1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon Evergreen Islands Club (HD 5xxx/6xxx/7xxx/8xxx)

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Chevalr1c, Oct 5, 2012.

  1. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    302 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Got my 7850 today. It's awesome :) Installed the latest beta drivers and have tested a handful of games with my CPU at stock and GPU at stock. It's smoother than my GTX 660 was lol. Don't know whether I had a funky card or something but I'm definitely glad I have made the switch.

    On another note, I swear some graphics in games look crisper than my 660 was?

    Gonna be doing some all stock benchmarks and then overclocked benchmarks in alot of games over the weekend and then post here seometime next week.

    Just sad I didn't get Far Cry 3 download in the box, must have been a xmas only thing :( Really want to play that game as well.

    Oh well, I'm off to benchmark :)

    EDIT - I also have to mention the fact that it felt like I was getting alot of input lag on my 660, it appears to be totally gone with this AMD card and it's a joy to behold....must....stop......smiling lol
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2013
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  2. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    You couldn't have bought the card at a better time.
    Any earlier and you may have encountered poor performing drivers and may not have had the same opinion.

    The progress I have experienced with the drivers since I first owned my 7870 has been huge.
    Saints Row 3 stuttered with every corner I took, a lot of image corruption in Skyrim, fans would spin up while in sleep mode every 30 seconds a few other DX9 games were affected with image corruption.
    It seemed like this was about as good as it was going to get especially when the worst drivers for me were when AMD started the never settle campaign.

    Never settle...I certainly was not settle for those drivers.

    I was pretty close to giving up and buying an nVidia card but patience paid off.
    Mentioned games perform as they should on my 7870 without image corruption, at least not noticeable to me.

    I believe we can expect to see even more improvements on the 7xxx cards in the future, due to the architecture of the 8xxx series cards being GCN as well.
     
    ...PACMAN... and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  3. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    ive just bought a 77702gboc version hoping to xfire. but im having trouble with a stutter at the start of games? anyone else had the same problem? im about to do a reinstall hoping its software or alike. thanks
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,207 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    You have been added. :)

    What drivers are you using and did you install any CAP? Starting from 13.2 beta CAPs are not needed anymore, but otherwise you need to download the latest CAP.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,446 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    Actually it was 13.1 WHQL that started with not needing CAPs, AMD has starting integrating them into the driver package itself.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,671 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,066
    13.1's are supposed to use the 12.11 cap. The beta drivers will sometimes have the cap built in.
     
  7. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    what the hell is cap? lol I haven't used amd vga for years! im just finishing installs so ill let you know. thanks
     
  8. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,200 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    cap : crap application persistence ... eerrrrr.... Catalyst Application Profile ... (if im correct)
     
  9. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,207 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Catalyst Application Profile (containing optimisations targeting CrossfireX setups and particular games/other apps). You stated you have a CrossFireX setup (multiple cards in one system) so they (CAPs) will come in handy.
     
    m1dg3t and GreiverBlade say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,200 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i was correct! and faster!!! ... hum i wonder ... waiting a bit more or taking a 7850... or a 7950... gotta do some math... (or wait 8xxx)
     
  11. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    CAP = Crossfire Application Profile IIRC

    Chevalr1c beat me to it, damn sell fones :eek:
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,671 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,066
    I'll. say it again... If you are using 13.2 beta, you don't need the CAP whether you're running CrossFire or not.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  13. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Well that may be fine for you but i need CAP so i can bust a cap! :p

    Brap! Brap! Brap! :roll:
     
  14. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,644 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I'm happy... then again, I also got a $20 rebate and Far Cry 3 along with the deal!

    W/a 3570k @ 4.7Ghz, PC HD 7870 @ 1200 core:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    new install and absolutely sorted, even getting more fps woop woop! and lmao to the cap, bust a cap lol! btw im hoping to xfire soon as I get a new mobo!
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,671 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,066
    Sasqui says thanks.
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,686 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,275
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2013
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  18. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,644 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Thanks, I'm happy with it... it's stable and plays FC3 at max pretty smooth. Now I have a new goal of 8500, perhaps I should adjust RAM speed more, prob squeeze 2400 out of it, lol

    Nice!
     
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,686 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,275
    very modest overclock on my GPUs, a few times ive had them clocked as far as 920Mhz on the core and 1400mhz on the ram but i dont think it was very stable. Not that i actually need the extra performance or nothing so i just stuck with 900 on the core.
     
  20. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,644 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    That comment means awesomeness! :toast:
     
  21. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    124 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Reality
    What is the CAP thingy I keep reading about? Been kinda out of touch so to speak..........
    Well my GPU'S are

    3 X HD5770
    2 X HD6950
    2 X 7970

    No 8"s yet! :p
     
  22. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    You can obviously read, do some more. :toast:
     
  23. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,416 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,563
    Heres a link
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,200 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    wrong its GreiverBlade who did beat you :laugh: and its Catalyst (we both written so :twitch:)

    one question ... on a HD6950 with DVI-D and DVI-I, DVI-D handle 75hz while DVI-I doesnt ? right?
     
    m1dg3t says thanks.
  25. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,207 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    I think both have the same max, albeit lower resolutions have higher max refresh rates.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page