1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Race Driver: GRID Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by johnnyfiive, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ



    Who has it? What settings do you play with? Use assists at all? Manual? Automatic? What control setup are you using? Wheel? 360 controller? Whats your highest drift scores, or scores in general? Whats your fastest lap time on certain tracks and what class was used? How about weekly challenges for certain modes and tracks? Lets get this going! :rockout:

    Are you guys up for a weekly or bi-weekly challenge of some sort? That would be pretty cool.

    Player List:
    batmang - Microsoft Xbox 360 Wired Controller
    steelkane - Microsoft SideWinder Dual Strike
    JrRacinFan - Logitech Chillstream
    [I.R.A]_FBi - ?
    mikek75 - Microsoft Xbox 360 Wired Controller
    pagalms - Logitech Rumblepad Controller
    CrackerJack - Keyboard
    ghost101 - Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller
    xubidoo - Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2
    OnBoard - ?
    Widjaja - ?
    wolf - Logitech Dual Action Controller
    erocker - Microsoft Xbox 360 Wired Controller
    ASharp - Microsoft Xbox 360 Wired Controller
    oli_ramsay - Generic Dual Shock Controller
    P4-630 - Microsoft SideWinder
    tkpenalty - ?
    burtram - Logitech Rumblepad 2
    BEER4Lego - ?
    philbrown23 - Logitech Rumblepad

    Related Sites:
    http://www.gridjoint.com
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2008
  2. steelkane

    steelkane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,367 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I have 4 gamepads,
    Logitech Wingman gamepad
    Gravis Eliminator Gamepad pro
    Saitek P220 Digital with digital Throttle
    Microsoft sidewinder dual strike
    out of all them pads, The only one that seems to work is the Microsoft sidewinder dual strike, & thats really hard to play with, so I haven't played it as much as I would like to, in till they update there gamepad support.
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2008
  4. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i want a chillstream :( im in.
  5. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Yep, I have GRID, cracking game. I play with the 360 controller which works great with this title. I changed my mobo so had to re-install Windows and therefore lost my scores, been too busy to play much since. I'd be up for a challenge, I play with no assists and manual gears. And before the moaners complain about it being too easy, ITS A GAME!! LOL
  6. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Steel, you outta try the 360 wired controller. Works soooo well man. Because Grid is on the 360, I think the 360 controller is the best controller for it on the PC. Even the buttons within the game are colored matched to the controller. Meant to be.
  7. pagalms

    pagalms New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Love drifting in GRID. Biggest score: 75,4m points in Okutama drift circuit with Soarer, 10 laps nonstop combo. Drifting with traction control on & Automatic. Now i'm drivin' with keyboard, but i'm planning to buy wireless controller bit later. So i'm in :)
  8. steelkane

    steelkane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,367 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    My brother has the xbox360, I'll have to see if he has a spare pad, If not & I buy one, does the wireless pad work. that would be great.
  9. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    I use keyboard most of the time. But XBox 360 wired is a option too.
  10. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Im playing it atm. Brilliant game and I use an xbox 360 wireless controller. I play at 1680*1050 8x AA and max settings.
  11. steelkane

    steelkane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,367 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I bet that looks awesome, I also play it @ 1680x1050, but haven't tried 8x AA. Maybe you could post a SS
  12. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    For people who have non-working controller, try xpadder http://xpadder.com/download.html

    It maps certain keys on your keyboard to buttons on ure pad (e.g shoulder button 1 = space bar = handbrake)

    I just remembered it and it's a great little app

    hope this helps :toast:
  13. steelkane

    steelkane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,367 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Awesome SS, I will use them for wallpaper. Looks great, Thanks
  14. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I'll have to try maxing AA out and see how it runs.
  15. pagalms

    pagalms New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Since you have 2 3870's it must run w/o problems, cuz i can run it on my single G80 GTS with everything maxed out @ >40 fps :)
  16. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Sweet, I will definitely max it out tonight. I just know it runs really smooth already.. its such a beautiful game. :)
  17. steelkane

    steelkane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,367 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Just talked to my brother, He has 4 wireless pads, So looks like I have to buy one, I was looking @ a 360 wireless one for the pc, the cost is $50, comes with the pad & USB Receiver.
  18. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Thats not bad at all. I'm assuming thats with a discount? Normally they cost $62.99 plus tax.
  19. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
  20. steelkane

    steelkane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,367 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Nice SS batmang, I found another controller I had, Microsoft Sidewinder game pad pro USB. still dont work. all good controllers, they all work on need for speed titles, thats 5 pads & only one works. I think they really need to do somthing about there pad support,
  21. pagalms

    pagalms New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Hey guys what ya think about this ? I'm looking for not-so-expensive wireless controller. :)
  22. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,595 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,567
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I'm using my Playstation 2 Dual Analog controller with SmartJoy PLUS USB adapter, works very well, was a pain to setup until I got the 1.10 patch installed properly, after that it was cake! I run at 1440x900, 8AA, all other settings maxed out, plays great! It is an entertaining game for sure.

    :toast:
    pagalms says thanks.
  23. pagalms

    pagalms New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    It looks pretty similar to PS/PS2 controller. But i love wireless stuff, so i can lay back in my sofa and play games on tv screen :)
  24. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Thats odd Steel. I used a SideWinder prior to the 360 controller and it worked fine. I'm running Vista 64 as well. Stange? Go buy a 360 wired controller from best buy and see if that works. If not you can always return it.
  25. steelkane

    steelkane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,367 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    maybe I'm doing something wrong, I plug it in (vista OS) then go to control panel, calibrate controller, then start the game, & only see preset1 & custom. when I try & configure the pad, none of the buttons work.is there a different section for pad setup. I was also thinking on just getting this but would save me some money because I already have 5 good pads.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page