1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon X800 Non-Pro/X800 XL/X850 Voltmods

Discussion in 'Articles' started by Urlyin, Feb 13, 2005.

  1. cubalis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    that would be why it isn't working :eek:

    Thanks for the help!

    I'll come back and report how it went.
     
  2. cubalis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, finally got it to work - 1.5v now.

    final stable clocks on the powercolor x800xl vivo:
    Core: 475MHz
    Memory: 580MHz


    Thanks again to everyone!
     
  3. funkflix New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    104 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Germany
    Grats! :D
     
  4. webbyboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry to be dumb here, i am really totally noob on Vmods, Just wondering for pencil mods, how do we know how much we stroke on the resistors will increase how much voltage? i do not know have a voltmeter, so how am i going to set the voltage that i desired?
     
  5. funkflix New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    104 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Germany
    Don't do the mod if u don't have an Multimeter! :)
     
  6. webbyboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've gotten a multimeter, and i just penciled the two points for the vgpu mod, but when i measure it, the voltage gone down the more i stroke, even i stroke lightly, the voltage stay at 1.40. I don't know what's going on..
     
  7. daysleeper New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haapavesi,Finland
    Should i use the pencil first on the vgu and vdd,and what igpu does??.When i should use vddq?
     
  8. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Webbyboy and Daysleeper, Guys read the article here to get a better understanding of the mod. It's on the same chips just in different locations on this series of cards...


    Thanks W1zzard ... looks like I need to get in gear ... :)
     
  9. Unregistered Guest

    thanks man....now i have x800 pro@xt vivo,so i know what happens with vgpu and vddr but igpu is new for me...
     
  10. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Unless your are going to water cool or viperchill then you'll never reach the voltage needed to apply the IGPU... just for those applying high voltages to their GPU ...
     
  11. daysleeper New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haapavesi,Finland
    jep i got watercooling...so exactly when should i raise the igpu??.or should i consentrate only in vgpu and vccd?
     
  12. webbyboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Yes i've already read it, but there's no indepth explanation of using the multimeter to measure the voltage, the calculations and the conversion. Care to elaborate more?
     
  13. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Did you read the "Getting started" & " Pencil time" sections... simple but should get you going.
     
  14. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Day... You'll know when to use the IGPU... the card will kick out on you... don't quote me but I think I remember it being around 1.65v on the VGPU vmod ... I'm trying to find time to start and finish the vmod write up... but it's based on the same settings here using the steps under the GPU overvolt protection ...
     
  15. Unregistered Guest

    Not getting anywhere with the pincil mod either, voltage isn't moving. My card has no resistor there, and bridging with a pencil seems to do absolutely nothing. I've checked and rechecked with the voltmeter. 1.35 at start, 1.35 still no matter how many swipes I make.
     
  16. h017ah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've got some silver varnish with practically no resistance...
    Will I achieve better results if I use this instead of a pencil? And is it safe?
     
  17. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125

    no....
     
  18. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125

    are you checking the resistence before and after you pencil?
     
  19. Advil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm the "unregistered" guy a few posts up. :)

    Yes, I measured resistance. Before the pencil, there was no contact between the points. Afterward I could get it around .4? (as in .42 to .46 depending on how many passes) but still no major voltage change. Do I need to reduce resiatance more? And what else can I use besides a pencil? I could put a resistor on it, but I'd like to not physically alter the card.
     
  20. h017ah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No to what?
    About safety or about resistance...
     
  21. funkflix New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    104 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Germany
    U need resitance for the mod, thats the precept how a mod works!

    That's not only an direct connection between two points, know what i mean? ;)
     
  22. Advil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How about a trimmer? I have a handfull of 20k-50k variable trimmers, but I REALLY didn't want to physically alter the card.

    Are there any other gurus here who can verify the pencil mod on an X800XL without any resistor at the VGPU?

    Also, mine is the RED PCB, CompUSA business purchase from a week ago.
     
  23. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Read the article here to get an Idea of how to do the pencil mod... W1zzard updated the pics so make sure you review them again ...
     
  24. AllBrain New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Well I have found the two tech docs for the chips on my non-standard Gecube X800XL PCB. Can someone have a look at them please?

    Memory
    GPU
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2005
  25. daysleeper New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haapavesi,Finland
    well i still don't know that when i pencil vgpu (yep no resistor there) so how i know when i got some pencil in it?.How many ohms should there be?.I'ts much easier when there is a resistor and you can measure that the value has gone down but when there is no resistor.... :eek:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page