1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon R9 290X Could Strike the $599.99 Price-point

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,957 (11.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD's next-generation flagship graphics card, the Radeon R9 290X, could strike a US $599.99 (or 499.99€, £399.99 before taxes) price-point, turning up the heat on the more expensive offerings by NVIDIA - GeForce GTX 780 and GTX TITAN. The card should be available from mid-October. Based on the new 28 nm "Hawaii" silicon, the card is expected to feature 2,816 GCN stream processors, spread across 44 SIMDs (11 computing units). Other specifications include 172 TMUs, 44 ROPs, and a 512-bit wide GDDR5 memory interface, holding 4 GB of memory, which likely achieves its >300 GB/s memory bandwidth with a 5.00 GHz memory clock. The company is expected to launch 6 GB variants of the card a little later.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Softpedia
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2013
  2. silapakorn

    silapakorn

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    205 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    If this true then Titan's price will make even less sense.
     
  3. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    388 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    Location:
    Fabry Perot cavity,AlGaAs-GaAs Heterojunction
    I don't give a fµ¢k about the memory bus as long as it beats Titan, especially at this price.
     
  4. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    300+GBps is enough for high-end gaming these days and i'm totally fine with it.
     
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,463 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,204
    The $600 dollar price point was stated by Erocker a while ago!

    Time to cash in E! :roll:
     
  6. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,282 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    What's the point of having 6GB of VRAM on your card, when 99.9% of the games are with x32 bit exes, and can only use maximum of 3.5GB VRAM and 3.5GB system RAM?? ;)
     
    tom_mili says thanks.
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,463 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,204
    The point is.... IT has room to breeze through anything :rolleyes:
     
  8. tom_mili

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Surabaya, Indonesia
    I don't know, maybe for e-peen and peace of mind that it would run games until the next decade :D

    I don't even really benefit from my 3GB card, yet :)
     
    Prima.Vera says thanks.
  9. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,951 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,071
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    But think of SKYRIM! I can annihilate 3GB pretty fast.
    Also my 780 was brought to its knees(below 60FPS) in metro last light regardless of a 1.2Ghz overclock.
     
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,840 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,448
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I want to see some real benchmarks. The lack of a 512-bit bus probably means that it doesn't need it. I would like to think that AMD's EEs know what they're doing, at least more so then everyone posting here so I would stop getting bent out of shape over it. It's a decent price point that I would consider but that completely depends on benchmarks.
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,951 (13.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,378
    I wonder if it's true that they're going to do pre-orders on the BF4 editions before the full specs are even released?! No thanks!
     
  12. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,396 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    CZ
    Aquinus says thanks.
  13. Sempron Guy

    Sempron Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    267 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    4GB on a 384-bit mem bus? now that is weird
     
  14. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    956 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    Retail price is reasonable, only a littler more than the $549 of the 7970, and the 7970 was much faster than any Nvidia card at the time of release. Nvidia's high pricing on Titan and the 780 is dragging the price up it seems.

    Retail price might not be the whole story though, depending on availability, the stores could wack on an early adopter tax, another $50-$80 if demand is more than supply. It happened with the 7970 for the first couple of months. Hopefully there is plenty of stock, so I can get one for $599.
     
  15. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,533 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Sounds about right. Tahiti certainly isn't bandwidth constrained, more a raster op deficiency- which seems to have been remedied with Hawaii

    RE: Pricing, according to Gibbo at OcUK...
    and...
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2013
  16. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,269 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    not again....

    ...oh... oh.... I was warned as the launch get closer and closer..... the specs will fade... lower and lower.....
     
  17. progste

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    138 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    399 would be crazy... please do it! =)
     
  18. jigar2speed

    jigar2speed

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    No no, 299 would be crazy... Please do it. :nutkick:












    :shadedshu
     
  19. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,269 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    CRAZY GENEROUS!!!.....too bad they're not owned by vonage:roll:

    ....that commercial might not be playing in every country.......
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2013
  20. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    I see $549-599...more likely going to be $609.99 all the way up to $639.99 from retailers like newegg. It's 512 bit no doubt and we will receive the specs by next week.
     
  21. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Actually, Dice already stated that they will ship BF4 with a 64bit executable. I expect a lot more game delevopers going that route since going 32bit wont make a lot of sense when you can adress 8GB in both new consoles.
     
    jihadjoe says thanks.
  22. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    887 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    It's the early adopter enthusiast who are willing to buy everything what's new regardless of the price, so why not start with the best and most expensive version?
     
  23. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,269 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
  24. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    499 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    I really hope it does. As much as I like Nvidia, their prices have gone crazy. Competition means lower prices.
     
  25. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    It's a 512-bit bus, so 4GB makes sense. I don't understand how they will put 6GB on a 512-bit bus though. Maybe reduce the bus width to 384-bit and clock it at 7GHz to match the bandwidth of the 512-bit bus?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page