1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon HD 6450 Launch Clubbed with HD 6570, HD 6670 Launches, on 19th April

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,552 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    When the entry-level Radeon HD 6450 launches this 19th April, it will not be alone. AMD will back it with product launches of both the Radeon HD 6570 and Radeon HD 6670, according to fresh reports. With it, AMD will have completed its Radeon HD 6000 series product launches, in almost all price-points, top to bottom. Incidentally, the three were also launched together as OEM-only products back in February.

    Based on the 40 nm Caicos silicon, HD 6450 packs 160 stream processors, and a 64-bit wide GDDR5/GDDR3 memory interface, designed for low-profile, single-slot graphics cards. The HD 6570 and HD 6670, on the other hand, are both based on the 40 nm Turks GPU, both feature 480 stream processors and 128-bit wide GDDR5 interface. The two are differentiated with the HD 6570 having lower clock speeds.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Expreview
     
  2. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I wonder why AMD released these three cards as OEMs first and then waited so long to release them to retail?
     
  3. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    they did it move older 5k stock first
     
  4. RONX GT

    RONX GT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    50 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Dhaka,Bangladesh.
    Good news for some HTPC build:toast:
     
  5. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    The HD6850 nearly matched the HD5850 in performance, I'm hoping the HD6670 comes close to the HD5770
     
  6. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,956 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    HD 6670 gddr5 sounds interesting, even tho would of been better to add 256bit. The 6670 sounds like a up to to date 5670 which is not good.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2011
  7. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Highly doubt it. As AMD rebranded the Juniper based HD 5770 to the HD 6770, they won't allow the HD 6670 to threaten it. Picture HD 5750 performance at best.
     
  8. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    It's a 480-shader model, still using the old VLIW5 architecture.

    Except maybe for tesselation-bottlenecked situations, don't expect the card to even come close to any Juniper. All the execution units are practically halved.
     
  9. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Nice. Now lets get some socket FM1 boards out there so we can see what Llano + Turks can do.
     
  10. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Mmmm, hybrid crossfire. Early reports suggest a 60% boost in performance adding a Turks card. That'll probably be better come launch time.

    Off topic: that picture makes me want to fire up some Halo 2 and play MP on BeaverCreek. ;)
     
  11. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    A 256-bit memory bus wouldn't worth the cost at all.
     
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND


    Aye the card would not be any faster, it be a complete waste.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page