1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon 6870 Problem, pls help !

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by blazen95, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. blazen95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, i'm the new owner of a MSI Radeon 6870. I'm very happy with it, but i have one problem. In 2D mode the card just won't go with the 2D clocks (100/300), it stais at 300/1050 (gpu/memory). I've changed 2 sets of catalyst drivers and the problem still remains. Any ideeas ?? Pls help !
  2. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    hmm... when I am on 2D it does 100 / 300 is there any problem while gaming? i would imagine it is a bios problem... how did u reinstall drivers?
  3. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    how many monitors?? this is the idle clock for 2 monitors
  4. blazen95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    are you sure thunderising ? Because i have 2 monitors, not actually using 2 but i have the primary one 22" Samsung 1680*1050 that, the secondary one is LCD TV that i watch movies but i let it always enabled in CCC. I will check when i go home this issue. I have no problems in gaming, the frequencies go up to 900 and 1050. i will reply shortly.
  5. blazen95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it seems that the problem is not from the 2 monitors :( pls help
  6. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    1) download lated drivers (10.12) and have it on hand dont use them yet

    2) uninstall all ATI utilities / Overclocking tools

    3) Uninstall drivers completely

    4) delete everything in prefetch and temp folder

    5) go to start menu type in : regedit delete anything ATI display / catalyst related

    6) reboot and go into safe mode without networking (as windows will try install drivers) run driver sweeper for ATI drivers

    7) go back into safe mode and install the 10.12 drivers

    this is how i do my driver install if this dont work then i am sorry to say so but i think it is a bios problem =\
  7. blazen95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i recently bought the card. it does this issue from the first time i've installed it. should i do your installing / uninstalling thing anyway ?
  8. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    yes plz try it, and if anything IF THIS DOES NOT WORK send it back
  9. blazen95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks my friend...your steps worked. thank you very much, it helped me !

    Update: once i plug my second display without enabling it goes to 300 / 1050. Even if i unplug it and restart the system it remains at 300 / 1050. I've seen those 100 / 300 only once at the begining before pluging my hdmi cable to my lcd tv. :(
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2011
  10. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Grrr... I would like to say that the reason its happening is because with the extra resolution added the memory needs to jump up to support it... does ur core clock move as well when u do something demanding?
  11. blazen95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it goes only from 300 to 900 when i am in 3d. only then.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page