1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon HD 4870 Voltmods

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,895 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Wow, that's a tiny place to soldier for the VDDC! I better not have any caffiene that day! Thanks so much W1zzard!:toast:
     
  3. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    holy shizzlet! Volt mod's already! :rockout::rockout: :respect::respect:
     
  4. Mmatao New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montmelo/Barcelona/España(spain)
    test of shappire 4879 gpu vmod, fan to 42% stock cooler.
    room to 27º C

    test passing atitool
    without vmod 76º C 1.26v max gpu 770mhz
    with vmod resistance 100 oms 79º C 1.28v max gpu 820mhz
    with vmod resistance 50 oms 82º C 1,295v max gpu 825 mhz

    the best configuration is 100 oms to stock cooler.

    I do not understand mvddc and mvddq, as is the one that there is to fit?
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2008
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    unfortunately there is no better place to solder. on the other side there may be some spots but with the cooler on top its kinda difficult to put wires there.
     
  6. mat9v New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Could somebody per chance check if AMD GPU Tool really changes voltages? I don't have a multimeter and have no way to check... please somebody? :)
     
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    vddc reading spot fixed, the picture in the article now points to the correct location
     
  8. chron New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    569 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I thought these cards had "dynamic voltage control" so you wouldn't have to do all this?
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    yes you can change up like 0.1v in software and down about 0.3v .. in 4 steps. but at this time there is no software to control voltages, other than modding the bios
     
  10. Haste New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Hi. What do you mean with the "in 4 steps" ? I've modded the 4870 BIOS using RBE 1.11 but it doesn't seem to have any effect on voltages. I tried increasing it from 1.263 to 1.276 and 1.302 but without success. The vcore was not changed. So is there another way to up the GPU voltage by 0.1v? Thanks.
     
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    the card can only select one voltage out of four. so there is something like 1.0, 1.1, 1.2 and 1.3. the card has to pick one, ther is nothing like 1.15 possible in this example.
    i dont know the actual voltages that are implemented.

    did you change the right profile? i think a 0.1 increase should be possible
     
  12. Haste New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Yes, I think so. In the RBE it has high profiles at 3 and 9. 4 to 6 are UVD profiles. I've changed the 3 and 9, both to the same voltage I mentioned before. Now I have it at 1.363 (exactly 0.1v above normal) but no success again. Even people from XS forum didn't have any luck with BIOS voltage mod so i feel a bit skeptical about it. I would appreciate any help with the mod. I'm willing to try almost anything... have my old PCI card ready if necessary :)
     
  13. The Haunted

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    311 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    I didn't find a 50 ohm pot locally. Does a 100 ohm 15 turn one would be precise enough to reach high voltages (1.5-1.6).
    Or a 20 Ohm one would be better suited ( i have both ).
     
  14. Haste New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    I'd recommend fixed 20ohm resistor and I really hope that you have water cooling at least. 20ohm ~ 1.5-1.6v. And be careful, that vddc solder point is really tiny.
     
  15. The Haunted

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    311 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    With a tiny spot like this could i put some hot glue on it after the wire is soldered to ensure it doesnt break?
     
  16. Wshlist New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    EU
    In a what I consider related story: I stumbled upon a forum with a post by a guy who made some images with a thermal camera of his 4870, and you can see some interesting result from the voltage converter area.
    Translated link:
    http://translate.google.com/transla...hread.php?t=510938&hl=en&ie=UTF8&sl=d e&tl=en

    Note how he writes the GPU-Z values reported above the pictures, so keep in mind that those sensors on the board only tell so much.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 6, 2008
  17. rflair New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    From my testing doing the GPU Vmod with fixed resistors,

    33 Ohm=1.35v idle 1.37v load

    27 Ohm=1.37v idle 1.39v load

    22 Ohm=1.385v idle 1.405v load
     
  18. rflair New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Anyone know how much resistance is needed to raise the memory voltage to 1.6v ?
     
  19. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    anyone have a picture of the actual mod yet? I wanna see some working mods before I decide to take the dive.
     
  20. 4870's@over New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Who knows if using 4600Mhz in the memory card without artifacts could kill?
     
  21. nasone32 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hi, I would like to show you my card. its pcb is slightly different from the one in the vmod guide, the vgpu soldering point is covered and there are a few more transistors around. it's a club3D 4870 oc'ed edition.
    I would like to know if the soldering points are the same (probably yes).
    sorry for my bad english, I'm Italian :D
    [​IMG]
     
  22. tress972

    tress972 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm looking around & I heard about some pencil VDDC mod on 4870...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Did somebody try them ?
     
  23. nasone32 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    sorry but where is the pencil-point located in your pictures? can't see anything...
     
  24. 4870's@over New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Guys, I have a PowerColor 4870, but with more than 825 in the Core she presents a strange behavior, I have BSOD.

    How to resolve?

    BIOS OCX 1.276v
     
  25. ShadyAchmed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    RMA - sounds like U got a bad card.

    I have the same card, I get 850/1100 stable - everything maxed out, w/ a Scythe Musashi cooler. http://www.scythe-usa.com/product/vga/002/scvms1000_detail.html Runs great - no problems at all.

    I actually have two of these cards, same story on both. Crossfire doesn't scale well at all on my system. Card was unstable in crossfire, OC'd or stock. Running a single card - excellent performance! Maybe my next rig (and later drivers) will better support them in crossfire.

    Running it w/ a QX9650 OC'd to 4.2Ghz.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page