc'd alot so ofc its gonna be better :p

    and i can get the gtx 760 4 gb Just for 20$ more and the reason i want 4 gb because some games already use 3! :0
     
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Not on a 19 inch LCD they don't :)
     
  12. mroofie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    170 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Tv full hd my friend no need for monitor :p

    I should probably put that under monitor in my system specs my bad :(
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    you don't get it. The 760 is going to run out of gpu power before memory. Look at benchmarks, the 4gb card barely gets a 1fps increase or 2 at resolutions that you would think the 4gb would matter. Also the 4gb card vs 2gb one has higher memory latency. The 280 is the card to get.

    Hell, at your resolution with some games, the 4GB version gets worst performance.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2014
  14. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    728 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Overseas
    It doesn't matter how big the TV is, you're still pushing the same number of pixels. At 1920x1080 you don't need more than 3GB. I've only seen 3GB VRAM usage at 2560x1440 and that's from garbage console ports.
     
  15. Relayer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    267 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
     
  16. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    565 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Essex, England
    If you're paying "more" than why not just throw an extra $50 in an get a 280x :/
     
  17. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,153 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    425
    Location:
    Texas
    Not unless your gaming at 4k which in reality these GPUs do not have the power to do reasonably.

    The R9 280 is an HD 7950 rebranded and the competition for it was the GTX 670 which only exists as an OEM card in the current iterations of cards (760ti). The GTX 760 is a lower card and performs lower than the 280 and both can overclock to about the same levels.


    You will not benefit from a 4gb gtx 760 as much as a R9 280 because the GPU is more powerful on the 280.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2014
    Tatty_One says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page