1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon HD 5970 Offers Massive Overclocking Headroom

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    good job amd all i can say
     
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,007 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,555
    You know what would be more awesome than this?! If there were actual 58XX series cards on the F*#KING market to be bought!
     
  3. TAViX Guest

    Nice! I'm curious about nVIDIA response. When it will come... Next year, or next millennium...:banghead:
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Make that 18th :)
     
  5. Izliecies New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Hey, I thought that videocards are OCed with ATI Catalyst, not AMD OverDrive! Isn't that right?
     
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,007 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,555
    Both from what I remember. Ether or.
     
  7. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Amd clock tool is VERY reccomended download.

    You can monitor min, avg, max temp of EACH core, and clock.

    Its from AMD, and is widely available.

    Then set your clocks in CCC :)
     
  8. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Anyone know how long this it is?
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,686 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,275
    If the price is good - I might be getting one of these instead of a 5870
     
  10. sideeffect New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    81 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    No offence but that analogy sucks :)

    The extra MHz on the CPU comes from giving it more power. You could perhaps lower the Vcore and add MHz and keep at the same power draw but you are not getting something for nothing. You are limited by the amount of power + how efficiently the device can utilise the available power.

    You can draw 150w from a single 6 pin no problem? Evidence please because from what I have seen with my ATI 4850 which had 1 x 6 pin this was not the case and it was power starved. I was using a 1KW OCZ ProXtreme to power it as well.
     
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,007 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,555
    :laugh: Oh man you just pwnd yourself nasty!
     
  12. sideeffect New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    81 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Do you even know what we were talking about?
     
  13. mechtech

    mechtech

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    251 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    loooonnnnngggg lol
     
  14. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Same here.

    Source? "XtremeSystems Forums"? I'm reserving my judgment for after this thing is benchmarked by some respected sites like iXBT Labs or similar.
     
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,007 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,555
    Yeah I know what your talking about. I also know W1zz is the owner of the website and has a vast amount of experience and wouldn't be talking out of his ass. I am far more inclined to take his word over yours.

    Saying his "analogy sucks" isnt the smartest thing to do.
     
  16. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,204 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Miami
    +1 to that...

    Sideeffect, Just how was that 4850 was "power starved"? did you volt mod it? or just because you couldn't overclock it past whatever MHz you assumed that the chip was not getting enough power?

    Ive seen 4pin cpu plugs melt with too much power going through them and I can attest to the fact that a plug will give as much power to a device as it draws until the PSU doesnt give it anymore/plug melts...

    Maybe your PSU had a hard limit on the 6 pin of 75W... iDK, I know mine doesn't.
     
  17. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    If there is no "OC limit" in CCC, I might as well use MSI Afterburner which is the tool of choice for me. :toast:
     
  18. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Seconded, if there is voltage control, clocks up to 1ghz/6ghz, then Afterburner is already perfect to take care of that. tool of choice f'sho'
     
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,639
    power starved doesn't even exist .. power is a function of current and voltage, when you increase the current drawn, the voltage at your endpoint drops due to the resistance in the wire. if you draw too much power either the voltage drops below a value that the card's voltage regulations circuitry need to work reliable, or your wires will heat up and burn. if you want more detailed physics formulas let me know.

    when i have a few minutes i'll try to power tomorrow's card through a single 6-pin molex
     
    mastrdrver and wolf say thanks.
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,007 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,555
    Exactly. If the 4850 was truly "starved" for power it wouldn't run reliable OR wouldn't work at all. Also adding voltage can have the reverse effect on circuits. Maybe THIS is why it only had one PCI-E connector? :D

    If your PCI-E power cord wasnt supplying enough power I would look at your PSU. Also it may have been supplying the power but the power may have been "dirty". Watch them ripples son ;)
     
  21. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    oh, ripples :(
     
  22. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,639
    adding extra connectors does not increase the voltage (parallel circuit). all it does is add more wire diameter which reduces resistance which allows more current per °C temp increase which allows more current to flow before your cables melt
     
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,007 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,555
    It safety increases the flow of power correct? As each connection is rated to a maximum voltage/current?

    What I meant by "only having one PCI-E" connector wasn't to increase voltage but to maintain the integrity of the power connection.
     
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,639
    yes, it is specified to a maximum current (google for awg 18), specified means you can run it outside of spec, a realistic limit is when the cables get hot to the touch, the physical limit is when the insulation starts to burn or melt->the wire touches some ground bzzzt
     
    Jstn7477 and TheMailMan78 say thanks.
  25. IceCreamBarr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    76 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Does anyone find it odd that with the total power from the pci-e slot (75W), the 6 pin (75w) and the 8 pin (150w) that there is only an additional 6w left for overclocking (using their 294w max)? I'm not sure what kind of overclock 6w will bring you but then again, does taking the card to the max power draw even sound intelligent? By design, this card sounds like an overclocking dud.

    Barr

    EDIT: Oh, I see this is already being discussed - I guess reading only the first page leads to dupe posts :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page