1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon X800 Voltmods

Discussion in 'Articles' started by Urlyin, Sep 30, 2004.

  1. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 9, 2014
  2. hugobossy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it seems like u found out i am always here to look for updates:p
    lol
     
  3. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    are you following me okay? Hugo
     
  4. hugobossy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so far so good:)
    but where is the resistor for vmem??? :confused:
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2004
  5. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    R311 in pic3 second row down from pin5 (vdd) ... just couldn't wait :D
     
  6. hugobossy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the one with "108" ??? hard to read

    my pencil is ready~~ my gpu is 590 now, i want my vmem to b 590 too~~ :D
     
  7. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    that's the one ... go easy if you're using a stock HSF and you should do the VDDQ which is R256 in line like the VDD R311 under pin 5 second row...
     
  8. hugobossy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    mine is HIS iceq x800xt, which comes with silencer4
    it should be alright:p
     
  9. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Hugo you can measure the VDDQ from the backside. Next to the resistor R256 looking from the top of your card down to the capacitor C110 next to R256 on the left side. It's the backside of the cap so all you see is two silver dots. Measure from the bottom dot to get your VDDQ voltage...
     
  10. hugobossy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    weird, after i modded vdd and vddq, my card cannot run stable at 590/530, where it used to be without artifacts.....
    anyway, i will try to pencil mod again this afternoon
    goin to sleep now~~ it's 4:46am in NZ
    btw, thx alot Urlyin:)
     
  11. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Did you go to high ? do the vmem first, just go up to 2.08 and test the card... my memory didn't really take off until I did the VDDQ ...
     
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
    images updated
     
  13. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    I'd assumed that was the same as the VDD. If I recall the voltage didn't change when I penciled R256. I'll have to double check that one. I was able to verify voltage change on the backside of C110(right next to R256) which is one of the Caps John said to check on the front side.... Thanks for changing the pic though :)
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
    i'm pretty sure the measurement points are right ... i measured them .. both have a different voltage
     
  15. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    I stand corrected ... that measure point does indeed work... better than reaching down to the bottom of the board... checked it before and after VDDQ mod... voltage changes :)
     
  16. hugobossy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wat about overcurrent mod???
    is that important???
    wat does it do???
     
  17. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Hugo did you correct your problem with the VDD and VDDQ vmod? The board has a limit for vcore voltage, once you reach it the card will shutdown. The over-current allows you to go past the limit. Which I wouldn't recommend ...
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2004
  18. hugobossy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my card is running fine with 572/572 now
    awesome~
    thx alot:)
     
  19. Turdhat Guest

    I am a wuss ! I want to do this so bad but I am very afraid of frying it ! I could send it to viper john I guess. I want 550/575 stable.
     
  20. Quazi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    90 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just want to post these to let someone who can tell me if I have taken it to far. Start voltages on the vmem was 2.09. And on the vddq it was 2.02. Then I took the card out and check the ohms reading. For the vmem resistor it read 993, and on the vddq resistor it read 767. Now these were allot more touchy when it came to the graphite than the vcore resistor was. It was hard to get them down by 30k ohms. I got close with both of them, then I would either add a little graphite, or try to take some away then it would be way off. Anyway on the vmem, I went from 993 to 962. This up my voltage for the vmem from 2.09v to 2.17. On the vddq, I went from 767 to 739. This up my voltage on the vddq from 2.02v to 2.08. Are these numbers within reason. I can now get all 600MHz out of my memory chips. I haven't checked how far the core will go now. I've been running it at 540MHz. Please let me know if these numbers are reasonable. Thanks!
     
  21. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Quazi... everywhere I've seen the default of 20k on both the vmem and vddq. Looks like you stayed within 8 volts... the only thing you need to watch for with the vddq and vmem is that your memory chips don't get to hot. Your not using stock HFS not sure if you have passive heat sinks on the memory but you should be okay ....
     
  22. cmberry20

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    146 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Worcester, England
    I'm still a little unsure about the pencil line 'adding' process.
    Do you make a line/trace on the resistor (top) from end to end.
    Or at the side? or do you make a trace on the PCD between the two ends & avoid the res totally.

    How about a little video?
     
  23. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Along the side... starting at the soldered end to soldered end. Gently run the 2b pencil along the side of the resistor... Does that help?
     
  24. cmberry20

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    146 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Worcester, England
    Yeah.......I think... :rolleyes:
    So you rub the side of the resitor with the tip of the pencil, kinda like shading in?
     
  25. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Shading in would be too extreme ....just sharpen your 2b pencil, run it back and forth on a piece of paper to take the sharp point down a little. Looking at pic3 in the begining of this thread. Which you should read the article if you haven't yet. Look at one of the resistors that are black with a number on it. Place your 2b pencil at the silver end (soldered) at one end, gently run it across the side of the resistor to the other silver end. It doesn't take much to reduce the resistance. A couple of swipes should do it... Are you using a multimeter?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page