1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[R98SE -> R98Pro] Softmod perfect, Hardmod errors with 98Pro BIOS?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by cynric, Apr 3, 2005.

  1. cynric New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi!
    I have a MadView Radeon 9800 SE (2.8ns Hynix), running perfectly with softmods. Today I applied the Hardmod and flashed to 9800 Pro Bios, but ATI Tool shows lots of yellow dots and games have also texture errors. I tried MadViews R9800 bios as well as Sapphire's newer one. Both have the same problem as written above... If I lower the VideoRams clock, these errors get less and even disappear for some seconds...
    Later I flashed back to MadViews 9800 SE Bios (left the Hardmod on the card) and had to use softmodded drivers again to get all 8 Pipelines. But now everything runs fine again...
    Looks like the SE bios has some less agressive memory timing or something like that...

    Is there any way of getting this 9800SE bios to do the 8 Pipelines? Or are there any Bios from 9800 Pro, that could help?

    Thanks alot!
  2. cynric New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nuttin? no comments, ideas, solutions? :/
  3. kenling New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    haha. here's the trick. use a bios with samsung edie memory. at least that's what i'm using on my powercolor 9800se with 2.8ns Hynix.
  4. cynric New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    and that works? i thought, you HAD TO use a bios for the exact memory configuration of your card? (at least thats, what the bios collection said ;))
  5. kenling New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well, for my card if i use hynix bioses i get the exact same problem u have. go figure. been using my card with samsung bios for 11 months now. :)

    i've tried all kinds of bios from all kinds of manufacturers. even tried modded 9800xt bioses. i only had to do a pci card flash once so far. every other time when the bios was not compatible all i got was artifacts n errors in atitool n 3dmark. no hardware damage as far as i know from the bios flashing.

    however i did manage to crack a small corner of the vpu (like the picture from tom's hardware here: http://www.tomshardware.com/graphic/20050404/geforce_6600-27.html [i know the pic is a nvidia core n that ati cores have a spacer but i guess i'm a genius]) from changing n trying too many heatsinks. the card still works as a 9800pro but now i can't overclock it anymore. used to do 415 on the core. now it maxes out at 398. :(
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2005
  6. cynric New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot, Kenling! works perfect with the samsung bios! brought me almost 250 3d marks (03, not much but at least something) and stops the need to always use a softmod :)

    i was just a little distrustful about this, because in some other forum someone once told me my notebook was identical to another model an i could easily use its bios. in the end i killed my 3 months old book and had to wait over 6 weeks for the (luckily accepted) RMA....
  7. kenling New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    glad to have helped. :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page