1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[R9 280X Tri-X] O/C and Toxic Bios compatibility questions

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Hitm4n, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. Hitm4n

    Hitm4n

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi all,
    It's my first post on here, it was finally time i sign up ! :lovetpu:


    I've just bought a Sapphire R9 280X Tri-X O/C.
    Bios (015.039) http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/149734/sapphire-r9280x-3072-130829-1.html

    Q1: I actually thought i was buying a TOXIC card and realized my mistake afterwards...
    but i also can't say the difference besides a 50MHz gap. ???
    The card is stable @ 1160 / 1640 (stock is 1000/1100 boost and 1600)

    Q2: after looking in the Bios database it seems that the Toxic bios is pretty much the same.
    Would it be ok to flash with this more recent TOXIC bios 015.041
    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/150347/sapphire-r9280x-3072-131125.html

    Q3: Would this more recent bios from the toxic model fix some existing problems or should i just edit the values with RBE and re-flash ?


    Otherwise, i have to say it's a very nice card, exactly 2X the GPU power of my 6950 with 6970 o/c bios

    I've made a 8050 score on Fire Strike( :rockout:), which seems pretty decent. (3960 with 6950with 6970 o/c bios)


    Thank you all for your time and contributions to this fantastic community forum.

    H.

    edit: just remembered RBE can't work with this for editing BIOS
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2014
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    If both cards use the same PCB (especially voltage controller), then it's definitely worth a try.

    Should be easy to flash back using dual BIOS.
     
  3. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,343 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    Location:
    CZ
    So you have the Vapor-X(blue) card with 2 fans right?
    And you want to flash the TOXIC(orange) card's BIOS onto it?
    If to the above you answered yes I'm sad to say that the VRM designs are different and flashing will brick the card.
    On the other had if you just want more frequency get sapphire Trixx and OC the card to the speed of the TOXIC.
     
  4. Hitm4n

    Hitm4n

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I do not think it has dual bios this one.... it has but it's a legacy/uefi bios switch
     
  5. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,343 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    Location:
    CZ
    You still have 2 separate BIOS chips so you can miss flash one and be safe.
     
  6. Hitm4n

    Hitm4n

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    nope.:D

    it's a TRI-X OC, .............it looks like a TOXIC, but it's not a TOXIC :rolleyes:

    bios 015.039 seems to be used on the 2 models with 50 MHz difference.

    TRI-X:
    [​IMG]

    TOXIC:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2014
  7. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,343 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    Location:
    CZ
    Yeah those share VRM designs so it's OK to flash.
     
    Hitm4n says thanks.
  8. Hitm4n

    Hitm4n

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ok, so i'll flash with TOXIC bios 015.039 bios

    But why did Sapphire bother with these 2 different models ... i don't get it.

    i would say the more epensive TOXIC based gpu's go much higher for o/c, but it's just a guess.

    Mine was showing artifacts passed 1180 in 3dmark... toxic owners claim 1240 and more frequencies.
     
  9. Hitm4n

    Hitm4n

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    "R9 280X OC" succesfully flashed to the "TOXIC" bios with AtiwinFlash :rockout:

    Thank you for the wisdom.

    Any way to edit and make a custom BIOS ? ( was possible with the 69xx cards...) ?
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  10. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Maybe possible to edit vbios image with VBE7 look here

    atb

    Law-II
     
  11. Hitm4n

    Hitm4n

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Way cool, thanks, didn't know about VBE7 will try tomorrow (should work as 280x=7970)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page