1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

R9 290-290X owners thread

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by petedread, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    322 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Nebulas
    I have two XFX 290x ENFC, I am getting black screen freezes after having them for a while. Happens while playing BF4 for a few hours and sometimes watching youtube.

    They have Elpedia memory.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2014
  2. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    336
    There's a thread at overclock forums (I believe), where they put up a poll concerning black screen. THe majority of users that had them were with cards using the Edelpia. I think they should recall!
     
  3. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    322 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Nebulas
    Thanks! I read that thread last night, I guess I will mess with them a bit more and try a different BIOS. Users say it has to do with the memory timings.
     
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,978 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Location:
    US
    Had no issue's in games with my 290X, although i don't run 2 of them and maybe ones bad or if your lucky they done a bios update but one thing for sure maybe you should give them a call and if they can do any thing even if you have to rma 1 shit you still have another to play games on decently.
     
  5. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    336
    Memory clock reduction to 1050 may help.
     
  6. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Both cards running great no problems so far and they are still quiet, no regrets.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,149 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    582
    Of all the things I'm loving about this card, I think the most is Mantle, at least in BF4. Running mostly high with mesh, filtering, and effects on ultra, no aa deferred, med aa post and ambient occlusion off, 140% resolution scale and my fps is never below 60 at 1920x1080.

    Well worth the money I paid to go from two 5870s.
     
    newconroer says thanks.
  8. Ferio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    Could any of you point me to a good overclock guide for a reference R9 290 card water cooled by a Corsair H75 with heat sinks on all the rams?

    I see so many guides that I got no idea where to start.

    Cheers!
     
  9. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    My load-related black screens were all thermal…if either or both VRM temps are getting to 90 or above that is likely it. Had to get a water block but runs like a dream now.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  10. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,149 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    582
    So moving my one monitor off of the DP and to the HDMI fixed my problem where the computer would BSOD when waking the monitors.
     
    newconroer says thanks.
  11. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    336
    Anyone tried Witcher 2 with 290 in crossfire - particularly at 2560 res?
    I'm getting pretty bad performance compared to my GTX 680s.
     
  12. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    928 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    I am now in the group :D Gigabyte R9 290 OC. Really powerful. Still alot faster than my HD7970 1150/1700, but at 1040/1250!
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,074 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,773
    Sorry for the late response, but if you still have an issue, I can try this game out tomorrow night and see what happens. I have Witcher 2 but haven't tried it on my 290s.
     
    newconroer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    336
    Thanks anyways brother, however it turned out to be an old version of a mod I had installed for the game.
     
    manofthem says thanks.
  15. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    I have an Asus DC2 290 coming (should get it Thur) to replace my GTX 670. Anyone go from a 670 to a 290? Am I going to have a noticeable performance boost @ 1920x1080?
     
  16. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,149 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    582
    Am I doing something wrong or did I get a dud? I can't seem to get past 1400 on the ram. Anything else will cause the monitors to blank out. The newest RC seems to limit it even more. Bumping power limit and the base clock does not seem to help at all either.
     
  17. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    888 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Have the same problem with my 290. On stock voltage, the highest i can go without blackscreen is around 1400, but if i bump the voltage +50(afterburner) it can do 1500. Havent played with aux voltage yet, maybe that can help also.

    p.s.: I am still using the stock blower type cooler.
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2014
    mastrdrver says thanks.
  18. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,272 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    CZ
    The memory scales linearly with the core voltage. You want to reduce the Aux voltage to 0.95V for best results.
     
    mastrdrver and heky say thanks.
  19. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,339 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,134
    Sorry to hear that but no!

    :roll:
    Of coarse, your going to be in freaking bliss over this card... and a note to you! DO NOT FLASH THE LATEST FIRMWARE FROM ASUS SITE TO THAT GPU!
    It will run slower afaik on mine it did and others reported the same but that was with earlier drivers but now who knows.. Just be sure to make a bios back up so you can flash back if need be ;)
     
  20. droopyRO

    droopyRO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    154 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Romania
    What would you do, buy a R9 290x BBA and put an Accelero Xtreme 4 on it or buy a Sapphire Tri-x 290x for 50 euros more ? most important to me is load noise while i play games. Thanks.
     
  21. davidm71

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Seriously?!
     
  22. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,149 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    582
    What's the point of Aux voltage? I jumped from 5870s to a 290x so this is new to me.
     
  23. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,422 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Over this past weekend I bought a Asus OC 290 and a PNY GTX 780. The 290 kept getting the black screen until I ran each power cable from the PSU off of different rails. That fixed my black screen issues. Ultimately I decided I liked the 780 the best so I returned the 290. I only mention this though because I found the black screen issue to be due to running both power plugs off one rail.
     
  24. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,339 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,134
    That's odd, don't most high end psu's use a single 12v rail or are you running multiple rails?
    Sorry to see you go ;)
     
  25. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,715 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I now have 2x 290x's:

    290x Sapphire Reference Leaf Blower (My GOD is it annoying in games, but I at least solved throttling by lapping the heatsink and new TIM)
    290x XFX Double Dissipation (Much, much quieter but still somewhat annoying in games and even Youtube)

    Questions... just for kicks, could these two be put in Crossfire... and would an HX750 PSU be sufficient?

    Has anyone tried disassembling a 290x XFX DD and applying new thermal paste? Would it kill the warranty?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page